Carmichael Clinches SX Title

Brent Avis
by Brent Avis
Honda Racing's Ricky Carmichael won Round 15 of the AMA / EA SportsSupercross series, clinching the coveted 2002 250cc Supercross title.

Carmichael rocketed out of the gate at the start and after a few lapsbehind David Vuillemin, RC made his move into the lead and never lookedback. The win gave RC his tenth victory of the season.

Of other intestest in another Honda title in teh 125 West series that came courtesy of Travis Preston on his CR125.

"My bike was awesome," said a happy Carmichael. "I never felt like Iwas pushing it out there, and when Vuillemin started closing a bit, Ijust put the hammer down..."

Carmichael gave Honda it's first 250cc SX Championship since 1996 when ayoung Jeremy McGrath won his fourth consecutive 250cc SX title with TeamHonda.

250 RESULTS:1. Ricky Carmichael (Hon);2. David Vuillemin (Yam);3. Sebastien Tortelli (Hon);4. Ernesto Fonseca (Hon);5. Jeremy McGrath (Yam);6. Ezra Lusk (Kaw);7. Nathan Ramsey (Hon);8. Stephane Roncada (Kaw);9. Jean-Sebastien Roy (Hon);10. Nicholas Wey (Yam).250 POINTS:1. Ricky Carmichael (331/10 wins);2. David Vuillemin (301/3 wins);3. Jeremy McGrath (234);4. Ezra Lusk (223);5. Stephane Roncada (218);6. Nathan Ramsey (211/1 win);7. Ernesto Fonseca (177);8. Nicholas Wey (160);9. Heath Voss (148);10. Damon Huffman (142).125 WEST COAST RESULTS:1. James Stewart (Kaw);2. Travis Preston (Hon);3. Danny Smith (Suz);4. David Pingree (KTM);5. Matt Walker (Kaw);6. Ivan Tedesco (Hon);7. Chris Gosselaar (Hon);8. Eric Sorby (Kaw);9. Travis Elliott (Hon);10. Keith R. Johnson (Yam).125 WEST FINAL POINTS:1. Travis Preston (152/2 wins);2. James Stewart Jr. (145/3 wins);3. Ivan Tedesco (130);4. Chris Gosselaar (130);5. Travis Elliott (100);6. David Pingree (98/1 win);7. Keith Johnson (91);8. Brock Sellards (91/1 win);9. Craig Decker (76);10. Matt Walker (75/1 win).
Get in your Inbox
Brent Avis
Brent Avis

More by Brent Avis

Join the conversation