Hoo's Hoo on Honda

John P Burns
by John P Burns

Torrance, CA - American Honda is pleased to announce its Road Racing Teamsfor 2003. After a great 2002 season that saw Honda capture the AMASuperbike title and tie for the points lead in Formula Xtreme, it's hard toimagine that the Red Riders could get any better. But they have."2003 is shaping up nicely," said American Honda's Chuck Miller, Manager,Motorcycle Sports. "Kurtis is healthy and ready to go, Miguel is excitedabout the new 600 and we're very pleased to have Ben Bostrom back.Internally we've added some new team members and everyone is excited aboutthe new season."

For AMA Superbike racing, Honda will retain the services of...

...Miguel Duhamel, the winningest rider in AMA history. Kurtis Roberts returns as well in2003, and he's fast, hungry and healthy. Competition beware. New to theteam is former Honda Superbike Champ, Ben Bostrom. Fresh back from Europewhere he was a top contender on the World Superbike circuit, Ben looksforward to returning to the team that helped him win a Superbikechampionship in 1998. All three riders will compete on Honda's mighty RC51,the machine that won both the 2002 AMA Superbike title, as well as the 2002World Superbike Championship.

The AMA 600 Supersport class better watch out. Miguel Duhamel is back onthe all-new CBR600RR with technology inherited directly from the awesomeMotoGP Championship winning RC211V. Honda supported Erion Racing will fielda team of two riders competing in both Formula Xtreme and 600 Supersport.

Roger Hayden returns and is looking stronger than ever. Returning to theErion team is Jake Zemke. After finishing the Formula Xtreme season in 2002tied for first in the points standings, Jake is looking forward to gettingback to his winning ways in 2003. Alex Gobert joins Erion Racing for the2003 season, concentrating exclusively on 600 Supersport competition.

The number of support teams riding Hondas keeps growing. Back this year isthe Bruce Transportation team contesting both the Formula Xtreme and 600Supersport series with rider Marty Craggill. Two new Honda support teamswill compete for AMA National titles this year as well, including Annandale

Racing with riders Ty Howard and Craig Connell, and No Limit Motorsportswith Jason Curtis and former Superbike Champion Doug Chandler. Both teamswill be using the new CBR600RR and CBR954RR to compete in the AMA 600Supersport and Formula Xtreme series.

Get Motorcycle.com in your Inbox
John P Burns
John P Burns

More by John P Burns

Join the conversation