2016 Yamaha FJR1300A

Editor Score: 90.25%
Engine 19.0/20
Suspension/Handling 13.5/15
Transmission/Clutch 9.25/10
Brakes 8.75/10
Ergonomics/Comfort 9.0/10
Appearance/Quality 9.25/10
Desirability 8.0/10
Value 9.0/10
Overall Score90.25/100

2016 Yamaha FJR1300ES

Editor Score: 91.0%
Engine 19.0/20
Suspension/Handling 14.25/15
Transmission/Clutch 9.25/10
Brakes 8.75/10
Ergonomics/Comfort 9.0/10
Appearance/Quality 9.25/10
Desirability 8.0/10
Value 9.0/10
Overall Score91/100

Yamaha released the first FJR1300 as a 2003 model and graced it with its most recent major update in 2013.  A year after that overhaul, the FJR1300ES, with its cool electronically adjustable suspension was announced. For 2016 Yamaha has continued its process of refining this popular, established platform with some upgrades to modernize the FJR and address some owner requests.

2013 Sport-Touring Shootout 1.0 – Video

Other than the 2016 Cobalt Blue color, the only visual alteration apparent on the new model is in the headlights, a change so subtle that only the sharpest-eyed – and cognizant – observers would notice. Some may ask, why bother with just making small changes rather than a major reboot of the platform? The answer is simple, Yamaha has a motorcycle that works quite well in its market, one good enough to claim runner up for Best Sport-Touring Motorcycle of 2014, win our 2013 Sport-Touring Shootout, take second in our 2014 Sport-Touring Shootout against a touring bike in S-T clothes, costing $10,000 more, and notch another second in our second sport-touring shootout of 2014 while operating at a $4,000 MSRP deficit.

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

In fact, the case seems pretty clear that, while riders and motojournalists alike would love a major revamping of the FJR1300, the prudent approach in these still questionable economic times would be to address issues and polish up appearance. So, ahead of the inevitable cries in the comments section, a reminder: the FJR1300ES and FJR1300A were already pretty dang fun motorcycles. Shall we take a look at what Yamaha did to make them funnerer?

2016 Yamaha FJR1300ES

The 2016 Yamaha FJR1300ES.

Transmission, Transition

Perhaps the most frequent complaint lodged against the FJR has been its lack of a 6-speed transmission. In previous tests (here and here), both Bun-in-the-Oven Editor, Troy Siahaan, and I felt it was really a non-issue, with Troy saying about the 2013 1300A, “Despite lacking a sixth cog, even at highway speeds I never found myself searching for it.” I concurred in my review of the 2014 1300ES, wondering if ”the complaints [were] just gear envy.” Well, Yamaha felt the time had come in 2016 to do something about this longstanding issue. Since major transmission changes usually require new engine cases, we figured this would preclude the update until Yamaha decided to give the FJR a completely new engine. The engineers, however, thought otherwise.

2016 Yamaha FJR1300ES

The engine cases are the same as last year’s, but inside, a new 6-speed transmission plus an assist and slipper clutch have taken up residence.

The engineering magic was worked by separating the gear and the shift dog. By splitting the dog and the gear itself, enough space was saved to allow the sixth gear. “Typically, when you add a sixth gear, you need to widen the shafts, widen the cases, [creating] all new cases, a wider motor, a heavier engine,” explained Derek Brooks, Motorcycle Product Manager, Yamaha Motors. Since a wider, heavier engine would compromise ground clearance, the path forward was obvious.

2014 Heavyweight Sport-Touring Shootout – K1600GT Vs. Concours14 Vs. Trophy SE Vs. FJR1300ES

Given the opportunity to rearrange the transmission’s internals, the ratios of the other gears were adjusted, too. First and second gears were made slightly taller to allow them to be carried to higher speeds. With the ratio for third gear remaining the same, fourth gear was made a bit shorter to lessen the gap to third. Fifth gear, since it is no longer the top gear, was shortened even more to give a smaller gap between it and the newly shortened fourth gear. Essentially, from second to fifth gears, the spacing between the ratios was tightened. Finally, the new sixth gear is significantly taller than the old fifth gear ratio, yielding an approximately 10% reduction in engine speed which translates into roughly 500 rpm less at  highway cruising speeds.

