2017 Isle of Man TT: Pokerstars Senior TT Results

Dennis Chung
by Dennis Chung

Michael Dunlop earned Isle of Man TT win number 15, taking a red-flagged Senior TT with an average speed of 130.456 mph.

The initial race was halted on the second lap when Ian Hutchinson crashed at around the 27th milestone. Hutchinson was conscious and was taken to hospital where he was treated for a fractured femur. At the time, Hutchinson was running in second behind Peter Hickman and ahead of Dean Harrison. The race was later restarted with the distance shortened from six laps to four.

Dunlop took the lead through Glen Helen after the restart, holding a 1.5 second edge over Bruce Anstey with Harrison in third ahead of a pack including Hickman, Michael Rutter and James Hillier.

With an average speed of 132.292 mph, Dunlop led the opening lap, with Hickman 4.3 seconds behind him in second and Anstey holding a 0.3-second gap over Harrison for third.

Dunlop maintained a lead over Hickman after the second lap, leading by 9.2 seconds, as they entered the pits. Hickman remained in second with Harrison third. Anstey, however, had retired, putting Rutter up to fourth.

Hickman narrowed the lead to 7.7 seconds on their third time through Glen Helen, but by the time they reached Ramsey, the gap had grown again, to 8.5 seconds. Heading into the fourth and final lap, Dunlop held a 10.6 second margin over Hickman.

Dunlop would hold on for his 15th TT victory, winning by 13.3 seconds. Hickman finished second with Harrison in third, repeating their results from the Superbike TT.

Though Hickman ultimately settled for second, it was enough to give him the overall points lead for the week, earning him the Joey Dunlop Championship with 76 points. Hutchinson claimed second, despite not completing the Senior TT, with 61 points, followed by Michael Dunlop and his 60 points.

2017 Isle of Man TT: Senior TT Top Five Results




Michael DunlopSuzuki/Bennetts Suzuki1:09:24.711130.456 mph


Peter HickmanBMW/Smiths Racing1:09:38.031130.040 mph


Dean HarrisonKawasaki/Silicone Engineering1:09:48.216129.724 mph


James HillierKawasaki/JG Speedfit Kawasaki1:10:11.713129.000 mph


Michael RutterBMW/Bathams SMT Racing1:10:12.357128.981 mph
Dennis Chung
Dennis Chung

Dennis has been a part of the Motorcycle.com team since 2008, and through his tenure, has developed a firm grasp of industry trends, and a solid sense of what's to come. A bloodhound when it comes to tracking information on new motorcycles, if there's a new model on the horizon, you'll probably hear about it from him first.

More by Dennis Chung

Join the conversation