AMA Dirt Track Grand Championship Crowns National Champions

Press Release
by Press Release

AMA Dirt Track Grand Championship crowned 12 riders National Champions this week in Du Quoin, IL.

Begin Press Release:

American Motorcyclist Association crowns national champions at 2017 AMA Dirt Track Grand Championship

PICKERINGTON, Ohio — Twenty AMA National No. 1 plates were awarded July 4 at the AMA Dirt Track Grand Championship at Du Quoin (Ill.) State Fairgrounds to 12 riders who earned AMA National Champion status.

Some racers earned national championships in more than one class.

Youth and amateur racers competed in a variety of classes in Half Mile, Youth TT, Amateur TT and Indoor Short Track events.

“As always, the talent at the AMA Dirt Track Grand Championship is top notch,” said AMA Track Racing Manager Ken Saillant. “Congratulations to the 12 racers who battled their way to the front and were able to take home the honor of being an AMA National Champion.”

Hunter Brooks of Escalon, Calif., was the recipient of the Nicky Hayden AMA Dirt Track Horizon Award, which recognizes the rider best prepared for the professional ranks, based on their attitude, enthusiasm and past performances as an amateur. The award recently was re-named in honor of 2002 AMA Superbike Champion and 2006 FIM MotoGP World Champion Nicky Hayden, who passed away in May. Hayden was the inaugural winner of the AMA Horizon Award in 1997.

Trevor Tidwell of Washington, Ill., received the 2017 Dirt Track Grand Championship Fast Brain Award for his hard work on the racetrack and in the classroom.

Veteran Senior Racer of the Year is Dallas Mayer of Carbondale, Ill.

Tyler Scott, Emmaus Pa., is the Youth Racer of the Year. He won three AMA National Championships in 2017.

For more information on the AMA Dirt Track National Championship, visit

The AMA would like to congratulate the following AMA National Champions:
50cc DTX Sr. (7-8) – Bradon Pfanders
50cc DTX PW Shaft – Brody Hanson
50cc DTX PW (4-8) – Elijah Banish
65cc DTX (7-11) – Chase Anderson
65cc Modified (7-11) – Tyler Scott
85cc DTX (7-11) – Tyler Scott
85cc DTX (12-15) – Kody Kopp
85cc Modified (7-11) – Tyler Scott
85cc Modified (12-15) – Kody Kopp
250cc DTX – Travis Petton
250cc Modified – Grant Holmes
201cc-250cc – Grant Holmes
251cc-500cc DTX – Hunter Brooks
450cc Modified – Dallas M. Daniels
450cc Open Singles – Dallas M. Daniels
450cc Open Mod (Single and Twin) – Dallas M. Daniels
Veteran 30+ – Michael Mayer
Senior 40+ – Dallas Mayer
Super Senior 50+ – Dallas Mayer
Womens (12+) – Sara Saathoff

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit

Not a member? Join the AMA today:

Press Release
Press Release

More by Press Release

Join the conversation