AMA Superbike: 2012 Daytona Results

Dennis Chung
by Dennis Chung

Josh Hayes and Blake Young picked things up where they left off by trading wins at the 2012 season-opening AMA Superbike round at Daytona International Speedway.

Reigning champion Hayes of Monster Energy Graves Yamaha took the first race handily, leading almost right from the start of the 15-lap race for the win. Yoshimura Suzuki’s Young, who finished second to Hayes in the 2011 AMA Superbike Championship, responded by taking the second race, but only by a slim 0.002-second margin.

Race 1

Hayes had a blistering start in the first race, with times in the 1:37s in five of the opening seven laps including a race-best time of 1:37.490 on Lap four. No other racer had a time faster than 1:38.

Meanwhile, Young was mired in a battle for second place with Hayes’ Yamaha teammate Josh Herrin and National Guard Jordan Suzuki rider Roger Hayden. Herrin crashed on Lap 3 however, and was forced to withdraw a few laps later.

Young was able to hold on to second place, finishing 8.332 seconds behind Hayes. Hayden was next, crossing the finish 7.869 seconds later for third place.

Foremost Pegram’s Larry Pegram was fourth on the BMW S1000RR, just edging out Attack Performance’s Steve Rapp and his Kawasaki ZX-10R by just 0.001 seconds.

Race 1 Results

1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha YZF-R1), 15 laps
2. Blake Young (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -8.332 seconds
3. Roger Hayden (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -16.201
4. Larry Pegram (BMW S1000RR), -24.728
5. Steve Rapp (Kawasaki ZX-10R), -24.730
6. Geoff May (EBR 1190RS), -31.371
7. Jake Holden (BMW S1000RR), -38.419
8. Robertino Pietri (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -40.601
9. Chris Clark (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -42.283
10. David Anthony (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -42.494
11. Chris Ulrich (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -46.091
12. Chris Fillmore (KTM RC8R), -46.135
13. Ben Bostrom (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -57.081, crash
14. Jordan Burgess (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -66.455
15. Jeff Lampe (Kawasaki ZX-10R), -83.598
16. Eric Haugo (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -85.264
17. Eric Pinson (BMW S1000RR), -96.650, crash
18. Trent Gibson (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -96.820
19. Lloyd Bayley (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -2 laps
20. Johnny Rock Page (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -2 laps
21. Josh Herrin (Yamaha YZF-R1), -9 laps, DNF, crash
22. Danny Eslick (EBR 1190RS), -13 laps, DNF, retired
23. Taylor Knapp (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -15 laps, DNF, mechanical
24. Shawn Higbee (EBR 1190RS), DNS

Race 2

Hayes had another strong start in Race 2, jumping out ahead for an early lead. Behind him again were Herrin, Young and Hayden. This time however, Young was able to separate himself and keep Hayes within reach.

Young eventually gained the lead on Lap 12 but Hayes was soon able to regain the advantage. Young moved back in front once again heading into the final lap. Hayes gathered himself for a final-corner pass but Young was awarded the win in a photo finish.

Third place went again to Hayden while Herrin followed over a second later for fourth.

Race 2 Results

1. Blake Young (Suzuki GSX-R1000), 15 laps
2. Josh Hayes (Yamaha YZF-R1), -0.002 second
3. Roger Hayden (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -10.283 seconds
4. Josh Herrin (Yamaha YZF-R1), -11,506
5. Larry Pegram (BMW S1000RR), -21.904
6. Steve Rapp (Kawasaki ZX-10R), -21.985
7. Chris Clark (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -30.667
8. Jake Holden (BMW S1000RR), -32.488
9. Danny Eslick (EBR 1190RS), -37.672
10. Robertino Pietri (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -44.920
11. David Anthony (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -46.236
12. Chris Ulrich (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -47.179
13. Taylor Knapp (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -47.238
14. Chris Fillmore (KTM RC8R), -62.912
15. Ben Bostrom (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -71.072, crash
16. Eric Pinson (BMW S1000RR), -74.429
17. Trent Gibson (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -74.606
18. Eric Haugo (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -87.082
19. Johnny Rock Page (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -1 lap
20. Geoff May (EBR 1190RS), -2 laps, DNF, mechanical
21. Jordan Burgess (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -4 laps, DNF
22. Jeff Lampe (Kawasaki ZX-10R), -6 laps, DNF, retired
23. Lloyd Bayley (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -11 laps, DNF, crash
24. Shawn Higbee (EBR 1190RS), DNS

[Source: AMA Pro Racing]

Dennis Chung
Dennis Chung

Dennis has been a part of the team since 2008, and through his tenure, has developed a firm grasp of industry trends, and a solid sense of what's to come. A bloodhound when it comes to tracking information on new motorcycles, if there's a new model on the horizon, you'll probably hear about it from him first.

More by Dennis Chung

Join the conversation