Dainese Super Speed Textile Jacket

Editor Score: 83.0%
Aesthetics 8.0/10
Protection 8.0/10
Value 7.0/10
Comfort/Fit 8.0/10
Quality/Design 9.0/10
Weight 8.5/10
Options/Selection 9.5/10
Innovation 8.5/10
Weather Suitability 8.0/10
Desirable/Cool Factor 8.5/10
Overall Score83/100

Finding a balance of protection, ventilation, and versatility can be difficult when looking at summer jackets; however, the Super Speed textile jacket from Dainese does a pretty good job at the balancing act. While it is not new in Dainese’s line-up, it is year-after-year a bestseller that will keep you calm, cool, and collected on your summer rides.

MO Tested: Dainese Street Rider Jacket Review

How do I know this jacket is a bestseller? Full disclosure – I previously worked at the Dainese D-Store in Orange County while going to college. Before you shun my thoughts of the jacket and disregard my opinions consider the following; I have crashed in this jacket (more on that later) and I have always been a gear nerd. I buy gear, use it for a while, and move on – and the process continues. I have had plenty of experience with different brands. That being said, it also should be noted that every male employee of the OC D-Store has owned one or multiples of this jacket. Now, let’s get into the product.

Dainese Super Speed Textile Jacket

The Super Speed is available in euro sizes between 44-64 and comes in four color options.

The Super Speed Textile jacket’s shell is made up of Cordura and Boomerang mesh. With protection being Dainese’s first concern, they have placed the mesh panels out of any potential crash zones other than the back. You have three large mesh panels on the front, one up the inside of each arm, and a large mesh panel covering the whole back of the jacket. The entire back is certainly a potential crash area, so I would suggest using one of Dainese’s back protectors.

The jacket comes equipped with CE-rated shoulder and elbow protection while having a divided pocket for back protectors and a chest pocket if you want to use the Dainese full chest protector (The chest protector this jacket uses is the one piece, not the split protector found in newer models from Dainese.)

Dainese Super Speed Textile Jacket Manis G2 and Wave G2 back protectors

The Manis G2 left, has the higher CE level-2 rating due to its coverage and dual densities of foam. The Wave G2 right, holds a CE level-1 rating with an internal plastic honeycomb to absorb impact.

Certainly some of the reasons this jacket is so popular could be due to the plethora of features and fit. The Super Speed textile is one of the few textile jackets that Dainese has offered with aluminum external shoulder sliders similar to what you would find on the sportier leather offerings. The jacket comes with a removable wind-stopping liner that, when removed, can pack down small enough to fit into any pocket on the jacket. The liner is very thin so don’t expect it to keep you warm through the winter months, but if you were to wear a hoodie underneath, you could certainly stretch the jacket’s usable range through the seasons in a mild climate, like here in Southern California. Fit is sporty but not overly tight. Stretch paneling across the scapulas give the rider full range of motion while riding.

Dainese Super Speed Textile Jacket lining

Here the jacket is shown with the thin wind-stopping liner half unzipped from the jacket’s left side. The only access to the inner pocket is by reaching behind the liner.

Like most Dainese products, the jacket will zip to any Dainese pant, giving you the option to pair a mesh pant to have a fully protective summertime outfit. The jacket also offers Velcro waist adjustment to really let you fine tune the fit. Two snap adjustments can be found at the wrists as well as a two-position snap at the collar. I will say that the collar when snapped tends to dig into my throat a little while in a sportier riding position. I usually wear a neck tube during longer rides and leave it unbuttoned during short rides, so it has never bothered me much.

Dainese Super Speed Textile Jacket

I appreciate the balance of ventilation and protection found in this jacket and have used it almost daily for a couple of years.

I have had many people ask me how textile holds up in a crash, so let me tell you how this jacket held up when I hit the deck. It was a day just like any other day – except this day was finals day in college. I had one final in the morning and another in the afternoon. After finishing and feeling good about my first exam, I wanted to ride home quickly to have lunch before my next test. Alas, on my way home my speed overcame the grip of my KTM’s new ADV front tire and I had a little lowside at approximately 50 mph.

Most of the sliding was on my left arm, as you can see below, and the Cordura gave way to the armor underneath. This is one reason why I’ve always liked Dainese’s armor. It is made up of a foam for comfort on the inside and a hard plastic facing out. In this instance, the Cordura giving way made no difference as I kept sliding on the plastic armor underneath. Thankfully, wearing full gear, I ended up walking away unscathed and the bike only needed minimal fixing. The very next day I went in to the D-Store and bought another of the exact same jacket. Textile fabrics are lighter and cheaper than leather, but they are less able to withstand abrasion than leather.

