2016 Honda VFR1200X

Editor Score: 84.25%
Engine 18.0/20
Suspension/Handling 12.0/15
Transmission/Clutch 8.25/10
Brakes 8.75/10
Instruments/Controls4.5/5
Ergonomics/Comfort 8.75/10
Appearance/Quality 8.0/10
Desirability 8.0/10
Value 8.0/10
Overall Score84.25/100

What the hell is this thing anyway? We were all so caffeinated about the new Africa Twin that when Honda offered up the new VFR1200X for us to ride around upon, I had almost forgotten about it. Known as the Crosstourer since 2012 across the pond, here it is now in the U.S., available in six-speed manual form like our tester, or with Honda’s excellent DCT automatic transmission for only $400 more ($15,999).

2016 Honda VFR1200X Announced for US

On paper, it all looks pretty cool. In person, it looks rather large. Honda says this is its “range-topping Adventure Touring bike,” unique in the class by having a V-Four engine. The seat’s 33.5 inches off the deck, meaning my 30-inch legs can just touch toes on both sides, and Honda’s claimed curb weight of 608 pounds is backed up by the official MO scales, which say 612 with a full complement of fluids including 5.68 gallons of fuel. (Honda says the DCT version is 23 pounds heavier than our bike.)

052016-Honda-VFR1200X-5726

To put that in perspective, the heaviest bike in our Epic Sport Adventure comparo last year was the Triumph Explorer XC ABS, which weighed 6 pounds less than the Honda. The one that won it, the BMW S1000XR, weighed 550 with bags attached.

The way Honda wants to spin it, which makes perfect sense, is that the X is mostly for paved-road riding but with the ability to traverse the occasional graded dirt and/or gravel road. It’s your basic big sport-tourer, almost, in an expensive off-road suit featuring niceties like 19- and 17-inch tubeless wire-spoke wheels. Guess we’ll be forced to ride the thing up into the Los Padres National Forest on a beautiful Saturday in mid-May then. Dang.

Photo by Jim Hatch.

Photo by Jim Hatch.

Just as we discovered in the aforementioned Epic Sport Adventure comparison, these bikes work better than you might expect on dirt roads, a theme that the new X carries on quite well. The transition from 150-horsepower sport-tourer to 108-hp Adventure Tourer is due mostly to different camshaft specs and ECU settings for the 1237cc Unicam V-Four, but also to exhaust header diameters shrinking from 38mm all the way down to 28mm. The X uses the same 44mm throttle bodies and 12:1 compression ratio of the F. The overall effect is that the X just doesn’t feel as free-revving as the F, but it does run more smoothly and happily down low.

This one’s ride-by-wire (the VFR1200F was Honda’s first r-b-w bike), and Honda’s tuned the X so that you get power the instant you crack the throttle. Response is immediate and a bit abrupt; new Euro 4 emissions conformity probably doesn’t help. It feels like “A” mode on bikes that offer different ride modes, but on the X there’s no B or C. I actually got used to the immediate power delivery after riding the bike a while, but it was a trait Duke and Troy both mentioned first after riding the X for the first time.

You don’t get 150 hp up top on the X (shown in red), but you do get an engine that’s happy to bumble along at 2000 rpm – which is more important off the pavement. The VFR1200F (in blue) revved beyond 10,500 rpm; the X is done at 9200. (Dyno runs courtesy of JETT Tuning, Camarillo, CA.)

You don’t get 150 hp up top on the X (shown in red) like the VFR1200F has, but you do get an engine that’s happy to bumble along at 2000 rpm – which is more important off the pavement. The F (in blue) revved beyond 10,500 rpm; the X is done at 9200. (Dyno runs courtesy of JETT Tuning, Camarillo, CA.)

The tuning changes are all for the good if you’re riding down rutted dirt backroads. It’s easy to adjust the traction control with a button on the left fairing panel; I had it on full, 3 of 3, and thus set it’s a doddle to point the Honda’s beak up slightly steep loose dirt hills and hang on while the X clambers confidently up on its Pirelli Scorpion Trail tires (intended for dual-purpose motorcycles used mainly on road, says Pirelli).

