Parker, Weatherly enter Motorsports Hall

AMA flat track racers honored

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Aug. 19, 2009
AMA flat track racing legends Scott Parker and Joe Weatherly were inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America in an Aug. 12 ceremony in Detroit.

The two motorcycle racers were joined by NHRA drag racing champion Kenny Bernstein, sports car racer and broadcaster David Hobbs, former NFL Pro Bowler and International Race of Champions co-founder Les Richter, CART champion Al Unser, Jr. and H.A. “Humpy” Wheeler, former president and general manager of Lowe’s Motor Speedway in Charlotte, N.C.

Parker is a nine-time AMA Grand National Champion with 94 Grand National wins, both AMA records. Best known as a factory rider for Harley-Davidson, Parker earned victories in all flat track competition categories: miles, half-miles, short track and TT steeplechase. Parker earned the AMA Rookie of the Year award in 1979 with a win at the nationals at Du Quoin, Ill., making him, at the time, the youngest rider to win an AMA Grand National race.

Parker won the AMA Grand National Championship in1988-1991, tying Carroll Resweber’s long-standing record of four consecutive titles. After a couple of off-years, by his standard, Parker set a new record with a string of five AMA Grand National Championships in 1994-1998.

Scott Parker still maintains ties with Harley-Davidson, taking part in the press launch for the XR1200.

With several records to his name, including an unprecedented three AMA Athlete of the Year awards, Parker retired in 2000 and was inducted to the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in 2003.

Weatherly is best known as a two-time NASCAR champion, but before he began racing stock cars, he was a motorcycle racer. Weatherly won three AMA nationals, including a victory at the 1948 Laconia Classic 100-Mile. In 1952, Weatherly decided to focus on NASCAR racing where he later won championships in 1962 and 1963.

Weatherly died in a NASCAR race in Riverside, Calif. on Jan. 19, 1964. He was inducted to the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in 1998.