2016 Honda NC700X

Editor Score: 86.5%
Engine 17.0/20
Suspension/Handling 13.0/15
Transmission/Clutch 8.5/10
Brakes 8.0/10
Instruments/Controls4.5/5
Ergonomics/Comfort 9.0/10
Appearance/Quality 9.0/10
Desirability 8.0/10
Value 9.5/10
Overall Score86.5/100

The most important thing about the upgrades Honda gave its NC700X for 2016 is that it provided me the excuse to borrow one in order to evaluate them. And you can’t really ascertain whether a bigger windscreen, sharp new bodywork and muffler, and a bigger storage compartment are really what they’re purported to be without some long-term testing, can you? (Unfortunately, we can’t speak to the improvements in the Dual Clutch Transmission since we got the 6-speed manual; maybe we need to borrow a DCT when this one goes back for purely scientific purposes?)

Longtime MO readers probably are aware of the soft spot in my heart for this motorcycle, and how I’ve defended it against all critics and upvoted it as much as possible in every comparison. Usually it loses anyway: Callow testers without my extensive background and discriminating taste, easily distracted by shinier objects, can’t wrap their heads around a torquey Twin that only makes 48 horsepower on its way to a 7000-rpm redline. Now and then the fog clears though.

Here’s Tom Roderick on the 2015 NC in a three-bike comparo last year: “Rider ergonomics of the NC are the epitome of a neutral seating position. There’s also plenty of legroom for taller folk, and a soft yet supportive seat upon which to sit. It’s a motorcycle you can truly, comfortably sit atop all day, not feeling worse for the wear when you dismount. When kept within the confines of each bike’s intended purpose, the NC700X is by far the best urban motorcycle of these three – perfect for the motorcyclist living in San Francisco without a car.”

A bigger windscreen makes the NC more weatherproof. New tanktop rails complementing the rear ones mean you could bungee stuff to the tank too, if it came to that...

A bigger windscreen makes the NC more weatherproof. New tanktop rails complementing the rear ones mean you could bungee stuff to the tank too, if it came to that…

The NC finished second to the newly upgraded Kawasaki Versys 650 in that comparo – Editorial Director Sean Alexander’s favorite motorcycle of all time – so you get the idea. People ride motorcycles for a lot of different reasons, but by the time you’ve been riding them for a few decades, the reasons have had time to reduce and purify. TR is right about the NC being perfect for a carless San Franciscan, but it’s also perfect for plenty of other ’hoods.

On its website, Honda sticks the NC into its Adventure category, alongside the Africa Twin and venerable XR650L. It has a beak and feels like it could easily make it to 75% of the places those bikes could get you to on dirt roads, more if you threw on knobbier tires. With its 65-mpg fuel efficiency, it seems like a remote New Mexico ranch wouldn’t be a bad habitat for the NC either. Or the middle of the L.A. megalopolis. Or Texas hill country. I also had a Zero DSR for much of the time the NC was at my house, and I stopped remembering I needed to put gas in the Honda, too, until I’d see its low-fuel light blinking on rare occasions.

The NC was going to make it to the top of Saddleback Mountain easily on its standard Dunlop Trailmax tires, but the Zero DSR’s lack of range that day forced us to turn back. Surprisingly good suspension with 5.4 / 5.9 inches travel seems like enough.

092016-2016-honda-nc700x-04

My son rode the NC up the coast to visit his GF over Labor Day weekend on his first motorcycle trip alone; that was frightening, but I felt like I was sending him off with a trusted friend:

092016-2016-honda-nc700x-05As I unpacked my bag I panicked for a brief moment: Oh no, had I forgotten it? I rummaged through my clothes. Thank the lord, there it was before me, my “If you can read this the bitch fell off” t-shirt. It would soon serve its purpose. I was fortunate enough last week to be able to hop on the NC700X that has been sitting patiently at our house – whose very convenient built-in storage had been used mostly for grocery store runs of baby wipes and bottles of wine, my father’s must-haves – for a scenic ride to Isla Vista, CA. I had almost a week off from class and my girlfriend Chelsea had been asking me to come visit for a couple week; the explosive diarrhea excuse was starting to lose its charm.

