2009 Daytona 200 basic qualifying

Bostrom fastest, but Eslick’s Buell 1125R close behind

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Mar. 05, 2009
Ben Bostrom set the fastest time in basic qualifying for the Daytona 200 for the Graves Motorsports Yamaha team and will advance to the Superpole.

Bostrom’s time of 1:49.093 on a Yamaha YZF-R6 was 0.160 seconds faster than Danny Eslick and his Bruce Rossmeyer/RMR Racing Buell 1125R. Martin Cardenas was the only other rider to break the 1:50 mark for Team M4 Suzuki.

Westby Racing’s Dane Westby had the fourth fastest time, just ahead of former Daytona 200 winner Jake Zemke of Erion Honda who rounded out the top five.

Team M4 Suzuki’s Jason DiSalvo, Erion Honda’s Chris Paris, the Graves Motorsports Yamaha pair of Josh Herrin and Josh Hayes and Attack Kawasaki’s Jamie Hacking completed the top ten and will advance to the Superpole.

2009 Daytona 200 basic qualifying
Pos. Rider Motorcycle Time
1st Ben Bostrom Yamaha YZF-R6 1:49.093
2nd Danny Eslick Buell 1125R 1:49.253
3rd Martin Cardenas Suzuki GSX-R600 1:49.952
4th Dane Westby Yamaha YZF-R6 1:50.011
5th Jake Zemke Honda CBR600RR 1:50.100
6th Jason DiSalvo Suzuki GSX-R600 1:50.169
7th Chris Peris Honda CBR600RR 1:50.338
8th Josh Perrin Yamaha YZF-R6 1:50.370
9th Josh Hayes Yamaha YZF-R6 1:50.471
10th Jamie Hacking Kawasaki ZX-6R 1:50.517