You know the TC is helping you out because it activates a yellow light on the dash, which is constantly flashing while you hold the rpm at a steady 3000-4000 rpm or so in second gear. Grab more throttle, and the light flashes more but the rear tire never steps out of line as the bike maintains momentum. Which allows the rider to concentrate on steering his way between sharp rocks and gullies and things. Which makes this kind of riding waaay safer for people like me who didn’t grow up on dirt bikes.

Photo by Jim Hatch.

Photo by Jim Hatch.

In fact the more you ride the Honda, the greater your confidence grows and the easier it is to forget it weighs 612 pounds. Don’t. Actually it all depends on the size and strength of the rider; if you’re a big healthy mesomorph confident in your ability to pick the thing up should it fall over, have at it and more power to you. It does come with cheap plastic handguards that may keep your levers from breaking. For me, with my short legs, the hardest part about riding this thing down gnarly dirt roads is turning around; its 62.8-inch wheelbase is two inches longer than the VFR1200F (and longer than any of the bikes in our recent 9-Way as well). I’m pretty certain it’s the most pounds of adventure bike per dollar you can buy.

Front suspension travel is 6.5 inches, and 5.7 in at the rear – it feels a bit harsh off-road, biased as it is more toward road use, where you don’t encounter many sharp rocks and tree roots poking up unless you’re in certain parts of L.A. But at my speed and weight and considering all the possible scenarios this motorcycle has been designed to deal with, no complaints. You’re not getting the pushbutton magic carpet electronic ride provided by the Ducati Multistrada or KTM Super Adventure – but then you’re not getting the complexity either or spending over $20K.

The Honda gives you a knob to twist to adjust rear preload, and rebound damping adjusters at both ends; I didn’t touch either one. If you’re a big guy traveling with a passenger and opt for the nice aluminum optional bags, it’ll be good to be able to crank up the preload and rebound. (Honda’s aluminum panniers will set you back $1399.95; the matching top case is $659.95.)

The X has some cool components, including a one-sided swingarm out back with the shaft drive passing through it, and cool wire-spoke wheels that don’t need tubes.

The X has some cool components, including a one-sided swingarm out back with the shaft drive passing through it, and cool wire-spoke wheels that don’t need tubes.

Thanks to the TC system, climbing steepish hills is electronics-applied-to-motorcycling at its finest. Coming back down hills with Honda’s Combined ABS system is not quite as confidence inspiring since you can’t turn the ABS off or adjust it. The smart system does let you lock up the rear a bit more than the front. Its latest C-ABS, Honda says, “reduces the hydraulic pressure being applied to the relevant brake and distributes the force optimally between both wheels.” That’s kind of how it feels; when the front’s skittering, the rear’s retarding and vice versa.

Your latest Combined ABS uses a pair of three-piston calipers up front, all on the same side of each caliper. Not too grabby in the dirt, plenty powerful on the pavement and great feel everywhere. No stinking tubes inside the Pirelli Scorpion Trails, thank God.

Your latest Combined ABS uses a pair of three-piston calipers up front, all on the same side of each caliper. Not too grabby in the dirt, plenty powerful on the pavement and great feel everywhere.

Engine braking from the big motor is enough to keep your downhill speed under control on most reasonable terrain, but you don’t have to be going very fast over a bunch of rocky bumps to overwhelm the brakes’ brain and just keep rolling when you’re asking to slow down. You’re on your own if you start down a steep hill of loose shale… write and let us know how that turns out.

The TC button’s down there on the left fairing panel and easy to adjust on the move; the yellow light on the dash sputters when it’s working. The handlebar is aluminum and in a good place for sitting down or standing up if you’re 5-foot-’8. Brake and clutch levers are adjustable. Photo by John Burns.

The TC button’s down there on the left fairing panel and easy to adjust on the move; the yellow light on the dash sputters when it’s working. The handlebar is aluminum and in a good place for sitting down or standing up if you’re 5-foot-8. Brake and clutch levers are adjustable. Photo by John Burns.

Anyway, we’re back to if that’s the kind of riding you want to do, you need the Africa Twin, which is almost exactly 100 pounds lighter than the VFR1200X and much more biased toward off-road use. Like the old dancing bear line, it’s amazing that the VFR goes off-road at all, much less as well as it does. Like my friend Jim said from the seat of his KTM 500 EXC, “When are they gonna put dual-sport tires on a Hayabusa and call that an Adventure bike?”

