2017 Triumph Street Cup

Editor Score: 83.5%
Engine 16.5/20
Suspension/Handling 13.5/15
Transmission/Clutch 8.5/10
Brakes 7.5/10
Instruments/Controls4.75/5
Ergonomics/Comfort 8.5/10
Appearance/Quality 9.0/10
Desirability 8.0/10
Value 7.25/10
Overall Score83.5/100

Last year it was the all-new Street Twin and it was good. Last Friday it was the all-new Street Scrambler, and it too was good if that’s your bag, man. Now it’s the also all-new Street Cup, which also builds on that same Street Twin platform with 900cc High Torque parallel-Twin to create a road-racier version, tested this week at its launch in Spain.

2017 Triumph Street Scrambler First Ride Review

In a nutshell, Triumph bolted on rear shocks which are 8mm longer (with slightly firmer dual-rate springs and firmer damping) to raise the rear of the bike, which steepens rake and reduces trail compared to the Street Twin (24.3 degrees/ 98.7mm Cup, 25.1 deg./ 102.4mm ST). Then a lower, more forward handlebar is bolted into the clamps to pull the rider also lower and forward, a flyscreen and a racy tailsection is added, and Bob, as the Brits say, is your uncle.

What it is, is sort of a mini-Thruxton, Triumph says, with that same mission but without all the horsepower and higher price tag. The Thrux uses the High Power version of the 1200cc Twin to produce 97 claimed horsepower and 82.6 lb-ft of torque, weighs a claimed 454 pounds and “starts at” $13,000. The Street Cup uses the High Torque 900cc to crank out 55 hp and 59 lb-ft, weighs 441 pounds and sells for $10,500. Hey, wait a minute, that’s only a $2500 price difference. What happened to $8,700 for the Street Twin?

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

The Cup also upgrades you into dual instruments with old-school rev counter in a polished stainless steel bezel, a la Thruxton, complete with gear-position indicator, two tripmeters, fuel gauge with range to empty, average and current fuel consumption, clock and traction-control setting. The width of the “Ace” bars is slightly adjustable.

The Cup also upgrades you into dual instruments with old-school rev counter in a polished stainless steel bezel, a la Thruxton, complete with gear-position indicator, two tripmeters, fuel gauge with range to empty, average and current fuel consumption, clock and traction-control setting. The width of the “Ace” bars is slightly adjustable.

Not sure, but you do get “an authentic bullet seat” and bar-end mirrors, along with “premium finishes, hand applied coach-lining and exciting two-tone paint schemes.” (Coach lining, as I learned, is that black stripe between the yellow and silver in the photo below. It’s hand-painted by old-world craftsmen at Triumph, who sign each gas tank.)

012017-2017-triumph-street-cup-restaurant

There’s also the shorter and lighter twin satin black and stainless steel upswept silencers, “for a unique raw, rich and full soundtrack,” which are cool, but even so Triumph says the Cup is 3 kg heavier than the Street Twin; that’s almost 7 pounds. (Their 437 lb claimed dry weight for the ST turned into 478 on the MO scales after we added gas. Just for perspective, that’s about 22 pounds heavier than the heaviest bike [and winner] in our 2015 Superbike shootout, the Aprilia RSV4 RF. And it’s 75 pounds heavier than our favorite “modern” middleweight Twin, the Yamaha FZ-07.)

012017-2017-triumph-street-cup-img_0185

The “Retro,” in other words, goes clear to the bone. Even though 52.6 rear-wheel horsepower isn’t a lot, I am forced to repeat once again that it feels like more, thanks to the 900cc HT Twin’s excellent torque curve, which has the Cup motoring smartly away from way low in its powerband.

That top line would be the Street Twin’s torque curve as measured in last April’s comparison test. The Street Cup has the same drivetrain.

That top line would be the Street Twin’s torque curve as measured in last April’s comparison test. The Street Cup has the same drivetrain.

The Cup also shares the Street Twin’s excellent light-pull clutch, flawless five-speed gearbox and excellent, smooth throttle response – and it’s a super-easy bike for anyone from rank beginner to hop on, not stall, and roar off upon. On the Spanish motorway, thanks to the more-forward cant of your torso and to the flyscreen, 90 mph and 5000 rpm feels like a perfectly acceptable cruising speed with minor vibrations beginning to creep into the grips (70 and 80 mph are dead-smooth to my paws): Rolling the throttle on from there dials up 110 indicated pretty quickly with a bit more left (handlebar vibes increasing with velocidad.)