2016 Yamaha FJR1300ES

Separating the dog from the gear freed up enough room to insert the extra gear into the same engine cases.

The practical result of the new ratios is the requirement of slightly more throttle to launch the FJR. Since torque is plentiful, this poses no real problem. The lessening of the gap between the gears translated into a smaller rpm drop with each shift for snappier acceleration. Finally, in sixth gear, the tach settles in at a relaxed 3,500 rpm at 70 mph – an ideal location for transport down the interstate. In twistier confines, the lower fifth gear offered a good compromise of responsiveness versus engine speed. Of course, when the pavement really begins to undulate, choosing lower gears makes for more aggressive acceleration out of corners and more easily controlled deceleration from engine braking.

2014 Yamaha FJR1300ES Review + Video

Here, too, Yamaha’s new transmission shone; the new helical-cut gears made for slicker shifting with more positive engagement. Additionally, another nice benefit was a decrease in driveline lash which links the rider’s wrist even more directly with the rear wheel. Finally, touring riders will appreciate that the transmission is now quieter than it was previously. All of these changes stem from the decision to add an additional cog to the gearbox, turning what may only be one line on a feature list into a big change in the riding experience – even for those of us who didn’t think the sixth gear was needed in the first place!

2016 Yamaha FJR1300A

The silver fork sliders show this to be the FJR1300A.

Assist And Slipper

2016 Yamaha FJR1300ES

The assist and slipper clutch engaged (top left) and released (top right). The forces created by acceleration force the plates together more tightly (middle). Reverse torque from abrupt deceleration causes the clutch plates to release, allowing beneficial slippage (bottom).

We’re still not done talking about the drivetrain. Yamaha also added an Assist and Slipper Clutch to the mix. The benefits of this clutch setup are that, in the assist portion, the clutch basket/pressure plate are shaped so that the drive forces actually clamp the clutch plates together, assuring a firm, slip-free delivery of power. The upshot for the rider – and the reason Yamaha used it – is that lighter clutch springs can be used, thus reducing lever effort for the rider. (You can see it on several current bikes, including the 2016 Triumph Street Twin and the 2015 Harley-Davidson CVO Street Glide, among others.) In the case of the FJR, the sturdy diaphragm spring was replaced by three coiled ones of a lower strength. Riding in traffic and maneuvering around parking lots is appreciably easier on the left hand – an improvement I didn’t feel the FJR needed but, again, was impressed with, nonetheless.

On the slip side of the equation, the same structure that locks the plates down on acceleration causes the plates to loosen on reverse-torque, such as a botched downshift. I can attest to the FJR’s ability to allow the clutch to slip instead of getting the rear wheel hopping from an instance where I approached a tight, second-gear corner only to realize at the turn-in point that the radius decreased sharply just ahead. In the rush to get the shift in at the same time I was initiating my turn, I delivered a pretty ham-fisted clutch release. Instead of a hop or a slide that could’ve caused the rear tire to step out, the rear contact patch betrayed my mismanagement with only the slightest chirp before rolling.

2016 Yamaha FJR1300AAll of these changes were made to an engine that already pumped out, when tested on the MotoGP Werks dyno in 2014, 88.7 lb-ft of torque and 127.2 hp. Doling out over 60 lb-ft at just 2,000 rpm, the FJR’s 1298cc has a reputation for smooth, lurch-free power delivery. The annual changes in EFI maps and the reduction of driveline lash have even minimized the occasional abruptness in first gear at low speeds. The shift-on-the-fly power modes soften the power delivery in Touring while still producing the same peak power as Sport mode. Also controlled from the grips are the windshield height, cruise control, heated grips, and the suspension settings (on the ES).

For 2016, the FJR1300A includes an updated suspension. Although it still foregoes the inverted fork of the ES, the A’s standard 48mm fork is now manufactured by KYB instead of Yamaha’s internal suspension manufacturer (YHSJ). The fully adjustable fork and the preload/rebound-adjustable shock both feature revised damping designed to give them a similar character to that of the ES. With the shock’s Hard/Soft hand lever in the hard position, the ride of the A is very similar to the ES when in firm mode. For attacking a serpentine road, the A’s suspension works as good as the ES’s, but I’d still like both to be a little firmer, allowing less front-end dive under braking. That said, the A’s suspension is a good compromise for a bike that will be ridden on both the interstate and winding roads. The ES allows a more comfortable freeway drone at the toggle of a thumb switch, though.