You have to assume the reason the VFR1200X came to be was that the success of the F (lack of) caused Honda to have a lot of those expensive engines lying around the factory. An Adventure Bike version made perfect sense, apparently, since that’s what people are buying lately.

Photo by Evan Brasfield.

Photo by Evans Brasfield.

My 160-mile ride up the freeway Saturday morning en route to our off-road paradise just beyond Neverland was a lane-splitting bummer part of the way due to lane closures, cars running into one another, and a systemic lack of family planning. My 7am Sunday morning blast back down the coast, though, was a completely different matter. I didn’t bother to air the tires back up from the 28 or so psi I’d dropped them to for the dirt ride, my speed picked up considerably on the empty 101 south, and this is the kind of adventure the X is really made for.

A clever manual windshield adjuster lets you crank it up and down with your left hand on the fly; it blows a gaping hole in the wind: 5000 rpm equals 90 mph according to the bar tachometer, which nicely coincides with the engine’s 80 lb-ft torque peak. It’s no 150-horsepower Multistrada or BMW S1000XR, but the Honda has a soothing, syncopated rhythm to its V-Four that those bikes don’t, and not nearly as much buzz in its aluminum handlebar as the BMW.

If you whack the throttle open when nobody’s looking and the 101 is empty, the Honda starts running out of steam past 120 mph or so (where the BMW and Multi would continue rocketing forward), but how fast do you need to go in the U.S. anyway? The X’s happiest place is right about 80, where its suspension and cush seat give it a fluid, supple ride (especially with 28 psi in the tires) – and its long wheelbase and conservative steering numbers give it more stability than most Amtrak trains. Your magnetic tankbag will stick to its tank, and you can charge your stuff up from the 12V outlet up there. Heated grips are another option, $199.95. Cruise control is not.

Everything you need to know is here, including a clock and gear-position indicator. The fuel gauge is always flashing from about 140 miles on. When I pushed it to 183 miles and the computer was saying 21 miles to empty, the supposed 5.68-gallon tank only took 4.8 gallons. At an average 37 mpg, 200 miles on a tank should be doable and then some.

Everything you need to know is here, including a clock and gear-position indicator. The fuel gauge is always flashing from about 140 miles on. When I pushed it to 183 miles and the computer was saying 21 miles to empty, the supposed 5.68-gallon tank only took 4.8 gallons. At an average 37 mpg, 200 miles on a tank should be doable and then some.

It’s not even so much having to hold the throttle on for a couple of hours, thanks to the VFR’s excellent handlebar bend and my trusty Crampbuster, but CC is nice to have so you don’t have to constantly monitor your speed instead of taking in the scenery. On big powerful bikes like these, it’s all too easy to let the velocity creep up until the authority figure with the flashing lights appears. Traffic was strangely light on my Sunday morning return leg, so I blame the lack of CC for allowing me to make the final 40 miles from LAX to my house in 27 minutes. The X was yawning when I parked it and my body felt as nice as if we’d been upon a Gold Wing. Not bad for a big dirt bike.

It’s swell that the Dual Clutch version of the bike is only $400 more, and comes with what Honda calls a third-generation DCT with enhancements including the ability to detect uphill and downhill slopes and adapt its shift-pattern schedule accordingly; I would’ve really liked to try it on those dirt roads.

I need a drink and a body transplant. Photo by Jim Hatch.

I need a drink and a body transplant. Photo by Jim Hatch.

For $16k, you could forgive the lack of cruise control and electronic suspension. For me personally as a 5-foot-8/160-pound runt, I can’t forgive the lack of lightness. It’s good enough on dirt roads that I know I’d grow overconfident in the outback and insert myself eventually into a place from which I might not be able to re-emerge, particularly should the X fall on top of me. If I was 6-foot-4 and full of muscle with a frequent passenger, on the other hand, the X would be a definite contender.
At the end of the day, the X feels a lot like the VFR1200F that preceded it: an extremely nice motorcycle with a unique, soulful V-Four that falls slightly outside the established class parameters. The five or six people who bought VFR-Fs seem to really love them, and they are not wrong. The X is like that, and a more practical, way gruntier motorcycle for everyday use, too.

2016 Honda VFR1200X
+ Highs

  • Great torquey V-Four, solid-rock build quality
  • Excellent ergonomics and cockpit (once you’re up there)
  • Three-level traction control is awesome on dirt roads
– Sighs

  • Too much of a good thing, avoirdupoisly speaking
  • How do you build a ride-by-wire touring bike in 2016 without cruise control?
  • Throttle response is jumpy until you adjust to it; maybe some riders never will?

