Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Boasts Record of Over $6 Million in Contingency and Prize Money for 2018 Season

Press Release
by Press Release
We’re committed to finding, researching, and recommending the best products. We earn commissions from purchases you make using links in our articles. Learn more here
lucas oil pro motocross championship boasts record of over 6 million in contingency

Right on the heels of American Flat Track’s record-setting year of contingency offerings and incentives, Lucas Oil Pro Motocross follows suit and ups the ante. This year there will be upwards of $6 million in contingency for racers competing in the 2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship.

Begin Release:

MORGANTOWN, WV – April 2, 2018 – With less than 50 days until the first gate drop of the 2018 season, MX Sports Pro Racing has announced that $6.5 million in prize money and contingency will be on the line for the world’s fastest racers in this summer’s Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. Thanks to the incredible support of the six competing manufacturers, the combined total of OEM contingency and pro purse results in a record sum of prize money for the world’s most prestigious off-road motorcycle racing championship.

Anchored by the factory and factory-supported efforts of Honda, Husqvarna, Kawasaki, KTM, Suzuki, and Yamaha, the 40-rider fields in both the 450 Class and 250 Class will compete for a share of $5.79 million in OEM contingency. Additionally, nearly $1 million in pro purse money will be available.

“We here at the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship and the entire racing community are fortunate to have such an incredible commitment from our manufacturers,” said Davey Coombs, President of MX Sports Pro Racing. “Their support of the championship and its exceptionally talented athletes is a testament to the strength of the sport and its popularity. Its also a sign of the vital role Pro Motocross plays in the overall health of the motorcycle industry, and the influence the success of our riders has on consumers.”

Details surrounding each respective manufacturer’s contingency programs, including registration and payout, are available online:

Defending 450 Class Champion Eli Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki) and his title-holding 250 Class counterpart Zach Osborne (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing) will lead the most talented riders on the planet into action on Saturday, May 19, with the Hangtown Motocross Classic. A total of 12 championship rounds will visit the most legendary and iconic racetracks in the country, visiting a total of 11 states on the path to crown a pair of champions at the Ironman National on Saturday, August 25.

Tickets to each round of the 2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship on now on sale and can be purchased by visiting

2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Schedule

May 19Hangtown MX ClassicPrairie City SVRARancho Cordova, CA
May 26Glen Helen NationalGlen Helen RacewaySan Bernardino, CA
June 2Thunder Valley NationalThunder Valley MX ParkLakewood, CO
June 16High Point NationalHigh Point RacewayMt. Morris, PA
June 23Tennessee NationalMuddy Creek RacewayBlountville, TN
June 30Southwick NationalSouthwick MX ParkSouthwick, MA
July 7RedBud NationalRedBud MXBuchanan, MI
July 21Spring Creek NationalSpring Creek MX ParkMillville, MN
July 28Washougal NationalWashougal MX ParkWashougal, WA
Aug 11Unadilla NationalUnadilla MXNew Berlin, NY
Aug 18Budds Creek NationalBudds Creek MX ParkMechanicsville, MD
Aug 25Ironman NationalIronman RacewayCrawfordsville, IN

For information about the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, please visit and be sure to follow all of the Pro Motocross social media channels for exclusive content and additional information on the latest news:

Facebook: @americanmotocross
Instagram: @promotocross
Twitter: @ProMotocross
YouTube: AmericanMotocross

Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, features the world’s fastest outdoor motocross racers, racing aboard the best bikes each factory offers, on the roughest, toughest tracks in the world. The 12-rounds series begins at Hangtown in May and ends at Indiana’s Ironman Raceway in August. It includes stops at the premier motocross racing facilities in America, with events in California, Colorado, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Michigan, Massachusetts, Maryland, Minnesota, Washington, New York and Indiana. The pro riders race on Saturday afternoon, with competition divided into two classes: one for 250cc machines, and one for 450cc machines. The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship is managed by MX Sports Pro Racing, the industry leader in off-road power sports event production. The series is televised on NBC, NBCSN and MAVTV and streamed live on NBC Sports Gold Series partners include Lucas Oil (series title sponsor), Red Bull, WPS, Fly Racing, GEICO Motorcycle,, Garmin, 100%, KTM, FMF, Deltran Battery Tender, Pirelli, Suzuki, Husqvarna, Pivot Works, Vertex, Alpinestars, KMC Wheels, MotionPro, VP Racing Fuels, Acerbis and Racer X. More information can be found at

Press Release
Press Release

More by Press Release

Join the conversation