Round Two Of KTM RC Cup Fielded 31 Riders

Troy Siahaan
by Troy Siahaan

From a KTM press release:

Thirty-one participants entered round two of the KTM RC Cup, which took place in conjunction with the 2015 MotoAmerica Series at Barber Motorsports Park. Through a weekend of hard-fought battles, it was 15-year-old Anthony Mazziotto III and 20-year-old Gage McAllister who came away with one victory apiece in the doubleheader weekend in Birmingham, Alabama.

McAllister carried his momentum from the previous round’s 1-1 sweep as he earned pole position with the fastest time in qualifying. With the number one spot, McAllister got off to a great start in race one, followed closely by Mazziotto, Braeden Ortt and Hayden Schultz. The four front-runners pulled a gap on the rest of the field early on, swapping back-and-forth several times for the lead position. Ortt then experienced a crash that would ultimately end his day, leaving a three-way battle for the lead between Schultz, Mazziotto and McAllister.

Meanwhile, the fifth place battle was just as intense between round one’s top qualifier Josh Serne, Alejandro Gutierrez Mejia, Jody Barry and Gabe Miller. The group made time on the leaders as the race progressed, but a multi-rider crash ultimately ended the race four laps early with a red flag signal.

Mazziotto, who took over the lead just in time to cross the finish line, took the race one victory, with Schultz finishing only 0.081 behind for second, and McAllister coming through only 0.302 behind for third.

“I just happened to be in the right position when the red flag came out,” Mazziotto said. “But this win feels really good, especially after last round’s bad luck at Road America.”

Serne held on to capture fourth place in race one, followed by Mejia with a season-best finish of fifth, Jody Barry in sixth, Gabe Miller in seventh, Mason De Keyrel in eighth, Christopher Kosan in ninth and Devin Husband rounded out the top ten.

The excitement continued in race two as the same group of riders engaged in a tight battle for the lead. This time, it was 18-year-old Brandon Altmeyer at the helm, with Mazziotto, McAllister, Schultz and Ortt close in tow.

Altmeyer held the lead for a majority of the race, with an eager group of riders awaiting the opportunity to make a pass. However, Altmeyer lost control just before the white flag came out, forfeiting his chance at the race two victory.

McAllister capitalized on Altmeyer’s misfortune as he assumed the lead position on the final lap. Mazziotto and Schultz filed in to claim the second and third place positions, making two podium appearances in as many races for the weekend.

“It was a bummer to see Brandon [Altmeyer] go out like that, he was riding really well,” McAllister said. “I came into the season expecting to do well but I think the key is just consistency right now and we’re doing that I’m happy to come away with the win.”

With three wins behind him, California’s Gage McAllister leads the championship standings with 91 points total. Indiana’s Hayden Schultz sits in the second place position with 48 points, while Jody Barry sits two points back in third, followed by Anthony Mazziotto III in fourth with 45 points and Canada’s Braeden Ortt rounding out the top five with 42 points total.

The RC Cup Series features riders between the ages of 14 and 22-years-old who hold an AMA Superstock Limited license to participate. All participants race aboard a 2015 KTM RC 390 Cup Racebike, designed as racing competition bikes (not street-legal) and have been prepared by KTM with over 40 PowerParts and other enhancements to increase racing performance.

Round three of the 2015 KTM RC Cup takes place June 26-28 at Miller Motorsports Park in Tooele, Utah. For more information, please visit

KTM RC Cup Standings – Round 2 of 5

Gage McAllister, 3 wins (91)
Hayden Schultz (48)
Jody Barry (46)
Anthony Mazziotto III, 1 win (45)
Braeden Ortt (42)
Josh Serne (34)
Justin McWilliams (31)
Brandon Altmeyer (29)
Christopher Kosan (27)
Ruben Casarez (23)
Alejandro Gutierrez Mejia (21)
Gabe Miller (17)
Nolan Lamkin (17)
Grayson Gerloff (16)
Mason De Keyrel (15)
Nick Doolan (10)
Devin Husband (10)
Jake Fell (9)
Drew Siversten (6)
Ashton Yates (5)
John Knowles (5)
Gray Pham (4)
Nicholas Swensgard (4)
Jaret Nassaney (3)
Cristopher Martinez (2)

Troy Siahaan
Troy Siahaan

More by Troy Siahaan

Join the conversation