.

2016 Honda VFR1200X Specifications
Engine Type 1237cc liquid-cooled 4-stroke Unicam 16-valve 76° V4
Bore And Stroke 81 x 60
Induction PGM-FI electronic fuel injection
Ignition Electric
Compression Ratio 12:1
Transmission 6-speed
Final Drive Enclosed Shaft
Front Suspension 43mm inverted telescopic forks with hydraulic damping, preload and rebound damping adjustment
Rear Suspension Pro-Link with gas-charged damper, preload and stepless rebound damping adjustment
Front Brake Dual 310mm discs, Combined ABS
Rear Brake Single 276mm disc, Combined ABS
Front Tire 110/80-R19
Rear Tire 150/70-R17
MO wet weight 612 lbs.
Rake 28.0°
Trail 107mm
Wheelbase 62.8 inches
Seat Height 33.5 inches
Fuel Capacity 5.68 gallons
MO fuel economy 37 mpg
Available Colors Pearl Black
Emissions Meets current California Air Resources Board (CARB) and EPA standards.
One Year Transferable, unlimited-mileage limited warranty; extended coverage available with a Honda Protection Plan.

Free Insurance Quote

Enter your ZIP code below to get a free insurance quote.

Honda Dealer Price Quote

Get price quotes for Honda from local motorcycle dealers.

Honda Communities

  • http://www.hatchillustrations.com Jim Hatch

    Was a fun time Johnny. Bring a real dirt bike up and I will show you the rest of the mountain.

    • john burns

      You are my hero Jimmy. Pull some strings and get me Africa Twin dammit.

  • Craig Hoffman

    The original VFR has such a beautiful dyno chart – a friend who has one with the usual external add ons (power commander, exhaust) reports even more torque and of course some of the most glorious sound available in a motorcycle. Seems a shame to strangle that awesome motor this badly. There is a baritone voiced power laden beast within every X, just crying to get out…

    I despise ass gasket sanitized for our protection engine tuning. Come on Honda…

    • john burns

      I sorta thought that when I looked at the dyno chart, o no another CTX1300. Then i rode it around for a few days… the power and the growl have been shoved down where you use them, I didn’t miss the top end at all.

      • Craig Hoffman

        I will defer to the man who has actually ridden the motorcycle 😉

        Never had an appreciation for the VFR12 until riding my friend’s bike. It has a really comfy custom seat on it too, good for all day riding. It is an amazing and fun machine for effortlessly inhaling scenery. The Honda V4 really is a cool motor, love the sounds it makes, and in this bike’s case, it’s effortless hand of God power delivery.

        He is also quite a photographer :)

        • Jason Newman

          Craig Hoffman, what kind of pipe is on your friend’s VFR? I also have the 1200F, and I’d like to replace the stock pipe. This is the first aftermarket pipe that seems to fit the profile of the bike well.

          • Craig Hoffman

            He has a DAM pipe on it. Detail photo attached, the bike has a beautiful full sound, but not obnoxiously loud.

          • Jason Newman

            Honda UK has an Akrapovic slip-on right on the accessories page for the VFR1200. Wondering which exhaust unit is made better? Would the fact that Honda lists the Akrapovic mean that the Ak is more purposely engineered for the VFR?

      • Tim Blanch

        having owned an st1300 and ridden it for 100,000 miles, i think i can speak to the powerband concern. my number one wish for my st1300 was for more low end torque. i would have gladly traded some top end for that. the v4 is actually nicer in texture and feel at lower rpm. gets buzzy with revs, as do most bikes. tim

  • gunny 2shoes

    i gorged on everything online about this thing since it came out; there’s lots. Your’s is the best straight forward down to earth assessment. Thank you.

  • AZgman

    meh… who would pick this bike over the competition?

  • JMDonald

    Specs schmecs. I was always a Honda guy until 2004 when I bought my first BMW. Like a good tire review I have become addicted to reading motorcycle specs. Almost always when compared to other bikes in their class the Hondas are heavier. It may not be that big a deal but I personally have a hard time getting by that fact. I have not ridden a majority of the machines reviewed like most average citizens. The fit and finish of Hondas are stellar in my opinion. 600 lbs. or so is my limit for a street bike. I would not want to ride anything that heavy off a paved road. Personal preference and skill sets are different for everyone. I get it. Colin Chapman’s philosophy still rings true. Performance through light weight. It can’t be that hard for Honda to put their bikes on a diet could it?