The NC700X’s large tank storage was perfect for bringing another helmet up for Chelsea, and the utility rails on the back seat made strapping on my heavy backpack for the long trip a breeze. While not the most exciting or sporty bike, the NC made it a pleasant ride with its comfortable riding position and my personal MVP for long rides – the windscreen. I may have been spit on by a passing sportbike or two, and there was a pair of motorcycle cops who I’m pretty sure yelled “pussy” at me, but I wasn’t complaining. This bike looks pretty cool if you ask me, I dig the adventure bike styling. But try ripping away from a stop or quickly getting on the gas to pass a group of cars, and there’s not much there. Is there a version with a sportbike engine in it?

Still the bike cruises along great and it’s tons of fun in the corners. After arriving in Isla Vista, University of Santa Barbara’s beachside college town and Franzia-box-in-the-gutter capitol, I peeled my numb (but sculpted) glutes from the seat and drug myself upstairs for a good night’s rest. It was an extremely fun and well hydrated week in Isla Vista, but the most memorable part (for numerous reasons) was that Sunday, we were able to go for an afternoon ride up the beautiful 154 to famous Cold Springs Tavern for some live music and some amazing barbeque. Get the tri-tip sandwich. Thank you NC700X, for the comfortable ride, abundant storage and restored intestinal health.

—Ryan Burns

When Stater Bros. has 40% off on six or more, a man’s a fool not to restock the cellar. The newly expanded, 22-liter cargo bay means there’s still room for food or baby wipes (or an XL full-face).

When Stater Bros. has 40% off on six or more, a man’s a fool not to restock the cellar. The newly expanded, 22-liter cargo bay means there’s still room for food or baby wipes (or an XL full-face).

Is the NC dull? That’s purely a judgment call, I suppose. All I know is during the time it was hanging out at the house along with a KTM Adventure R, an H-D Roadster and a Suzuki GSX-S1000 (also the Zero DSR), it was the NC I hopped onto nearly every time I needed to be somewhere. I also jumped on it just as often as I got the car out of the garage to pick up stuff I needed: new oxygen sensors for the car at the AutoZone, a tri-tip to throw on the grill, a book to not read from the library, three tomato plants, a bucket of KFC… The other marsupial motorcycle, the Aprilia Mana, carries a warning label not to carry live animals in its pouch, but there’s no reason you couldn’t take the cat to the vet in the NC. If it’s only a few miles I mean.

Middleweight Mash-up Six-Way Shootout

It’s an adventure bike, but one with a seat that seems way lower than the 32.7 inches in Honda’s specs. At 472 pounds all gassed up, it’s also a whole 70 pounds lighter than brother Africa Twin (which is way lighter than most Adventure bikes) – and that lightness is what makes the NC so everyday useable.

Go to lunch, bring home the doggie bag. The new exhaust is a little growlier (though Honda doesn’t claim more power) and adds more personality to a bike which already has plenty.

Go to lunch, bring home the doggie bag. The new exhaust is a little growlier (though Honda doesn’t claim more power) and adds more personality to a bike which already has plenty.

Yes, it would’ve been nice if we’d gotten hydraulic valve lifters on a bike that only revs to 7000 rpm; as it is, you’re supposed to check the NC’s clearances every 16,000 miles. There are only eight of them, though, they’re easy enough to get to after you drop the radiator, and they’re screw-and-locknut adjustable – probably a fun motorcycle-bonding task, a good excuse for a little garage time.

Yeah, well, the NC is no GS Adventure, but then it’s about one-third the price and 160 less pounds. Cruise control would be nice.

Yeah, well, the NC is no GS Adventure, but then it’s about one-third the price and 160 less pounds. Cruise control would be nice.

At the end of a few months living with the NC, I confirmed what I already knew: This is the most versatile motorcycle and probably one of the most economical ones you can buy for $7,499. There’s no ABS on the 6-speed, but $600 more gets ABS and Honda’s excellent Dual Clutch Transmission, relieving you of even the need to shift gears. (I lobbied for the DCT version to be “Scooter of the Year” but got shot down.)

Ask MO Anything: New Honda Superbike?

