Dainese Racing 3 Perf. Leather Jacket & Delta 3 Perf. Leather Pants

Editor Score: 87.25%
Aesthetics 9.0/10
Protection 8.5/10
Value 8.0/10
Comfort/Fit 9.0/10
Quality/Design 9.0/10
Weight 8.75/10
Options/Selection 9.0/10
Innovation 8.0/10
Weather Suitability 9.25/10
Desirable/Cool Factor 8.75/10
Overall Score87.25/100

While the riding season may be hinting that it is coming to an end in some parts of the country, in SoCal the highs are still in the upper 80s and low 90s. Perforations are necessary when you’re looking for leather gear in the Southwest. My requirements are simple: leather construction, perforations, and two-pieces that zip together. Since my middle-aged body (and weight) seem to be in constant flux, I decided to head over to the Santa Monica D-Store to get the full Dainese customer experience while being sized for my gear. If you have a D-Store near you, I highly recommend going there for a fitting. The staff knows their stuff. 

Women’s Gear Review: Dainese Sport Boots And Shoes

MO Tested: Dainese Super Speed Textile Jacket Review

With Dainese, you need to be aware of the company’s distinction between two-piece leathers and a jacket/pants combination. With two-piece leathers, the two pieces are only meant to be worn together. The top will be cut too short to be worn alone. If you want, as I did, to have the option of wearing the jacket separately with riding jeans, you’ll need to get the jacket and pants separately. Just a head’s up. 

Dainese Racing 3

Here is my typical use of the Dainese Racing 3 Perf. Leather Jacket – with riding jeans. The ventilation makes it an ideal runabout jacket in warm-to-hot weather.

I settled on the Dainese Racing 3 Perf. Leather Jacket and the Delta 3 Perf. Leather Pants in Euro size 56 (gasp!). Note that you will need to buy a compatible back protector for approximately $80-$90. I already had one in another jacket. So, I just popped it in the zippered pocket. 

Dainese Racing 3 Delta 3

While I don’t typically wear knee pucks on the street, it’s nice to have that option when it’s time for a track day.

The Racing 3 jacket has been in Dainese’s catalog for a while – and for good reason. The exterior is constructed of durable Tutu leather and, even before its first wearing, is supple enough to feel like an old favorite. Add to that the most thorough perforation I’ve experienced in any jacket. Where the torso and a bit of the arms typically receive the airflow-enabling punctures, the Racer 3 Perf. has the vast majority of its forward-facing surface ventilated (even on most of the sleeves), and, boy, does it flow air! On cooler mornings, I’ve gotten a chill from the breeze. The Delta 3 Pants are similarly perforated. Very nice. 

Dainese Racing 3

They aren’t very big, but the sheer number of perforations means that the Racing 3 and Delta 3 flow big air on hot days. The S1 fabric stretches for a comfortable fit.

Assisting in the slim fit (well, as slim as it gets on my dad bod), the stretchy S1 fabric covers the insides of the arms and torso on the jacket and back and insides of the legs on the pants. Accordion stretch panels above the knees assist in mobility. The ribs on either side of the jacket’s back look like styling touches, but they are actually accordion panels, too. The jacket and pants allow plenty of movement, whether in an upright riding position on a naked bike or a racer tuck on more sporting machinery. The jacket and pants zip together with an internal jacket panel that wraps around about three-fourths of the torso for a secure attachment. The armor in all your body’s corners is CE-Level 2 and should protect your joints in a tumble. The shoulder armor is removable, allowing you to adjust its placement slightly. 

Dainese Racing 3

Nice touches, like the padded collar, abound.

My only real complaint about the jacket is that the interior chest pocket isn’t really a cargo pocket at all. Instead, it pairs with an exact duplicate of it on the other side of the front zipper to hold optional chest protectors. While additional armored protection is always a good thing, a place to easily carry a phone in the chest area would be much appreciated. With the size of current generation smartphones, placing them in a hand warmer pocket feels awkward to me. 

Dainese Delta 3

Got big calves? The Delta 3 pants have the expansion panels to keep you comfortable. The expansion panel also allows you to wear your pants on the outside of your boots.

The Dainese Racing 3 Perf. Leather Jacket And Delta 3 Perf. Leather Pants are also available in a non-perforated version if you live in a place that isn’t so hot all the time. There’s even one with built-in D-Air for state-of-the-art protection. The Dainese Racing 3 Perf. Leather Jacket has sizes ranging from Euro 44-64, and the Delta 3 Perf. Leather Pants come in similar sizes. The color options for both the jacket and pants are black, black/fluorescent red, and white/black/fluorescent red. The MSRP for the jacket is $580 and $329-$470 for the pants. These pieces of kit aren’t cheap, but their build quality and protection should last for many seasons of riding. I recommend them.

Dainese Racing 3

Shop for the Dainese Racing 3 Perf. Leather Jacket here

Dainese Delta 3

Shop for the Dainese Delta 3 Perf. Leather Pants here


We are committed to finding, researching, and recommending the best products. We earn commissions from purchases you make using the retail links in our product reviews. Learn more about how this works.