  • Randy Darino

    another honda that will not sell.If you want one wait till the end of the year and get a HUGE discount.Maybe the VFR800X would have been better to import.Im still waiting for the CB1300 super Bol’D”Or.

    • halfkidding

      I’m still waiting for the new CX650 Turbo. I’m not kidding.

  • halfkidding

    One evening recently I considered buying a used VFR1200F. If you can find them they are a hell of a lot of machine for the money. However that tiny gas tank nixed the idea as it probably did for most all potential buyers. Which doesn’t have much to do with this bike except for Honda making another stupid error. They improved the gas tank capacity but then killed the engine. I mean really, why have that ultra sophisticated engine deliver little over 100Hp to the rear wheel? It’s nuts.

    It seems that somehow Honda’s product planning for the US is fixated on selling Americans the bikes that Honda thinks they need, not what what Americans want. I get that in some ways they are right but doesn’t somebody want to actually sell a lot of bikes and make money?

    • john burns

      One of my fave moto memories involves pulling to the front of a few trucks waiting at a red light in the middle of the outback, and just pinning the throttle on a DCT model. Five perfect shifts and a bit over the speed limit, what an amazing vehicle… with a new seat and maybe some Heli bars I would love to own one. Not so much if you want to go on dirt roads tho…

  • Andy C

    Why is it (like the latest F) only available in black? And speaking of their DCT bikes, when will they release the new (improved-looking) 2016 NC700X here?

    • aaMOron

      It’s out. Have seen one with my own eyes.

  • RandleMcMurphy

    These 1200 or so cc bikes are just too big for me to enjoy. Dont get me wrong here. If i were 6’4″ and 220 I’m sure it’d be different. However, despite the marketing, I’d be nervous on some of the backroads here in the Northeast. Nicely groomed gravel roads can be fine for awhile and then, just like that, you’re in deep doo doo. Especially at this time. Roads that were just fine last summer are now washed out and total nightmare material.

    The KLR 650 has so much going for it. There’s a market for that type of bike. Nothing fancy, just the things you need and nothing you dont.

    Seems BMW and now Honda, among others, are missing what I see as a somewhat neglected niche. Use the KLR as an outline and take it further. Not bigger mind you but, a little more HP. More thump. Great suspension. In fact, morph a KLR, Rokon and KTM Adventure into a 420 lb 800 thumper. Air cooled. 6 gallon plus gas tank. Adjustable seat height from 30″ to 34″. High intensity frame mounted LED lights for true night time riding. Nice lightweight gear rack for rear. Make the seat quickly interchangeable for true solo or 2 up. Have that rear rack able to extend and fold out accordingly for solo. Sure, have a couple of USB ports but, thats it.

    I just feel that true niche bike isn’t made yet. The KLR and Rokons continue to sell. Make a bike that incorporates the best of each? Keep it a single banger but one that all KLR riders secretly desire? Keep it simple? Why doesn’t Honda just make tjis bike a street bike? Don’t market it as “off road capable” when really, its just not. Not for me anyways. Trying to cross a 3′ wide shallow creek and dropping it? Ugh. That’d be me. Somehow. Someway. I’d rather not thank you.

    • Craig Hoffman

      Would love to see a 450cc version of Yamaha’s excellent WR250R. That would be cool for truly 50/50 dual sport use.

      Or for a more street capable ride, a modernized KLR with inverted forks with actual cartridges in them, and a decent shock. I could continue to be a heavyish pig, as the weight actually helps on the street. People love their KLRs for good reason, but everything can be improved upon. Would like to see a 500cc KLR with a far lighter and more efficient engine design.

      Best dual sport bike I ever had was an ’83 Honda XL600 with XR500 suspension bolted onto it. It weighed around 320 pounds, made around 35 horsepower and it did it all. 70 on the freeway and wheelies through the water crossings off road. What a fun bike that was.

    • Born to Ride

      Just waiting for KTM to plant their new multiple balancer 690 single in a factory built adventure bike. That should tick all your boxes. 65-70hp, under 400lbs, luggage options, and serious offroad cred. Hopefully they’ll see the light.