I’m as disgruntled as the next guy with Honda for holding out on the VFR1000RR and other inscrutable things it’s done over the last decade, but bikes like the NC, the CB500 triplets and the new Africa Twin go a long way toward easing my pain, all of them fantastic machines for the proletariat. I’ll be sad to see this one go back. But we do need to sample the new DCT version. The work goes on….

2016 Honda NC700X
+ Highs

  • Rugged individual, ready for anything
  • Cheap to obtain and keep, looks more expensive than it is
  • Yes I can pick up a watermelon on the way home
– Sighs

  • No cruise control
  • No 12-volt outlet in the trunk (but Honda sells the kit for $79.95)
  • Might be the last new motorcycle you’ll ever buy

Free Insurance Quote

Enter your ZIP code below to get a free insurance quote.

Honda Dealer Price Quote

Get price quotes for Honda from local motorcycle dealers.

Honda Communities

  • Old MOron

    How I hope and wish that old farts (and everyone else) will by these instead of cruisers.

    • DickRuble

      It would be healthier for them and everyone else.

      • Kenneth

        – A practical vehicle for those frequent trips to the pharmacy (while keeping one’s blood pressure low).

    • GodWhomIsMike

      Most cruisers are easier to live with for us really short folks because of the short seat heights. I think Adv Bikes are awesome, but I am pretty short. 32.7 inch seat height = Where is the step ladder?

      • DickRuble

        Have you considered a Honda Grom?

        • GodWhomIsMike

          I just have a Rebel with saddlebags, which I use for a lot of small errands and fun rides. I’ve taken it on 115+ rides from PA -> NY -> NJ -> PA on many 55 mph roads, the Hawk Nest on Route 97, and some back roads and small bridges. I take it light grocery shopping, since town is 15+ miles away. It’s a fun small bike, gets me ~ 77 mpg, and the saddlebags give me some utility. I can also fit six pack of bottles on each side and some change of clothes on top of them.

          https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/e73854618a15d3f2e7263939db00f9148e922c06305fffa7f9bb7627bbfbec98.jpg

          • DickRuble

            The Rebel is a great bike. I rode a Shadow 600 on my first long motorcycle trip and l fell in love with it.

          • GodWhomIsMike

            I kinda want something bigger, because I think taking the Rebel out on Route 80 in NJ would be truly a suicide mission with all of the vehicles traveling at 75-80+ mph including lots of 18-wheelers in the mix at those speeds too. I think for that, I would need something quite a bit bigger, but don’t want to big. I been looking at the Yamaha V Star 1300 Deluxe. $14K sticker new (seen left over ’15s going for $11K new) 27″ seat height, 717 lbs, standard navigation, and 15 gallons of lockable cargo space. I think it looks slick, and would serve its purpose of 120 miles of mostly highway driving back and forth between PA and NYC. (Note: This pic is from Google image search for ’15 model in the awesome red color, which I stole from the web)

            https://uploads.disquscdn.com/images/8832a14eea6f8e7ef2a928978e14278cdfc39d723728f7a43c008fd7209fd30e.jpg

          • DickRuble

            From the rebel to a 1300cc is a big jump. A 600-750 Japanese cruiser should keep up with traffic more than fine and lightly used, pristine ones are available for less than $4500.

          • GodWhomIsMike

            True. In that range, I would most likely cross shop the Honda Shadow Phantom and the Kawasaki Vulcan S.

          • Old MOron

            How about the CTX700? Seat height = 28.3 in.
            http://powersports.honda.com/2016/ctx700/specifications.aspx

            MO has tested variations of this bike, and JB has consistently ranked them highly. And the CTX700 weighs about 200 lb less than the V Star.

          • GodWhomIsMike

            28-29 inch inseam makes motorcycling annoying when looking for bikes.

          • Old MOron

            Sorry, I didn’t mean to be pushy. Of course you know what’s best for you.

          • Dale Warren

            I’ve got a 28 inch inseam. You learn to live with it. I switched the saddle to a Seat Concepts low. There are also lowering options in the aftermarket. Check the NC700X forums for ideas/advice.

          • Leo Taylor

            I second Dale’s advice. The NC700 can be lowered pretty easily with lowering links and raising the forks a bit. I lowered mine just over an inch but could have gone much further. I also got the Seat Concepts low seat, although I don’t think the SC seat made any difference for me regarding flat footing. The seat is 3/4″ lower than stock, but flatter, so my legs are spread further, cancelling out the advantage. But it’s much more comfortable than the stock seat. And the NC will do 80+ mph all day without any issue at all. Sixth gear is pretty tall.

