… were announced at the Chicago International Motorcycle Show last weekend. Billing itself as the world’s largest elite-level custom motorcycle building competition, this year’s competition involved over 350 custom motorcycles and $100,000 in cash and prizes spread across every stop on the IMS tour. The championship round took place February 9 – February 11 at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center in Chicago, Illinois, where over $70,000 in cash and prizes were awarded. Winners were selected by a panel of expert judges including Chris Callen, Editor of Cycle Source magazine; Chris Theis, custom builder and stuntman; Evan Favaro, custom builder; George Stinsman, custom builder; Max Ness of Arlen Ness Motorcycles; and Nick Beaulieu, custom builder and 2017 champion. Judging was based upon creativity, craftsmanship and building ability. To learn more about the Progressive International Motorcycle Shows, please visit: motorcycleshows.com

“The J&P Cycles Ultimate Builder Custom Bike Show is one of the most competitive events in the custom motorcycle building industry, and every year we are amazed at the craftsmanship, time and hard work that goes into the entries in each city,” said Jeff Najar, manager, J&P Cycles Ultimate Builder Custom Bike Show. “We had an amazing championship round in Chicago this year that featured many breathtaking custom motorcycles, and we are very excited to crown Motorcycle Missions Veterans as the official 2018 ‘King of the Builders.’”

Motorcycle Missions, founded by Krystal Hess, is a non-profit corporation helping veterans and first responders who deal with PTSD and suicidal ideation find hope and healing through motorcycles. Eight veterans of Motorcycle Missions built the winning motorcycle as part of Motorcycle Missions build mentorship program.

Without further ado, the 2018 championship winners are as follows:

Custom Street Winner: Dale Crawford

Custom Street Runner-Up: PJ Grakauskas

Freestyle Runner Up: Chris Moose

Freestyle Winner: Motorcycle Missions Veterans

Modified Harley Runner Up: Tyler Foster

Modified Harley Winner: Jesse Srpan


Modified Retro Runner Up: Andrew Frederick

Modified Retro Winner: Darrel Johnson