2016 Yamaha FJR1300ES

LEDs All Around

The other feature that the ES receives but the A does not is the new Cornering LED Headlight technology. Utilizing the same six-axis IMU (Inertial Measurement Unit) as the R1, the FJR1300ES tracks the lean angle and, in three stages from 7°–16° at speeds above 3 mpg, illuminates three LED just above the inside headlight. In practice, the cornering LEDs’ effectiveness is a mixed bag. When the bike is on the outside of the corner (as in a left turn or the furthest lane from the inside of a right turn in a multi-lane divided highway), the LEDs have a long enough throw to illuminate a usable portion of the road. In a righthand turn on a rural, two-lane road, the LEDs illuminate only what is immediately to the right of the bike. If that happens to be lightly colored bushes or a stone mountainside, the amount of light reflected back at the rider actually makes it harder to see ahead, by effectively increasing the lighting contrast between the foreground and the darker distance.

2016 Yamaha FJR1300ES Cornering LED

The startup test cycle shows how the LEDs light in series as the FJR leans over through the 7°-16° range.

To be fully effective, the LEDs need to be aimed more forward, but I suspect that they might then run afoul of headlight directional regulations and/or shine in the eyes of oncoming drivers. Where I found the cornering LEDs to be most effective was in 90° turns in suburban settings. As soon as the bike moved away from a stop and a turn was initiated, the first of the LEDs would come on and show the road surface in the direction the bike was turning while the headlights were still pointing straight ahead. This makes it possible to see and avoid objects in the road you’re turning on to.

2016 Yamaha FJR1300ES

The LED cornering lights provide extra illumination in specific situations.

At this point in their development, the cornering LED Headlights are about two-thirds effective to one-third hype. It will be interesting to see how Yamaha refines the idea further. (Also of great interest is what else the IMU will control in the future. Cornering ABS and Cornering TC? Right now, it is only feeding information to the cornering LED system.)

Yamaha’s switch to all-LED lighting for the FJR is for both stylistic and practical reasons. Having the brake light and turn signals powered by LEDs allows for styling choices that add a touch of modernity to an older design. Functionally, the headlights are a huge success. Since both the 1300A and 1300ES receive the LED headlights, buyers who want to save a little won’t miss out. As is often the case with LED lighting systems, the low-beam cut-off is quite pronounced with none of the spill usually associated with halogen lighting. So, the rider is quite aware of what is and is not in the headlight’s direct beam. The high beams are exceptionally crisp and bright, with a throw pattern that renders the cornering LEDs unnecessary.

2016 Yamaha FJR1300ES

The redesigned instrument cluster, with its large speedometer, is much easier to read.

Finally, the instrument cluster of both FJRs benefitted from a little renovation. The center LCD screen features the speedometer, fuel gauge, clock and ride mode prominently enough to be read at a glance. The analog tachometer has been updated for ease of use. Both the center and right LCD panels had their background coloring changed to gunmetal gray and utilize an anti-reflective coating, making them easier to read in direct sunlight.

2016 Yamaha FJR1300ES/A
+ Highs

  • 6-speed transmission and assist & slipper clutch!
  • Impressive LED headlights
  • Improved suspension on 1300A
– Sighs

  • Untapped potential in IMU
  • Cornering LEDs need fine tuning
  • No changes to ES suspension

If you’re wondering why the FJR’s brakes haven’t been discussed, the answer is simple. The brakes are completely unchanged for 2016. The lever powers three pairs of pistons on the two front calipers while the pedal powers the entire rear caliper and one pair of the front calipers’ pistons. The unified ABS balances the application of the front brake from the pedal, ramping it up as the pressure increases, while the rear caliper’s pressure is directly proportional to the pedal input. Of course, the front calipers have ABS, too.