          • gjw1992

            Or the nc700s – that’s got a much lower seat than the X. And cheaper than the X.

          • Douglas

            That’s a neat scoot….I’d grab that. I nearly bought one of these before I got a cherry Vulcan Nomad from an ol’ boy I know whose eyesight was going. Water cooled, shaft drive, ample grunt (but not the kind that’ll get away from you)….and lotsa room for stuff and a pillion person. And these things are almost bulletproof. You’ll get used to the larger size fairly quickly, since you already have the riding rudiments and muscle memories down.

  • HazardtoMyself

    Maybe not all areas, but the Honda dealers I have checked out seem to have a hard time selling these. Every time I see a new one on a showroom floor it is a “managers special” usually for a few grand off MSRP. Couple months ago I saw a 2015 marked at $5600 and some change OTD. I think it may have even been the ABS / DCT model.

    I have considered on numerous occasions to pickup one up as an around town runabout, but I think I’m with Ryan wishing it had a little more go. If I see another one so cheap though I might just have to go for it.

    Hope more people buy them as well so maybe Honda would consider a model with a slightly higher performance engine without raising the MSRP all to much.

    • DickRuble

      There was one for $4200 with 1600 miles on it in my neighborhood. Tempting, but I had to pass.. too bland. It stayed listed for at least three months.

      • HazardtoMyself

        Well maybe that is why JB says it may be the last new motorcycle you ever buy.

        Buy it and then find you can’t even give it away for 1/2 of what you paid.

  • Tim Sawatzky

    To me this is the vanilla of motorcycles. There’s nothing particularly wrong with it, but it’s just bland. From the engine, to the styling, to power, there’s even an option to take the fun of shifting away too. I’m sure it’s better than a scooter, but nothing really jumps out as, “wow, I would spend money on that.”

    Also here in Canada it’s now the NC750x, why is America stuck with the 700?

    • Kenneth

      “Also here in Canada it’s now the NC750x, why is America stuck with the 700?”

      Many in the U.S. have wondered about that, as well, knowing Honda updated the engine and gearing everywhere else this model is sold (not to mention, offering ABS separate from the DCT).

      • denchung

        It may mean something or it may not, but Honda recently applied for a US trademark for NC750X…

        • Kenneth

          Thanks, Dennis!

      • john burns

        honestly I forgot all about the NC750X, but it looks like our 700 got all the same updates EXCEPT for the 4mm increase in bore, which takes it all the way from 669 to 745cc –10% – and must make a noticeable difference… I’m holding out for that one.

        • Kenneth

          In a European video review, it was said that the the increase in power was minor, yet noticeable, but helped even more by revised, longer-legged gearing, making the repeated hitting of the relatively-low redline much less likely. I believe the front fork internals were also improved. If Honda showed an interest in updating this model (finally!!) for the U.S. – to what everyone else gets – I’d actually seriously consider it for my next bike.

          • john burns

            Our man Tony at Honda says:

            It’s about 3 hp/4 lbf-ft difference in performance. Not sure if anything else was tweaked to
            change power delivery.

            Our product planning department did a lot of research on this prior to making a decision not to take the 750cc engine in the NC700X when it was introduced for 2014 in EU. Their research showed the NC mostly being used as a practical commuter and existing customers were satisfied with its engine performance. The tariff on motorcycles greater than 700cc being imported into the US was also a factor.

            The product planning group considered the performance difference between the 700 and 750 vs the required increase in price (several hundred) vs the needs of the customer. The price/value scenario did not line up with the consumer demand. It’s possible this could change in the future as currency exchange rates change and the consumer demand could change as well and we could find the price/value meets the customer’s expectations.

          • Kenneth

            Thanks for that, John. I guess I can accept that if they’re going for the absolute lowest price, it would make sense to avoid the over-700cc tariff (instituted decades ago to help bolster H-D sales, and which, I thought, had ended many years ago). I’ll have to test a DCT version to hopefully avoid the rev-limiter restraint and frequent shifting with the low power.

