Isle of Man TT 2013: SES TT Zero Results

Dennis Chung
by Dennis Chung

Motoczysz captured its fourth consecutive TT Zero at the 2013 Isle of Man TT, setting a new official record for electric motorcycles by averaging 109.675 mph on the Mountain Course.

Michael Rutter piloted the Motoczysz E1PC to a lap time of 20:38.461 for his third straight TT Zero win. Finishing second as he did last year was John McGuinness on the Mugen Shinden Ni, with a time just 1.6 seconds slower than Rutter, with an average speed of 109.527 mph.

Other notable results include third-place finisher Robert Barber on Ohio State University‘s Buckeye Current electric motorcycle team. With an average speed of 90.403 mph, the student-run team set the ninth fastest time in TT Zero history. The Buckeye team benefited from the experience of Barber who won the TTXGP-organzied electric motorcycle race on the Isle of Man in 2009.

Isle of Man TT 2013: SES TT Zero Results
Pos.RiderMachine/TeamTimeAvg. Speed


Michael RutterMotoCzysz E1PC20:38.461109.675 mph


John McGuinnessMugen Shinden Ni20:40.133109.527 mph


Robert BarberOhio State University RW-225:02.46790.403 mph


George SpenceKingston University25:41.82288.096 mph


Chris McgahanVercamoto Yamaha R6E26:59.75583.857 mph


Ian LougherKomatti Mirai KMI27:46.30081.515 mph


David Madsen-MygdalImperial31:26.93371.983 mph


Paul OwenBrunei University BX31:33.38771.738 mph

[Source: IOMTT]

Dennis Chung
Dennis Chung

Dennis has been a part of the team since 2008, and through his tenure, has developed a firm grasp of industry trends, and a solid sense of what's to come. A bloodhound when it comes to tracking information on new motorcycles, if there's a new model on the horizon, you'll probably hear about it from him first.

More by Dennis Chung

Join the conversation