Alpinestars Brera Leather Jacket

Editor Score: 93.5%
Aesthetics 10/10
Protection 9.0/10
Value 9.5/10
Comfort/Fit 9.5/10
Quality/Design 9.5/10
Weight 9.5/10
Options/Selection 9.5/10
Innovation 9.0/10
Weather Suitability 8.0/10
Desirable/Cool Factor 10/10
Overall Score93.5/100

Look good, feel good, ride good. From the moment I first saw it, I knew I needed to have it. The Alpinestars Brera leather jacket is quite possibly one of the best looking, most stylish motorcycle jackets on the market. Throw built-in, slim-fitting CE certified Bio Armor on your elbows and shoulders, and you’ve pretty much got yourself the total package.

I’ll be the first to admit I’m super picky with the way my clothes and gear fit. If it doesn’t look good and feel right, I’m just not into it. On top of that, I hate going shopping – I hate it – so whenever I plop cash down for something new, I’m planning on having whatever it is I’m buying for the long haul. I’ve been wearing the same pair of jeans for the last four years or so, and sadly, I know they’re on their last leg. The thought of going out and getting new ones is already giving me anxiety.

Fortunately, quality leather motorcycle jackets are exponentially more durable than a pair of dungarees, and ought to last you a lifetime if taken care of properly. The Brera jacket’s shell is made from full grain leather and is available in either black or brown. This hide feels really nice and supple right out of the box, and it only gets better with time.

Alpinestars Brera

The Brera has CE certified armor on your elbows and shoulders. There’s also a pocket for a back protector, but you’ll have to purchase that separately.

The Brera has been my go-to jacket for the last seven months or so and what I love about it is how good it looks on the bike, but especially how good it looks off the bike. It’s versatile enough to work whether you’re riding a sportbike, cruiser, scooter or anything in between, and it gets compliments everywhere you go from riders and non-riders alike. One random passerby on the sidewalk told me I looked like Wolverine. I’m not sure what the exact correlation is, but Wolverine – or Hugh Jackman – is pretty badass, and handsome too… so I took it as a compliment.

Alpinestars Brera

Wolverine? Hugh Jackman? I don’t know, you be the judge…

There’s an endless supply of bright and flashy motorcycle jackets out there, and I’m not a huge fan of looking like a Power Ranger in public, so I prefer to save those jackets for the racetrack or extra sporty rides. On top of its protective features, I love how subtle the branding – or lack thereof – is on the Brera. No big logos or patches that scream, “Look at me, I’m a biker!” It lets you blend in while stylishly standing out. The only visible Alpinestars logo is subtly embossed on either shoulder.

If your nickname is “Bubba”, the Brera might not be for you. Being an Italian jacket, the fit definitely favors the slim. However, it does come in European sizes 46-60 that should fit almost all riders, and it even has zippered expansion panels on each side if you’re looking for a little more room. I’m 6’1” /180 lbs and the Euro 52 (US 42) fits me perfect.

Alpinestars Brera

Clean and stealthy lines. You can barely even see the embossed Alpinestars logo on my shoulder… perfect.

There are four interior pockets – one zipped and one buttoned on each breast, and two lower, open mesh pockets. On the outside you have two more – plenty of cargo capacity to carry the essentials. The Brera comes perforated or non, and I opted for the non-perforated mostly because I prefer the look and don’t really mind getting a little warm when riding. I rarely remain stationary for too long while riding, but there’s a zipper on each sleeve’s cuff to let cooling airflow in if things get too warm. These same zippers make taking your gloves on and off much easier too.

MO Tested: Alpinestars Brera Airflow Jacket Review

(Perforated version)

Overall, I would give the Alpinestars Brera jacket five stars, two thumbs up and would definitely get another if something were to ever happen to it. It’s available for $499.95 and might become your favorite jacket too.

Alpinestars Brera

The Brera even makes riding a scooter look good. The Suzuki Burgman 400 pictured here is awesome, by the way.

Alpinestars Brera

Here’s to many, many more miles together.



Featured Apparel Providers