          • DickRuble

            What their “research” missed is the built up resentment by and frustration of potential buyers who, knowing that the 750 is available in Canada, will withhold purchasing one in the US. Not to mention the paternalistic touch “we know better what you need”.

            Combine that with the phony looking and sounding “brand culture champion” and the picture is of a company (or at least US branch) that has no clue.

            I’ll look at a Versys 650.. thank you very much.

            One word about “research” at big corporations: as someone who has done some of that, I know there is tremendous pressure that the outcome of the “research” match the expectation of the executive board. It’s also the oldest trick in the executive’s arsenal: whenever delivering bad news (layoffs, cancellation of program, etc) or pre-made decision you always back it up with (hired outside consultants’) “research” that has “shown” it necessary. Many times the “research” consists of consultants writing down what the executives tell them and repeating back.

          • Goose

            See Dick, I knew we’d agree on something some day. I would the line “add several hundred dollars to the price” is BS because that money would include adding ABS without having to get the DCT. Honda NA’s marketing team should adopt the slogan “Increasing Kawasaki’s (and every other brand’s) sales for years”.

          • Jason

            Changing from 700cc to 750cc would require the engine to be recertified for the EPA and Carb. When I worked in the powersports industry about 10 years ago that testing at a lab cost about $250,000. The NC700X MIGHT sell 500 units per year so that testing alone would add $333 to the sales price. ($250K / 18 months sales)

          • Goose

            Part of my job is “costing” proposals. I understand that costs (e.g. CARB and EPA) must be amortized over units sold. I also understand the dim bulbs at Honda NA have failed miserably in marketing this product. If it had been marketed correctly it would sell enough units to amortize the costs, it wasn’t so it didn’t. Why do you think the bike has been upgraded to the 750 motor in every other market in the world?
            Further, I’m fairly sure John is incorrect about only the bore being changed. The 700 and 750 are completely different engines, just one difference is the 700 uses one balance shaft, the 750 uses two. That means Honda NA (and therefore their customers) are paying Honda to build short runs (500 examples/ year if your number is correct) of 700 engines. That has to increase costs due the the same principle of amortizing costs over units sold. This isn’t a one time cost like EPA/ CARB, this will continue as long as the US gets a different bike than the rest of the world.
            If there is no way to get the 750 motor these idiots need to at least admit they were wrong and allow riders to get ABS without the DCT. I visualize the macho morons at Honda NA just not being able to grasp why any real rider would want ABS so they bundle it with the other “girly” option, DCT. Incompetent and condescending are not words commonly used to describe a successful marketing group.

          • denchung

            Let’s separate the “North America” from this discussion. Honda Canada has both the 750 and ABS available without requiring DCT, and for a much smaller market than the US.

          • Kenneth

            And the “over-700cc tariff” excuse? I just-now researched it, and it’s only 2.4%, which, even for the highest-priced NC700 would equal only an additional $195!! Along with their linking DCT to ABS for the U.S. … “Morons” is right, Goose!

          • Kenneth

            “The tariff on motorcycles greater than 700cc being imported into the US was also a factor.”
            “The product planning group considered the performance difference between the 700 and 750 vs the required increase in price (several hundred) vs the needs of the customer. The price/value scenario did not line up with the consumer demand.”

            I’m late getting back to this, but using the excuse of this ancient over-700cc tariff was bugging me. I looked it up, and yes, it still exists, but it’s only 2.4%. For an $8,100 bike (w/DCT & ABS), that’s only $195 = BFD! I think most would gladly pay that additional sum – on an $8k bike – for the better, updated version. I have to call “BS” on Honda’s lame excuse.

    • john burns

      good question.

  • Craig Hoffman

    The NC line has some scooter DNA in it. Don’t mean that as an insult, as it affords it that jump on it and go ease of riding appeal. If it was belt drive, it would be about perfect. Given a fire sale situation, especially on the DCT version with ABS, and I could conceivably bite.

    I already have a fast 1K sport bike and a KTM 300 XC-W dirt bike, so the adrenaline hit part of my riding stable is well covered. Neither of those bikes is any good for simply running to the store for a 6 pack though. That is where the NC potentially comes in 😉

  • halfkidding

    In a nutshell the 700X’s are transportation. Somewhere a bit over 100 years ago Americans turned their back on motorcycles as transportation. Then motorcycles became a hobby, a sport, a social statement and accessory and most importantly an experience, all of which are intangible., In a world of intangibles the practical loses.