      • Robs

        Ding! Ding! Ding!

      • Gabriel Owens

        They are working on a 800cc twin to battle triumph.

  • Gary

    Stupid to not have cruise control.

  • Jeff Keene

    You can’t come to an article on a heavy “adventure bike” without reading a comments section full of cynics complaining about weight and dirt credibility. Criticizing a motorcycle that was not intended to do dirt for not being good at dirt seems to be, in my mind, a little myopic of perception. I would agree that the industry needs to stop advertising them as dual sports, to whatever extent that they still do, but stubbornly criticizing their lack of ability to do dirt is to overlook the many positives of this motorcycle class.

    I own a Versys 1000, a direct competitor to this bike. Motorcycles in this “tarmac orientated adventure bike” class really need to be thought of as cruisers with different ergonomics and modern technology. Burns asserts that these bikes are better on a dirt road than one might expect. Burns is a much more accomplished and gutsy motorcyclist than myself. I’ve done 16,500 miles on my Versys since Feb. 2015, all on tarmac, with many of those miles during a mild Colorado winter. I don’t do anything with it that I wouldn’t do with a cruiser, it just does those things better, in my opinion. The shaft drive on this Honda makes it worth considering if I ever go looking for an upgrade. If anything I would like it to be even more tarmac orientated with a 17 inch front wheel and the torque moved back up to the top.

    The term “adventure bike”, in my opinion, is a bullshit term and it is about time the industry scrapped it.

    • Uncommon Sense

      These bikes are the motorcycle equivalent of SUVs. A practical vehicle based an off road design that people like aesthetically, but in no way intended to truly be an off road car / motorcycle.

      I drive an SUV because I like the size, visibility and practical nature of the car. It handles the horribly potholed Chicago streets and snow storms well. My SUV was not bought with the intent to go off road.

      I’m in the market for a sport tourer. I like the upright seating, touring amenities like storage, cruise control, etc and the ability to eat miles comfortably as well as handle the twisties.

      Motorcycles are too job specific for many people like me. I need a do it all kind of bike and sport tourers like this fit the bill. I could careless about actually going off road. If I were truly buying a bike to take off road, it would be a small lightweight bike that could be easily dropped, repaired, and I wouldn’t care if it got dirty, scratched, dented, etc.

    • Gabriel Owens

      But with cruise control, doesn’t the overlooked Yamaha Super Tenere seem like such a better option at similar price?

  • Scott Silvers

    This review is one of the most well written and sardonically entertaining pieces I’ve read on a long time……….”it’s the most pounds of adventure bike per dollar you can buy” & “systemic lack of family planning”, made me laugh

    • Gabriel Owens

      Most of Burns articles are hilarious.

  • TheMarvelous1310

    Wait, people didn’t buy the VFR1200F? Let me just go check my account…

  • Rick Vera

    Sounds interesting though I’m a bit dismayed that you’ve got to lug around a heavy 1.2 L V4 engine that’s only making 108 horsepower. I’d be curious to see how it stacks up to the sportier adventure-tourers, like the S1000XR and the yet-to-go-head-to-head MV Agusta Veloce Turismo 800.

  • Patriot159

    Any bike can be ridden on grades dirt roads, doesn’t make ’em an ADV bike. This thing falls into the category of ‘ADV Styled Sport Touring’ bike. I’d prefer an ADV bike that acts like one, like the Africa Twin.

    • Gabriel Owens

      Which is why they made the Africa twin.

  • Lee Taplinger

    I feel like I’m missing something here. Everyone knows that Harleys are heavy pigs, the company itself brags about its “Milwaukee Iron,” the Sportster pushrod engine is aluminum but everything else on the bike as heavy as it can be, from the cast wheels, the 60-year-old design steel frame, the ancient 2 shock absorber rear suspension, the all-metal instruments and switch gear, the thick steel front and rear fenders and foot peg brackets and side covers, yet a 1200 Sportster weighs less than this state-of-the-art Honda?

    • Kevin Duke

      Hey, the Sportster’s frame is only 12 years old!

      • Lee Taplinger

        Modified 12 years ago to add rubber engine mounts, but you’re right. I still say it’s antique technology, not that I’m complaining, I love my Roadster!