Yates, May re-sign with Michael Jordan

Riders finished 1-2 in 2008 AMA Superstock championship

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Jan. 12, 2009
Michael Jordan Motor Sports has re-signed riders Aaron Yates and Geoff May to race in the 2009 AMA American Superbike championship.

Yates earned his fifth AMA championship in 2008, capturing the Superstock title while May finished behind him in second. For 2009, however, the two riders will race under separate teams under the Michael Jordan Motor Sports umbrella. Yates will race under the Jordan Suzuki banner, while May will race for the new National Guard-Jordan team.

The second winningest rider in Superstock class history, Yates has won five races and earned ten podium finishes in 2008. The Georgia native has won titles in the Superstock, Supersport and SuperTeams classes.

“Aaron’s performance over the past two years made the decision to bring him back an easy one,” says Kreig Robinson, director of business development for Michael Jordan Motor Sports. “He has a never-say-die attitude and he finds ways to win. We have an extremely talented crew and staff, but at the end of the day, a rider has to ride the bike.”

Geoff May (left) and Aaron Yates will race in the 2009 AMA American Superbike class.May, a former AMA Superbike Rookie of the Year winner, will race for a new joint effort between Michael Jordan Motor Sports and the National Guard.

Sergeant First Class John Metzler, manager of the Army National Guard Bureau’s motorsports program, says the new team will help promote the National Guard’s recruiting and retention efforts.

“Racing is an American sport. It reaches our recruiting demographic. We look forward to sharing our patriotism with all the fans,” says Metzler. “The Jordan team and AMA Superbike fans have shown enthusiastic support for our rider, Geoff May, and most importantly, our troops.”