AMA Superbike: 2010 Daytona Results Staff
by Staff
We’re committed to finding, researching, and recommending the best products. We earn commissions from purchases you make using links in our articles. Learn more here

AMA Superbike: 2010 Daytona results

Zemke sweeps for Jordan Suzuki
By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Mar. 09, 2010
Mat Mladin may have retired but Suzuki continues to dominate AMA Superbike as the 2010 season kicked off in Daytona Beach. With Honda and Kawasaki pulling their factory teams out, Gixxers made up 15 of the 23 entries in the Daytona round of the American Superbike Championship.

For a change, it wasnt Mladins former team Rockstar Makita Suzuki that came out on top but the National Guard Jordan Suzuki team with Jake Zemke sweeping both races in the 2010 AMA American Superbike season opener.

Jordan Suzukis Aaron Yates qualified on the pole but dropped back to fourth at the start of Race One as Rockstar Makita Suzukis Blake Young took the early lead with teammate Tommy Hayden on his tail. Not far behind were Yates, Zemke and Foremost Ducati s Larry Pegram.

Zemke came out ahead on lap seven with the others close behind him. Pegram and Hayden pushed past Zemke on lap 11 of 15. A couple of laps later, the top five riders reshuffled with Hayden taking the lead. On the final lap, Zemke dove into the lead on the first turn and managed to hold off the others to win by 0.238 seconds. Hayden finished second with Pegram claiming the final podium position. The top five riders were separated by only 0.307 seconds.

ama superbike 2010 daytona results, Jake Zemke won both races to sweep the Daytona round of the AMA American Superbike Championship for the Michael Jordan owned National Guard Suzuki team
Jake Zemke won both races to sweep the Daytona round of the AMA American Superbike Championship for the Michael Jordan-owned National Guard Suzuki team.

Race Two began in a similar fashion with the same five front-runners moving to the front with Hayden in the lead. The lead pack was soon joined by the Graves Yamaha s Josh Hayes and Pat Clark Motorsport Yamahas Ben Bostrom.

Young was one of the first to blink, running wide on the first turn on lap nine. A couple of laps later, Hayden made a similar mistake as the Jordan Suzuki pair of Zemke and Yates moved to the front. Hayden was able to recover and was able to regain the lead on lap 13. Hayden led Zemke on the final stretch but Zemke had enough left to pass Hayden at the line to win by 0.009 seconds. Bostrom finished 0.081 seconds behind for third, ahead of Yates and Pegram.

Related Reading
2010 Daytona Bike Week Report

Would you like us to deliver Articles in your mail box once a week? Simply submit your e-mail address below !Get in your Inbox Staff Staff

More by Staff

Join the conversation