Team U.S.A. on the podium at ISDE

Men’s team third overall, women in second

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Sep. 09, 2008
The U.S. Trophy Team finished third in the 2008 International Six Days Enduro, Sept. 1-6 in Serres, Greece.

Led by Ricky Dietrich who finished second among all riders behind Spain’s Ivan Cervantes, the U.S. team reached its best result since finishing second overall in 1982. Also making up the U.S. Trophy Team were Kurt Caselli, Ricky Dietrich, Jimmy Jarett, Nathan Kanney and Nathan Woods

Team France took home the World Trophy with a time of 14 hours, 50 minutes 25.78 seconds, beating the Italian team by 53.59 seconds. The American team finished 8 minutes and 20 seconds behind.

The U.S. Women’s Trophy Team also reached the podium with a second place result with France on top yet again, winning the Women’s World Cup. Team Italy won the Junior World Trophy while the U.S. Junior Trophy Team finished in 12th place. The women’s team consisted of Nicole Bradford, Amanda Msin and Maria Forsberg.

Ricky Dietrich (left) was finished 43 seconds behind Spain's Ivan Cervantes. Marko Tarkkala of Finland rounded out the top three overall finishers.The men’s U.S. Trophy Team overcame a major setback on the third day when rider Kurt Caselli crashed out while battling for the overall lead with Finland’s Juha Salminen. With Caselli out, the American team had to complete the rest of the competition with only five out of six riders.

“The ISDE represents one of the most difficult tests of man and machine, and the AMA is proud of the riders and crew who made this year’s Team USA a success,” says Bryan Cohn, AMA senior director of racing. “The effort this year was one of the most organized ever, and that was reflected in the results. Despite a few bad breaks, Team USA had a strong showing among the world’s best off-road riders at what, historically, has been one of our most challenging events.”

The third overall U.S. Trophy Team, from left with medals, Ricky Dietrich, Destry Abbott, Jimmy Jarrett (rear), Nathan Woods, Nathan Kanney and Kurt Casseli.Known as the ‘Olympics of Motorcycling’, the ISDE awards medals to the top finishes in each class. Riders finishing within 10% of each class’s leader receive gold medals, riders finishing within 40% receive silver, while those who complete the ISDE without ever being more than an hour behind at each check point receive bronze medals. Overall, Team U.S.A. won ten golds, 15 silvers and two bronze medals in one of its strongest ever showings in the ISDE.

“The riders deserve the bulk of the credit,” says Chuck Weir, AMA Off-Road Director. “Some highlights include U.S. Women’s Trophy Team member Maria Forsley, who finished second in her class in her first ISDE. Jeff Fredette received the first-place trophy for riders over 50. Ricky Dietrich finished second in the E2 class and second overall. Rory Sullivan captured second in the tough C3 class.”

Related Reading
AMA announces US ‘Olympic’ team