2014 AMA Supercross Schedule Announced

Dennis Chung
by Dennis Chung

With the 2013 season now complete, Feld Motorsports and the International Motorcycling Federation have released its schedule for the 2014 AMA Supercross Championship.

The 2014 season will again feature 17 rounds held at baseball and football stadiums but there are some changes from this past season. The season will again start the first weekend in January with the first of three rounds at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, Calif., and end the beginning of May at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas, Nev.

Dropped from the schedule are Rice-Eccles Stadium in Salt Lake City, Utah, and the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome which is scheduled for demolition in February. Taking their places will be Ford Field in Detroit, Mich., and MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J.

Also absent from the calendar is Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles which was originally part of the 2013 schedule but later replaced by Angel Stadium as the ballpark underwent renovations.

The MetLife Stadium round adds a venue from the New York Metropolitan area. The home of the N.Y. Giants and the N.Y. Jets replaced the Meadowlands which hosted Supercross in the late ’80s and ’90s.

“Monster Energy Supercross is in the midst of the most competitive eras of racing we’ve ever seen,” says Charlie Mancuso, President, Feld Motor Sports. “With 40 incredible seasons behind us, we look ahead to continue bringing the best racing on the planet to new markets and new audiences across North America. The sport is at an all-time high in terms of attendance, popularity, and media exposure, so it’s only natural that we continue to expand to the largest media market in the world – New York.”

Detroit last hosted the AMA Supercross Championship in 2008, with Davi Millsaps taking the victory at Ford Field. The home of the Detroit Lions has previously hosted three Supercross events after replacing the Pontiac Silverdome which hosted the series for 29 years.

2014 AMA Supercross Schedule
January 4Angel StadiumAnaheim, Calif.
January 11Chase FieldPhoenix, Ariz.
January 18Angel StadiumAnaheim, Calif.
January 25O.Co ColiseumOakland, Calif.
February 1Angel StadiumAnaheim, Calif.
February 8Qualcomm StadiumSan Diego, Calif.
February 15Cowboys StadiumArlington, Texas
February 22Georgia DomeAtlanta, Ga.
March 1Lucas Oil StadiumIndianapolis, Ind.
March 8Daytona International SpeedwayDaytona Beach, Fla.
March 15Ford FieldDetroit, Mich.
March 22Rogers CentreToronto, Canada
March 29Edward Jones DomeSt. Louis, Mo.
April 5Reliant StadiumHouston, Texas
April 12CenturyLink FieldSeattle, Wash.
April 26MetLife StadiumEast Rutherford, N.J.
May 3Sam Boyd StadiumLas Vegas, Nev.

[Source: AMA Supercross; Photo by Cudby S.]

Dennis Chung
Dennis Chung

Dennis has been a part of the Motorcycle.com team since 2008, and through his tenure, has developed a firm grasp of industry trends, and a solid sense of what's to come. A bloodhound when it comes to tracking information on new motorcycles, if there's a new model on the horizon, you'll probably hear about it from him first.

More by Dennis Chung

Join the conversation