012017-2017-triumph-street-cup-b32a7043

We were frankly surprised at what a great curvy road tool the Street Twin was last year, though we probably shouldn’t have been now knowing the recent track record of Triumph’s testing crew. The Cup is even better. Shifting that little bit more bike and rider weight onto the front tire gives the rider more feedback, decreasing the trail those few millimeters lets the Cup change direction quicker, and those longer shocks out back left my footpeg feelers completely unscathed after a couple hours of excellent curve slaying at a pace which had me sometimes wishing I was was wearing more protective protective gear. None of the heavier fast guys shot any sparks either.

The 270-degree Twin puts out the right noises, shifts cleanly up through the gearbox without the clutch and also down if you time your blip right, which makes it an excellent place to attend the School of Classic Riding. Without a ton of power, you pick your lines and maintain your momentum in a higher gear, relying more on the Cup’s excellent torque than on high rpm horsepower. The longer and slightly stiffer shocks still stroke through 120mm, as does the fork straight off the Street Twin, and both ends are really well controlled and damped under my 160 pounds.

An upgraded caliper replaces the Street Twin’s unit and squeezes a floating 310mm disc, but it’s still a two-piston slider. It gets the job done on the road.

An upgraded caliper replaces the Street Twin’s unit and squeezes a floating 310mm disc, but it’s still a two-piston slider. It gets the job done on the road.

Street Twin commenters last year chastised me severely for not fully explaining why that bike uses a bias-ply front tire and a radial rear. The Cup uses the same Pirelli Phantoms, and this year I cornered Chassis Engineer and ex-roadracer David Lopez with the same question again. He doesn’t know. Extensive testing with all kinds of combinations, he said, kept revealing that the bias/radial combo is just what works best, providing the quickest, most confident handling with good high-speed stability and the best “feel.” Mysterioso, he shrugs. Nobody knows from tires.

Back in rush-hour Seville traffic, I’m not getting any younger, but the lower, more-forward grips aren’t nearly as low and forward as I was concerned they might be – just a little more sporty than the super-comfortable Street Twin. in fact the ergos are so similar that Triumph left the footpegs in the same spot as the ST’s, which is perfectly okay for 5-foot-8 me. (Lopez says a lot of previous-gen Thruxton owners complained their footpegs were too far rearward.)

The seat’s almost as comfortable as the ST’s, I think, though from the looks of it, your passenger’s not going to enjoy that “authentic bullet seat” as much as the driver will.

The seat’s almost as comfortable as the ST’s, I think, though from the looks of it, your passenger’s not going to enjoy that “authentic bullet seat” as much as the driver will.

If retro is your thing, there’s no denying this is a very pretty motorcycle and a very thoroughly designed and nicely put-together one – as well it should be for $10,500. MO never did get a new Thruxton to review after its initial launch, so the only question I’d have to ask myself if I felt my inner Anglophile being drawn toward a new Street Cup is, why not cough up a measly $2500 more for the full monty Thruxton, a bike so rare and beautiful we MOrons can’t even get one?

2017 Triumph Street Cup
+ Highs

  • Sporty yet comfy
  • 60+ mpg, 10,000-mile oil changes
  • Yes, you can get cruise control, heated grips and 150 other high-quality factory chinguses
– Sighs