Dainese Super Speed Textile Jacket sleeve damage from crash

The slide caused the Cordura to give way to the hard armor underneath. Hence the reason for companies including additional armor in these areas.

While there are other offerings from Dainese and other manufacturers that may flow more air, the balance of protection, versatility, and ventilation on the Super Speed are a perfect fit for what many riders are looking for in a summer textile jacket.

  • SRMark

    Now that’s how to test a jacket. Thanks for the public service. Hope the tests went ok.

  • Sentinel

    My concern with textile gear is going down and sliding on my back at speed. It sure would be nasty to have your shoulder-blades, and perhaps even your spine itself being ground away as you slide once the flesh has been removed.

    • Ryan

      That is one of the reasons I like the Dainese back protectors. With the hard plastic facing out if you were to slide through the textile, you will continue to slide on the plastic.

      • Sentinel

        As soon as the textile is worn through there’s nothing keeping that protector in place, right?

        • Ryan

          You would have to wear through a lot of textile to get a back protector to come out. That being said, we can only mitigate danger as much as possible.

          • Sentinel

            Not if it’s a hot weather riding one with nothing my a mesh panel on the back. And even a solid textile will shred and tear apart almost immediately.

    • BDan75

      Not sure about the real-world crash issues there, but I will say this much: because Dainese sizing is “European” and they usually don’t offer anything over a 60 (50 American–which is like a traditional 48 at best), the broad-shouldered, barrel-chested crowd is gonna have a hard time squeezing in a back protector. I say this from personal experience.

  • elgar

    Dainese leathers are awesome, although pricey. Their textile jackets are no better or worse than many other brands at considerably higher price. (compared to Cortech, Tourmaster, AGV, etc.). What drives me mad is why, why does Dianese use those flimsy, fine toothed zippers on their textile jackets?? Shameful, when Tourmaster/Cortech use far stronger and far superior LARGE tooth zippers which never snag or come apart.

    • Ryan

      You are totally right. An issue they are certainly aware of in the States at least and something I would hope to see beefed up over time.

    • BDan75

      Yeah, the zippers are ridiculous, although I guess I don’t know if they actually break more? I had one of these jackets for a while; liked it pretty well for good ventilation w/ protection, but the collar rubbing drove me nuts. Sold.

    • Jon Jones

      Good point. I hate wimpy zippers.

  • Rob Mitchell

    coming home after work one day I hit a kangaroo at 100kph and went down. My Dririder jacket was i mess but i was fine. Winded, a bruise on my elbow the shape of my of the armour and high blood pressure. Jacket, gloves and helmet written off but i went to work The next day. 2 rules when it comes to protective gear. 1/ Always always wear the gear. 2/ If for some reason you can’t wear your gear, refer rule 1.

    • Ryan

      Words to live by, Rob! Thanks for sharing the real life situation. Glad to know you came out of it alright.

  • WGB1944

    I’ve ridden with heavy blue jeans, boots that cover the ankles and Bates Leather jackets since 1966. My old jacket has seen better days, needs repair around the neck and new zippers and it sure is hot in this sun in Arkansas, but when I crack the zipper just a bit. It feels like air condition. In 1997 I wasn’t wearing a lid nor jacket(always ride with boots)and sure enough I was T-Boned(Ohio drivers are BAD). I can tell you what your head will sound like on black top. I lucked out, only missed 6 mo work from broken collar bone and a lot of heavy abrasions. Never left the saddle an the bike rolled 4 times, skinned all my knuckles. Forgot to mention, I always wear deer skin gloves now.

    • BDan75

      Yikes. Glad you “lucked out.” I rode with normal jeans for years, now don’t go out unless I have my kevlar jeans and separate knee/shin guards on…or leather.

      • WGB1944

        I’ve been kicking around the idea of Kevlar jeans. Do I need to order a larger waist? There are so many, I don’t really know what to buy. Tried on some cooler breathable jackets, but an XL is to tight when my size 42 Bates Leather fits snug. I wear a full lid down here in Arkansas (big rocks everywhere), in Ohio we had dirt, trees and lot of people that turn left in front of you (know signal) or run stop signs.
        I need to visit Disqus to change my email to jerry.guzzi@gmail.com Thanks for the come back.

  • BDan75

    Thanks for the crash info…always good to know, as it seems like there’s so little info out there about actual crashworthiness of gear.

    Nice Rossi winter test helmet, too.