2016 Yamaha FJR1300ES

The bags are standard equipment as is the height adjustable seat.

Wrapping It In A Package

The 2016 FJR1300ES carries a MSRP of $17,990 while the FJR1300A settles in at $16,390. What you get for the additional $1,600 is the electronically adjustable suspension and the Cornering LED headlights. Whether that price differential is worth it, only the buyer can decide. However, both 2016 FJRs gained the fantastic new 6-speed transmission and an assist-slipper clutch. Those alone should spark interest in potential FJR buyers who’ve been sitting on the fence. Add in LED lighting with spectacular headlights, and what may have initially looked like a slightly warmed-over 2015 FJR – when viewed solely through the spec sheet – becomes an attractive update to an established platform. The FJR proves to be a versatile and fun motorcycle most sport-touring riders would be quite happy to own.

2016 Yamaha FJR1300ES

2016 Yamaha FJR1300 Specifications
Yamaha FJR1300ES Yamaha FJR1300A
MSRP as tested $17,990 $16,390
Engine Capacity 1298cc
Engine Type Liquid-cooled DOHC inline Four; 4 valves/cyl.
Bore x Stroke 79.0 x 66.2mm
Compression Ratio 10.8:1
Fuel System Fuel injection, ride-by-wire
Transmission 6-speed
Final Drive Shaft
Front Suspension 43mm inverted fork; electronic adjustment; 5.3 in. travel 48mm fork; fully adjustable; 5.3 in. travel
Rear Suspension Single shock; electronically adjustable suspension: 4.9-in travel Single shock, adjustable spring preload and rebound damping; 4.9-in travel
Front Brakes Dual 320mm disc, 4-piston calipers; ABS
Rear Brakes 282mm disc, 2-piston caliper; ABS
Front Tire 120/70 ZR17
Rear Tire 180/55 ZR17
Seat Height 31.7 or 32.5 in
Wheelbase 60.8 in.
Rake/Trail 26.0 deg/4.9 in.
Curb Weight,
MO scales
644 lbs.
Fuel Capacity 6.6 gals

Free Insurance Quote

Enter your ZIP code below to get a free insurance quote.

Yamaha Dealer Price Quote

Get price quotes for Yamaha from local motorcycle dealers.

Yamaha Communities

  • Scott Silvers

    That upright shock on the side looks terrible…………

  • Scoop

    Yeah…I agree with Scott. It looks like they tried to take cues from the Panigale with the off center shock but that is a major fail. Not sure why a start up company would risk their entire future on something that is normally a non-issue…???

  • Russell Cook

    sigh, 292Kg dry? this bike is not a sports tourer any more….

    • Evans Brasfield

      You’ll need to tell the FJR that. It thinks it is and sure acts like it – that is, until things get out of shape.

    • mugwump

      I’d rather pay for some weight reduction rather than the 6th gear.

    • Jay Stevens

      Really closer to about 680 lbs.(about 310 kg) with a full fuel tank.

    • pastortommy

      Not sure if you’ve actually ridden it or not, but it is 100% a sports tourer. It doesn’t ride like it’s weight. Handles like a dream.

      • http://www.mymotorrad.com/ james lagnese

        It’s on the sport side of sport tourer in terms of riding position/ergos and features. I would put it in the class with the C14. On the touring side of ST is the RT and Trophy. The RT is actually lighter though. I like the idea of the FJR, but ergonomically, it just doesn’t work for me.

      • Russell Cook

        Previously I owned a GTR1400 (Concourse to you guys) That was 304KG. Fun on the open road, fun in sweepers. VERY hard work in the twisties and couldn’t stop and turn as quick as smaller bikes. It was a tourer, as is the FJR. They’re tourers. To me a sports tourer weighs around 210-240KG. The old Triumph Sprint 1050ST was about 210KG dry. That was a sports-tourer. IMHO

  • John B.

    Congratulations Troy! You’ll love being a Father!!!

    I have a Kawasaki Concours, which has a six-speed transmission, but I only use sixth gear on the interstate and when there’s light traffic. Otherwise, I ride in a lower gear to make sure I have easy access to acceleration. I agree the whole sixth gear issue with the Yamaha was overblown.

