Scorpion EXO-R2000 Helmet Review

Share this Article

Scorpion EXO-R2000

Editor Score: 87.0%
Aesthetics 9.0/10
Protection 9.0/10
Value 9.0/10
Comfort/Fit 9.0/10
Quality/Design 9.0/10
Weight 7.0/10
Options/Selection 9.0/10
Innovation 9.0/10
Weather Suitability 9.0/10
Desirable/Cool Factor 8.0/10
Overall Score87/100

One of the first helmets I ever owned was a Scorpion. I don’t even remember the model number anymore, but I remember I bought it because it was all I could afford as a poor college student. It fit fine when I tried it on at the store for a few minutes, but the honeymoon period quickly ended by the time I rode home from the store – the shell gave my intermediate-oval dome a massive pressure point directly on my forehead. To add insult to injury, after only a few months sitting on my shelf, the liner started coming loose and the rubber seal between the visor and the shell started to come off. In the end, the experience left me with a sour taste in my mouth, and I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve worn a Scorpion since … and still have fingers left over.

Scorpion EXO-1000 Helmet Review

Fast forward about a decade and the opportunity arose to try another Scorpion helmet – this time the EXO-R2000, Scorpion’s premier lid, tried and tested on the MotoGP battleground by the likes of Jack Miller in Moto3, Mika Kallio in Moto2, and Alvaro Bautista in the premier class. I figured ten years is enough time for me to forgive and forget, and it should be more than long enough for Scorpion to sort its quality control issues. Not to mention, if some of the world’s best riders trust the EXO-R2000 to potentially save their lives, then I could find it in my heart to give a second chance.

The EXO-R2000 is at home going fast on a racetrack. Developed with the help of MotoGP riders, Scorpion is aiming to deliver a world-class helmet to the masses.

The EXO-R2000 is at home going fast on a racetrack. Developed with the help of MotoGP riders, Scorpion is aiming to deliver a world-class helmet to the masses.

Starting at $369.95 for solid colors and moving up to $429.95 for the Bautista replica, the R2000 meets Snell M2010 requirements and represents quite a value for someone looking for an upper-tier full-face helmet at almost half the cost of Scorpion’s Japanese rivals. Of course, none of this means anything if it doesn’t fit, and when it came time to don the flagship EXO, I was pleasantly surprised. For one, it fit my head, and it fit well. Secondly, but equally as importantly, the quality is worlds better than I had expected.

Scorpion EXO-700 Helmet Review

Four different shell sizes and six EPS liners are responsible for the comfortable fitment around my dome. However, through the use of its Airfit Liner Inflation System, Scorpion took an extra measure to ensure a snug fit occurred along the jaw bone and cheek area as well. Basically employing an air bladder within each cheek pad, a few squeezes of the pump inflates the bladder to give you a snug fit each time. When it comes time to take the helmet off, a simple press of the release valve next to the pump on the chin bar lets all the air out.

Squeezing on the red pump at the front of the chinbar pumps air into the cheekpads to give a snug fit each time. The little silver button beside it releases the air when it’s time to doff the helmet. Note also the emergency cheekpad release tabs for medical personnel.

Squeezing on the red pump at the front of the chinbar pumps air into the cheekpads to give a snug fit each time. The little silver button beside it releases the air when it’s time to doff the helmet. Note also the emergency cheekpad release tabs for medical personnel.

Apart from the fit, Scorpion credits its proprietary TCT, or Thermodynamic Composite Technology, for blending fiberglass, Aramid and poly-resin fibers into each shell. Wind tunnel testing was used to create the teardrop shape for optimal aerodynamics. On the road the shape works well, as buffeting is kept to a minimum. Turning one’s head at speed, say, to check for traffic before changing lanes, is easily done even on naked bikes without any wind protection. At 3 lbs, 8 oz, it’s weight is distributed evenly and doesn’t feel cumbersome while riding.