    I am practical and rational to an extreme fault, except I have ridden motorcycles for 50 years. I should have one of these or a Versys but no, I have a Kawi ZZR1200, my second, both bought used. My rational excuse is over 12 years and 80K or so miles I have experienced about $6000 of depreciation or $500/yr. That’s a valid band-aid of a reason, not a bad one. The real reason is it’s stupid fast, handles and breaks competently and when I am on it I am the Master of Space and Time. Try that on an NC700.

    • john burns

      i guess I could’ve pointed out more what a great sportbike it is too (which you’d read about in the links if you clicked on them), in addition to being a pretty good adventure bike and fabulous daily driver. Rider.

  • Starmag

    Ryan, I enjoyed your writing, the acorn doesn’t fall far from the tree it appears. Also, good taste in girls, she’s a cutie.

    As for the NC700x, the accessory it should have but doesn’t is an alarm clock.

    • DickRuble

      Wait, didn’t you call Ryan’s dad a commie just the other day?

      • Starmag

        I most certainly did not. Vlad stated that’s the point of socialism though.

        “The goal of socialism is communism.” – Vladimir Lenin.
        You’d think he would know.

        That said, I don’t think there’s a good future for something like PoliticalMotorcycles.com. I could easily live without a mix of the two.

        John is a great writer I’ve enjoyed for possibly twenty years or more.

        Dick Ruble as the great defender of JB! LOL. What a joke. Go back to amusing yourself with your snake penis pictures and give up trying to stir the pot.

  • John B.

    With six wine bottles onboard storage capacity, a young and handsome couple’s imprimatur, sixty five MPG fuel efficiency, and an affordable MSRP, you make compelling arguments for this motorcycle. For people who use motorcycles for practical purposes like commuting and jaunts to the grocery store, this bike makes great sense. Hobbyists likely require more sizzle.

  • SteveSweetz

    A great bike, BUT I think it’s pretty dumb that you can only get it with ABS along with the DCT instead of that being a separate option.

    The other problem is Honda’s own CB500X which is $1000 cheaper, not really all that down on power vs the 700, 50 lbs lighter, close to an inch lower in seat height, and holds close to an extra gallon of fuel – though it does give up the storage compartment for that.

    The 700 is better looking, but apart from that, what’s the argument for it over the CB500X?

    • john burns

      more power, better everything and storage for only $1k more seems like a great deal to me.

      • SteveSweetz

        OK…but, once you’re spending that much, why not spend $500 more and get a Versys 650, which is arguably a lot better (and has ABS).

    • Andre Capitao Melo

      You have to compare these engines based on overall toque, not peak power.

  • Gabriel Owens

    I’ve always figured burns really likes this bike.

  • SRMark

    If it just had a splash of color…But it is one hell of a utility vehicle.

  • frankfan42

    So how MUCH difference does the new larger storage container and the new windshield make form a functional standpoint? Is it enough to tilt the lever towards buying new vs a clean used one that is much cheaper?
    Any news on when we can expect the 750 version the rest of the world is graced with?

  • Steve C

    Is this the Honda PC800 of the 2016’s? Practical ,not exciting, but really the only bike you need? But having a Buell and a couple of old Guzzi’s I need character in a bike but I like the concept ,maybe the 750 everyone esle gets gives it a little.

    • john burns

      I was always a little embarrassed to be seen on the PC. The NC is cool, even the kid agrees…

      • kpinvt

        You had a PC. I had a PC, now I have a 2014 NC700XD that I bought new. I have close to 11,000 miles on mine, it works for me. If you do get a DCT version for a test bike I hope you spend some time playing around with the DCT. The DCT is about flexibility, change the character of your bike at the touch of a button.

  • SerSamsquamsh

    Based on your relentless promotion I tried out this bike. It was fun as hell! Way more fun than the 1200cc dirt bikes I also tried.

    • DickRuble

      Have you tried the Versys 650?

