SX Season Wrapup


Coming into tonight's race, it was down to the wire between Ricky Carmichael and Chad Reed. Both riders did what they wanted to do.

Chad garnered his eighth win of the season, and sixth win in a row. He did what he had to do - win the race, and then let the cards fall where they may. He proved that he's a title contender. He's gracious too, as he congratulated Ricky immediately after the race. He finished seven points behind Ricky after 16 rounds of racing.

Ricky Carmichael showed the smarts and composure of the champion he is. Once he got into second place in the Main Event behind Chad, he pressed the whole time, but never got out of control. He did show a lot of excitement once he crossed the finish line, as he enjoyed accomplishing his goal for the season.

Fact: Ricky Carmichael has won every series he's contested since the 2000 outdoor series. Three straight 250 outdoor championships (2000, 2001, 2003). Three straight supercross championships (2001, 2002, 2003). And before that he won three straight 125 outdoor titles (1997, 1998, 1999). Add in one 125 East title (1998).

The 125 class had their annual 'Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shoot-out'. It's a one time per year get-together of the best from the East and West divisions.

Andrew Short of Suzuki won his first ever supercross by capturing the 'Shoot-out'.

125 West Champion James Stewart was the early leader - as many expected. But James made mistake #1 by falling off the track. Then when he got going he was trying too hard to get up front again. Then he made mistake #2 - he over jumped the triple jump at the finish line, and went over the bars hard. It's possible he has injuries to his shoulder, collarbone, and ribs.

Eric Soby then inherited the lead. But Eric fell, and that put Andrew Short into the lead. Andrew was in the right position at the right time. He deserves it too. He's been consistent all year long, on both the 125 and 250. And he didn't forget anyone on the podium either.

250 Main Event Results

1. Chad Reed YAM
2. Ricky Carmichael HON
3. Ernesto Fonseca HON
4. Tim Ferry YAM
5. Nick Wey YAM
6. Josh Demuth YAM
7. Larry Ward HON
8. Heath Voss YAM
9. Keith Johnson YAM
10. Clark Stiles HON

250 Final Point Standings

1. Ricky Carmichael 367
2. Chad Reed 360
3. Ernesto Fonseca 225
4. Nick Wey 203
5. Tim Ferry 195
6. Heath Voss 179
7. David Vuillemin 169
8. Larry Ward 163
9. Ezra Lusk 149
10. Keith Johnson 149

125 East / West Shootout Results

1. Andrew Short SUZ
2. Ivan Tedesco YAM
3. Michael Byrne HON
4. Josh Hansen YAM
5. Chris Gosselaar HON
6. Mike Brown KAW
7. Steve Mertens YAM
8. Brock Sellards YAM
9. Billy Laninovich KTM
10. Kevin Johnson YAM
Get in your Inbox
George Obradovich
George Obradovich

More by George Obradovich

Join the conversation