    • Jay Stevens

      ” I agree the whole sixth gear issue with the Yamaha was overblown.”

      As I have said elsewhere, only two groups of people really think the FJR needed a 6 speed: the magazine reviewers and those buy motorcycles by checklist.

      • John B.

        I rode my Concours on the interstate today and in 5th gear around 5500-6000 rpm (less than peak torque) I was going about 105 mph. Sixth gear, extends my range per tank on long trips and lowers engine vibration, which enables me ride longer. The FJR gas tank holds 6.6 gallons so 6th gear or not it should have plenty of range.

  • Jamo11

    1) Self cancelling indicators? 2) Heated Grips? 3) Cruise Control?

    • Evans Brasfield

      Yes x 3!

      The grips have a cool feature. You can adjust the heat level of the three settings. So, if you live in a cold environment setting three can be super hot, or if you live in a warmer environment, setting three could be set at a more reasonable temperature.

      • Jay Stevens

        I live in NE Texas. I use the heated grips so seldomly, I keep forgetting I have them.

    • Jay Stevens

      Does it have self canceling turn signals?

    • pastortommy

      It doesn’t have the self cancelling indicators, but does have heated grips and cruise control. Love both of those features on my 2015 model.

  • Mark

    I sat on last year’s model at a show. I couldn’t believe the width of the saddle, it really splayed my legs so much, I had trouble get my feet down. More an issue due to the weight of the bike. Other than that it was a beauty. Wish they could slim that midsection. Probably part of the fuel tank under there.

    • Jay Stevens

      Not really. What is really under there is frame and engine.

    • pastortommy

      I have a 2015 FJR1300ES. The ONE thing I do not like about my bike is just what you named – that wide ass seat! I’m 5’9″ and cannot flat foot. I could back up my 900+lb. Kawasaki Voyager easier than this one and that one had 300 lbs on this one! I had my seat customized, but it didn’t help at all. It has everything to do with the width. I live with it, however, as the rest of the bike is a dream.

      • Mark

        That’s what went through my mind sitting on the bike. How would I back up this bike fully fueled and loaded. The seat seems low enough in height. Sorry to hear that your custom version didn’t alleviate the problem but glad to hear that the bike is a dream. I’m looking at this model closely and it kills me that I have this nagging worry about it.

  • http://www.mymotorrad.com/ james lagnese

    Looks like AZ

  • JMDonald

    This is a nice bike. Yamaha has enhanced it in just the right spots. It’s a little heavy but I doubt it’s that noticeable on the move. I like a slipper clutch. It takes the edge off wheel hop for those slightly agressively corners. All this and under 20k.

  • Craig Hoffman

    Really cool that aside from adding a 6th gear, Yamaha also improved the transmission and added the slipper clutch. I was very impressed by the broad and smooth power a friend’s FJR had when I rode it. The new trans sounds like it makes for a perfect heavy sport touring powerplant.

    The bike is a big beast, but it does handle lightly when rolling. It was way to easy to cruise at go to jail speeds on it. I could see owning one :)

  • Daniel J. Roe

    I went to the BMW dealer last month on my 2014 Triumph Thruxton, with the title in my pocket and ready to trade it in on a 2016 R1200RT. I had done my homework; I had read all the reviews and watched all the videos and was certain, this was what I wanted. I test rode the BMW and then I immediately test rode a used 2015 FJR. All of a sudden, I discovered I didn’t want the BMW anymore. The motor on the German bike wasn’t nearly as smooth and the transmission was crashing about. Yeah, it had more bells and whistles and after all, it was a BMW. But it wasn’t as much fun to ride. So, I went out and found the only 2016 FJR ES for sale in Texas (about 250 miles away) and bought it. I’ve only got about 1200 miles on it so far, but I love it. And I haven’t thought much about the BMW since.

    • http://www.mymotorrad.com/ james lagnese

      If it fits you, great. The ergos on the FJR would never work for me. I ride a 2009 RT now and I had to put peg lowering kit and bar risers on it. If I was going to get replacement bike, I’d look for a used LC RT, Trophy or go in a different direction and get an adventure bike. A second bike to the stable would be a barcalounger that I could ride two up on.