      • SerSamsquamsh

        I have not, though I almost bought one when they first came out. “Weird looking but compelling”, I thought.

        I don’t really like the DCT that much but you can ride in a really tiny circles at 2 mph. I’m sure that’ll be a life saver.

      • Leo Taylor

        I test rode a Versys 650 just before I bought my NC700X. I was deciding between the two. For me, there was no comparison. The Versys felt awkward and buzzy, and the controls were very touchy. That could have been that particular bike, but I’ll never know since that’s the only one I ever rode. By comparison the NC was smooth as butter, and I just couldn’t pass up that fuel economy, not to mention the convenience of the Frunk. I’ve had it for just over a year now and still love it. It’s great fun to ride. I’ve had much faster accelerating bikes, but I’m not a kid anymore and really don’t miss that much. The NC will still accelerate faster than most cars, I believe. Plenty good enough for me.

        • DickRuble

          Thanks for the info! One question; was it the 2015 Versys or the version prior to that, with stacked lights? The reports are that the 2015 has the vibrations sorted out.

  • Chris

    Love my ’14 700X. I ride it way more than any of my other bikes. If performance or cool is an issue, another bike goes. Otherwise, pretty much, the X is just too good for about anything real world. I would go for the 750 if it came here, though.

  • D Kewin

    After living in Germany the last three years and picking up a 700s, I can say I’ll very serioulsy look at getting a 700 or 750x when I come state side. Sure, it doesn’t scream and it doesn’t accelerate as fast as a sport bike but I never really fell too far behind my friends riding Gixers, FZ6’s, or CBR 600’s. Capitolizing on the Autobahn, I can say it will hit 198 km/h even if it is only rated for something like 160. What’s more, the Frunk is quite useful as I only bought a tank bag about a week before selling the S. The garage I took it to for inspection (TÜV) really liked it too. It’s a bit odd coming from most other bikes but as the NC suggests, it’s a different way of thinking and going about a motorcycle. The owner even went so far as to compare it to a tractor. Never stalls and nearly indestructable. He was so impressed that within half an hour of emailing him if he’d be interested in buying it, he had already made me a very competitive offer.

    I love my 06 FZ6 but there is just something about the NC700.

    • Eric Belander

      I also had an 06 FZ6. Loved that bike and still wish I had it but sold it and my C50 Boulevard Special Edition to get the funds to purchase my 2012 NC700x back in 2013. I really only need one bike and the X suits my needs. I have an 80 mile round trip per day commute to work so I value mileage. The FZ6 got me in the 50’s if I kept my wrist restrained, which grew to be more and more of a problem, the X gets me in mid to upper sixties at worst and I’ve hit 72 mpg before. It also makes riding the roads at the posted speed limit or slightly over as much fun as riding the 6 at 15 or more over. Got mine with heated grips, factory centerstand and saddlebags for $7500 out the door in 2013.

  • Jeff

    John, it seems like you finally have some stiff competition in the space. Perhaps we will all get lucky and not be left with crappy lane-splitter articles and obvious riding tips when the current MO team reaches retirement.

  • JMDonald

    This is a bike that shouldn’t need defending.

  • Chris Noblett

    Cheap? I disagree.
    The primary draw for this bike (for me) is the DCT that would get my wife more willing to ride with me.
    MSRP in my area after destination-delivery-etc is $9200, that does not even include TTL.
    Insane for this bike, LOL.

  • TC

    I read a lot of good reviews on the NC, and suggested to my daughter’s boyfriend that he buy one when he asked me for my opinion about a new motorcycle.

  • Jon Jones

    I could own and love one.

  • Dale Warren

    I love mine. Just did a 6500 mile trip from NC to Utah/Colorado and she performed great. I have the DCT and its a plus in the tight switchbacks. Never in the wrong gear. I’m seeing more and more experienced riders ditch the big/powerful bikes and get back to simplicity and pure riding.

  • Andy C

    I haven’t seen one of these in person since the big bike show almost a year ago, and almost no video on-line. So does it come with those cool right angled valve stems on the wheels the show bike had?
    I can’t handle heavy bikes in my tight parking space confines and need left hand relief (carpal) so this model, with DCT, is what I’m hoping to replace my 2009 Ninja 650R for commuting and travel.
    Thanks for the review!