  • The price has crept up from the Street Twin
  • A more powerful front brake wouldn’t be a bad thing
  • A young motojournalist wanted to know what a rev counter is?
2017 Triumph Street Cup Specifications
Engine Type Liquid cooled, 8 valve, SOHC, 270° crank-angle parallel-Twin
Capacity 900cc
Bore/Stroke 84.6 x 80mm
Compression Ratio 10.55:1
Maximum Power 55 Hp (40.5kW) @ 5900 rpm
(claimed)
Maximum Torque 59 lb-ft (80Nm) @ 3230 rpm
(claimed)
Fuel system Multipoint sequential electronic fuel injection
Exhaust Brushed 2 into 2 exhaust system with twin brushed silencers
Final drive X-ring chain
Clutch Torque assist. Wet, multi-plate clutch
Gearbox 5-speed
Frame Tubular steel twin cradle
Swingarm Twin-sided, tubular steel
Front Wheel Cast aluminium alloy multi-spoke 18 x 2.75in
Rear Wheel Cast aluminium alloy multi-spoke 17 x 4.25in
Front Tire 100/90-18 Pirelli Phantom SportsComp
Rear Tire 150/70 R17 Pirelli Phantom SportsComp
Front Suspension KYB 41mm forks. 120mm travel
Rear Suspension KYB twin shocks with adjustable preload. 120mm travel
Front Brake Single 310mm floating disc, 2-piston Nissin axial floating caliper, ABS
Rear Brake Single 255mm disc, Nissin 2-piston floating caliper, ABS
Instrument Display/Functions Odometer, Rev counter, Gear position indicator, Range to empty, Fuel level, Average and current fuel consumption, Clock, Two trip settings, Service indicator, Traction control settings
Length 82.3 in (2090 mm)
Height Without Mirrors 43.5 in (1105 mm)
Seat Height 30.7 in (780 mm)
Wheelbase 56.5 in (1435 mm)
Rake 24.3º
Trail 3.9 in (98.7 mm)
Dry Weight, claimed 441 lbs (200 kg)
Fuel Tank Capacity 3.2 US Gallon
Fuel consumption 63 US mpg (based on the EPA exhaust emission test procedure)
Standard equipment
ABS, Switchable Traction Control, Torque Assist Clutch, LED rear light, Immobiliser, USB Power Socket, Trip Computer

Free Insurance Quote

Enter your ZIP code below to get a free insurance quote.

Triumph Dealer Price Quote

Get price quotes for Triumph from local motorcycle dealers.

Triumph Communities

  • Jens Vik

    I am pretty sure that 13 000$ minus 10 500$ is a 2 500$ price difference.
    Only MOrons make that 1500$ 🙂

    • john burns

      dang that blows my conclusion right out of the water doesn’t it? i was told there would be no math…

      • schizuki

        Yeah, a “measly” $1500 is debatable, but $2500 ain’t measly unless you’re Buzz. Then it’s just a rounding error after foreclosing on a sweet grandma’s family farm.

    • Old MOron

      At least he asked about the tires. Thanks, JB!

      Another good review. Were I in the market, I think I’d still go for the Street Twin, but not if I had to tuck my pants into my boots 🙂

    • john burns

      ok i fixed it, thanks for the audit.

      • schizuki

        Still wrong in the third paragraph.

        • john burns

          dammit man…

          • schizuki

            I think a complete re-write is in order. Chop chop!

          • john burns

            It’s the Sabbath.

  • JMDGT

    For not much more you can get a Thruxton. That tire thing is I don’t know what. I like it though.

  • JimC

    Why can’t I put 4 gallons of gas in a new bike these days?

    • JMDGT

      5 gallons should be minimum.

    • Buzz

      You moved to England?

      • john burns

        No but Triumph has almost moved to Spain. they have big testing facility in Barcelona, about a 2-hour flight from Hinckley – and it’s not cold and rainy there all the time.

    • JWH

      It’s not enough. I have 4.5gal and it’s not enough. Tanks with real volume shouldn’t be limited to ADV bikes.

    • Willie

      styling limits the size and shape of a tank. Triumph is going for the cool retro look.

      My ’05 Tiger looks like a Beluga whale with it’s 6.3 gal tank. handy, but not stylish.

  • Starmag

    Funny how things come full circle. Since the advent of foot pegs instead of pedals, with the exception of floorboards, mid mount pegs where the norm on most street bikes. Since about the 90’s you had a bi-polar choice between highway pegs and rear sets. now the pegs on a racy style Thruxton are too far back. Are we headed back to mid-mounts as the norm again?

    • JWH

      We can only hope. Mid mounts have always been a must have for me. I’ve had mid mounts on the vast majority of my motorcycles.

  • SRMark

    I’ll get the poor man version and tart it up to my specs. Still, it’s a very nice bike. Keep rollin em out Triumph.

  • Mark Lindemann

    Burns! Are you wearing a Union-Jack helmet with a Stars-and-Stripes bandana? Isn’t that some kind of moto-fashion faux pas? Or maybe you have moto dual citizenship. Ah well, at least it’s color coordinated. Carry on.

    • TheMarvelous1310

      He is an Anglo-American…

    • Gareth Mitchell

      stripes and diagonals – headache central

  • TC

    I suppose a review is just a quick ride with some brief impressions noted, but it would be more informative if you did some actual testing. 0-60, 1/4 mile, top speed, and braking distances.