Scorpion Nikki Jacket Review

Inside, the antimicrobial KwikWik II liner fabric is soft to the touch and helps wick sweat away on hotter days to keep you cool. The liner is also completely removable and machine washable. Speaking of keeping cool, the R2000 features six intake ports across the front and numerous exhaust ports in the rear to flow air through the helmet. There’s a noticeable amount of air that enters the helmet, and with the two-stage vents you can really fine tune the amount of air that comes in. The more expensive Japanese helmets will flow more air, but that said, ventilation on the EXO-R2000 is great for the price range it occupies. Be warned: opening the intake vents, especially the chin vent, introduces a noticeable amount of wind noise into the helmet. Those who wear ear plugs, like me, won’t be bothered much by it.

The quick-release, tool-less shield change mechanism makes changing between the clear and included dark shield a breeze. Notice how it’s shaped like a Scorpion? Clever touch. Move the black tab at the bottom of the mechanism to lock the shield in place at high speed, or move it the opposite direction to crack it open slightly for low-speed air flow.

The quick-release, tool-less shield change mechanism makes changing between the clear and included dark shield a breeze. Notice how it’s shaped like a Scorpion? Clever touch. Move the black tab at the bottom of the mechanism to lock the shield in place at high speed, or move it the opposite direction to crack it open slightly for low-speed air flow.

Since the 2000 was meant for the track, the wide eyeport gives great field of view, especially in a tuck position. The fog-free shield has been a Scorpion staple since day one and offers 100% UV protection. However, what really blew me away is the inclusion of a dark tinted visor with every EXO-R2000. It comes in its own carrying pouch, and just adds to the value proposition Scorpion is providing. The spring-loaded ratcheting system allows you to raise or lower the shield in five different intervals, and once fully closed, it forms a seal with the eyeport, keeping water away. Shields are easily changed in seconds without tools and can be locked in the closed position with a sliding tab near the left side pod. Moving the tab in the opposite direction raises the shield slightly to introduce air-flow at low speeds.

Scorpion Women’s Haley Pants Review

While I haven’t actually made impact with the ground while wearing the EXO, I’m confident it will keep me safe. Scorpion were also wise to fit the 2000 with an emergency release system, allowing emergency medical personnel to quickly and easily remove the cheekpads to safely remove the helmet from an injured rider.

While it’s made for the track, the EXO-R2000 makes for a fine street helmet, too.

While it’s made for the track, the EXO-R2000 makes for a fine street helmet, too.

Overall, I’m very impressed with the EXO-R2000. Scorpion has come a long way since I last tried its products, and it shows. The 2000 fits my head very well, cuts through the air as well as anything out there, and best of all, is a relative steal for anyone looking for a top-level lid. Plus, the free dark shield is a nice touch. It’s quickly becoming my go-to helmet whenever I head out the door. Something I never thought I’d say.

Available in sizes ranging from XS-2XL, www.scorpionusa.com is where to go for more information and to find the dealer nearest you.

Get Motorcycle.com in your Inbox
  • Justyn Black

    I recently ordered a EXO-R2000 and had to immediately return it. Important note: The EXO-R2000 does not fit the same as the other EXO helmets. I wear an XXL and my EXO-500 and 1100 fit great, I could barely get the R2000 on and it was quite uncomfortable.

  • Jeffrey Degracia

    Great review. I had a similar experience to Troy in that I found early Scorpion helmets to be sub-par in their quality compared to established brands. However, the R2000 is on a different level, as this review notes well. One thing I’ll differ on is the airflow. In my experience, the R2000 flows about 90% of the air that my AGV Corsa does (which flows the most air of any helmet I’ve owned), and about the same as my older Shoei X-11 did. In fact, the helmet looks a lot like an X-11 and feels similar. A note on sizing, I wear a Medium in Arai Corsair V, Shoei X-11, AGV Corsa (ML) and AGV Horizon, whereas in the R2000 I had to go with a Large. I find the helmet is narrower in fit compared to the above mentioned helmets but still fits me well. Also like Troy, this helmet is more and more my “go to” helmet as I think it looks great and works as well as it looks. +1 Scorpion.

  • Oslo Norway

    They used to have a pretty darn good racer support program, and every little bit helps. Not sure if they still do. I wore one of their lids for a couple years. I thought for the price point if I had to pay full boat retail it was a pretty good lid, as good as anything else at that price level. And this coming from a guy who grew up in Bells and transitioned to Shoeis and Arais, crashing them all along the way.

    • Oslo Norway

      Oh, and I would just add, anybody, or company that supports the sport? They deserve to be supported…