2009 TTXGP Results

Motorcycle.com Staff
by Motorcycle.com Staff

2009 TTXGP results

Barber wins first clean emission motorcycle race
By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Jun. 12, 2009
Team Agni rider Rob Barber won the 2009 TTXGP, the worlds first clean emission eGrandPrix race.

Barber recorded a time of 25:53.50 for an average speed of 87.434 mph to win the Best Buy Pro class. Second place went to German XXL Racings Thomas Schoenfelder who averaged 77.841 mph while Mark Buckley finished third for U.S.-based Brammo with an average speed of 75.350 mph.

In the Open class, Electric Motorsports Chris Heath won with an average speed of 66.022 mph. Heath was originally disqualified from the race for not honking his horn during a yellow flag as required.

Rob Barber wonth TTXGP Pro Class race on the AGNI X101.
Race organizers reinstated Heath after deciding he was unaware of the rule and the incident did not have any effect on the final result. Pro class racer Paul Dobbs of Htblauva was also initially disqualified for the same infraction and was later reinstated.

Second place went to Barefoot Motors Chris Petty while John Crellin finished third for TORK. Tragically, Crellin died in a crash during the Senior TT race hours after the TTXGP.

Today represents the culmination of an incredibly long journey to the worlds first clean emission eGrandPrix, says Azhar Hussain, TTXGP founder. The teams, riders and all those involved in making this event possible have worked tirelessly to make the TTXGP the reality it has become today. Together we have proved that zero carbon transport technologies have the capabilities to thrill motor racing fans and are ready for application in the real world.

Related Reading
Isle of Man racer dies in crash

Would you like us to deliver Motorcycle.com Articles in your mail box once a week? Simply submit your e-mail address below !Get Motorcycle.com in your Inbox
Motorcycle.com Staff
Motorcycle.com Staff

Motorcycle.com presents an unrivaled combination of bike reviews and news written by industry experts

More by Motorcycle.com Staff

Join the conversation