    • JWH

      Why? It’s a 55hp bike. We all have a good idea how a 55hp twin is going to perform. Save the 1/4 tests for performance machines marketed to riders who care about 1/4 miles times. If 1/4 mile numbers are important to you and you’re buying this bike, you’re doing it wrong.

      • Brian Clasby

        I want 1/4 mile numbers for everything. EVERYTHING!
        P.S. I ride kinda slow . . .

      • TC

        0-60 time is important if you plan to merge onto a freeway, and braking distances if you ‘might’ need to stop quickly. HP figures don’t tell the whole story, there’s gross weight, gearing, and other factors that affect speed.

        • JWH

          I’m unconvinced. You know beyond a shadow of a doubt it’s going to be in the 4.5-5.5 second range, An entire second might be useless when looking at performance motorcycles, but it tells you everything you need to know when it comes to merging onto the freeway.

        • Max Wellian

          People merge onto freeways by the thousands every day on 1000 lb Harleys making 60 hp. That ain’t really gonna be a problem here.

          • TC

            If a tester says that a bike seems fast, or slow, how is that quantified without testing. If he says the brakes seem weak, there should be some data to back it up. As far as 60 hp Harleys, the Chevy Chevette weighed 2000 lbs and made 55 hp, so maybe that should be the yardstick.

          • Max Wellian

            It’s all kind of tenuous anyway. Brakes often require a good deal of break-in before they perform at their best. Engines too. Nevertheless, I’m not in violent disagreement. If they have the time and means to get the data, a nice little chart at the end (the way they do now) with the extra bullets would be fine. I’d hate to see the writing get reduced to a list of “matter of fact” specs. Especially Burns’ as he’s rather good at it.
            How can you quantify things like throttle response? Handling? Ergonomics? Objectivity is nice for lawn mowers, but motorcycles are as much if not more about aesthetics, feel, and comfort. Besides, no one is going to buy this 52 hp machine to race some 160 hp race rep…in a straight line anyway. But even in a straight line it’ll run well in excess of 100 mph. How much more do you need to merge?

    • Campisi

      Press rides like these are organised by the manufacturer. If Triumph wanted you to know these things, they’d have released such numbers upon unveiling the bike. Burns & Co. would need to borrow a Street Cup on a single-outlet basis to measure those numbers, a request that (judging by the Thruxton comments in the article) Triumph may not permit.

  • schizuki

    The gray and black model is insanely beautiful.

  • Larry Kahn

    Just fyi re: 478lbs gassed, weighed my 2007 T100 gassed at 505. So good they lost a few pounds in the new design in any event.

  • TheMarvelous1310

    I’d take this over a Thruxton. The 2 grand difference will buy a nice turbo!

    Damn, I just realized I’d take a Street Twin over this for the exact same reason.

  • Gootch

    This reminds me a lot of the old Thruxton except 10-13 HP less and 20-25 pounds lighter that the old one. The old one can be ridden surprisingly hard; I bet this one can be too. I don’t trust that listed 63 mpg and that does matter with the smaller tank (written by someone who ran out of a gas on a 2004).

  • Ricky Lepre

    Nice bike. I have owned the previous Thruxton (2010,900 model) and for my modest skill levels it was a really great bike. It was a shame it was trashed in an empty shipping container when i relocated briefly to Mackay,North Queensland from the Gold Coast.Some guy decided to strap it down on its stand. The stand failed.Say no more. Not a real fan of the colour scheme on the cup as I think like the V7 Moto Guzzi racer its trying to hard. I think simple with a little detail goes a long way. I am sure however it’s a good bike to ride as your reviews are spot on.I hear you about going the extra and getting a Thruxton…but then you will probably want to go further again and get the Thruxton R so where does it stop? I think the term is called bracket creep.So why won’t Triumph give you a new Thruxton? 🙂

  • Auphliam

    Went to get a look at these in person yesterday. Great little bikes, as are all the new retro Trumpets. Fit and finish really is impeccable on these things. One thing I found odd…I wanted to compare the Street Cup to the new Thruxton, but the dealership didn’t have a single unit of the new 1200s in stock. Only the smaller ones (all the Street variations, except the Scrambler, and a T100). I thought that was strange. Are the 1200s selling that fast or are they slow to reach showrooms?

  • Mad4TheCrest

    The Street Cup has one advantage over the larger and more powerful Thruxton – it runs tubeless tires. Why Triumph can’t employ sealed rims on its Thruxtons (not even the R!) so tubeless tires can be used astounds me.