2010 MotoGP provisional entry list

Promising rookie class enters series

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Jan. 27, 2010
The international Motorcycling Federation has released a provisional entry list for the 2010 MotoGP season.

The MotoGP class has 17 entrants listed, representing 10 teams. The provisional entry list includes two new teams and several premiere class rookies including 2009 World Superbike Champion Ben Spies and the top four finishers in the 2009 250cc World Championship.

Spies joins a formidable foursome for Yamaha. Hell join fellow Texan Colin Edwards on the satellite Monster Yamaha Tech 3 team while the factory team will again be represented by defending champion Valentino Rossi and last years runner-up Jorge Lorenzo.

Ben Spies and the top four finishers in the 250cc World Championship make up an impressive rookie class with a lot of potential.

Honda leads the way with six entrants, including factory Repsol Honda riders Dani Pedrosa and Andrea Dovizioso. The new Interwetten Honda satellite team enters the premier class with 2009 250cc World Champion Hiroshi Aoyama as its lone entry. The mop-haired 2008 250cc World Champion Marco Simoncelli will also make the leap to the MotoGP class, racing for San Carlo Honda Gresini.

Ducati has five Desmosedici GP bikes on the provisional list, led by the factory Ducati Marlboro duo of former world champions Casey Stoner and Nicky Hayden. Hector Barbera, the 250cc World Championship runner-up, will compete for the new Aspar Ducati team.

Nicky Hayden will have another season to try and tame the Ducati Desmosedici.

Veteran racer Loris Capirossi will be joined by Alvaro Bautista, the 2006 125cc World Champion, to race for Rizla Suzuki. Bautista finished fourth in the 250cc standings last season.

2010 MotoGP Provisional Entry List
# Rider Team Nationality
4 Andrea Dovizioso Repsol Honda Italy
5 Colin Edwards Monster Yamaha Tech 3 USA
7 Hiroshi Aoyama Interwetten Honda Japan
11 Ben Spies Monster Yamaha Tech 3 USA
14 Randy De Puniet LCR Honda France
19 Alvaro Bautista Rizla Suzuki Spain
24 Marco Melandri San Carlo Honda Gresini Italy
26 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Spain
27 Casey Stoner Ducati Marlboro Australia
36 Mika Kallio Pramac Ducati Finland
40 Hector Barbera Aspar Ducati Spain
26 Aleix Espargaro Pramac Ducati Spain
46 Valentino Rossi Fiat Yamaha Italy
58 Marco Simoncelli San Carlo Honda Gresini Italy
65 Loris Capirossi Rizla Suzuki Italy
69 Nicky Hayden Ducati Marlboro USA
99 Jorge Lorenzo Fiat Yamaha Spain