2015 Honda NM4

Editor Score: 80.25%
Engine 18.0/20
Suspension/Handling 12.5/15
Transmission/Clutch 9.5/10
Brakes 8.0/10
Ergonomics/Comfort 9.25/10
Appearance/Quality 8.75/10
Desirability 6.0/10
Value 4.0/10
Overall Score80.25/100

Man, I want so badly to like this thing, given that it seems to be my mission in life to embrace the Weird. But this Honda isn’t even all that weird, not when you compare it to blue-sky shots like the old Pacific Coast (which has achieved cult status) or the outlandish Rune, or even the Fury chopper – which is a thing I never thought I’d see Honda build. Then again, it’s pretty out there: No bike I’ve ridden before lights up the wild-eyed street people of the OC quite like this one.

The NM4 is pure stealth fighter/ Batman meets Capt. Nemo, but it’s not a radical departure from the DN-01 flop, and it’s not too stylistically removed from the hugely popular (in Japan anyway) Helix scooter. What it does have going for it that neither of those do is the excellent engine and Dual Clutch Transmission from one of my current favorite motorcycles – Honda’s NC700X (and the not-so-favorite CTX700). The thrusty, undersquare 670cc parallel-Twin lies low and forward, canting its cylinders at a 62-degree angle in the steel-tube frame, making for a low motorcycle and a long one, with a wheelbase of 64.7 inches.

Read: Middleweight Multi-Tool Shootout: 2012 Honda NC700X Vs. Kawasaki Versys + Video

2015 Honda NM4 Profile Left

The NM4’s long wheelbase is about 4 inches more than its NC and CTX stablemates, which helps the seat be just 25.6 in. from the deck.

Low But Not Slow

In fact, it’s all about long and low: The seat’s low enough to make you feel like Batman riding a recumbent bicycle, even a couple inches lower than the CTX700’s, but the NM4’s floorboards don’t make your legs have to stretch so far forward as the CTX’s. Another nice touch is a passenger seat that flips up to serve as a three-position ratcheting adjustable backrest – a really nice thing to have when you ratchet up the speed on a recumbent bike like this one.

For a thing that generally feels like an overgrown scooter around town, the NM is also quite happy to go as fast as you dare. Air pours reasonably cleanly over the Adams-apple-height windscreen, depending on wind direction and speed, and the front machine-gun mounts/ mirror pods direct air around your hands. Along with the standard heated grips, the NM4 might not be a bad bike to find yourself upon in cold weather. When it’s hot, though, which it was when we had the bike, the bodywork also does good work keeping engine heat at bay.

2015 Honda NM4 Action Rear

The passenger seat/ backrest is a nice touch; the passenger backrest/ rack is optional equipment. LED lighting adds to your Batman cred. Drive-chain oiling fetishists may have difficulty with the NM4.

Some motorcyclists have a hard time adjusting to the low-revving nature of Honda’s 670 Twin; the auto-clutch gearbox basically eliminates their problem of being unable to not bang into the rev limiter. Leave it in D (Drive) and the NM pussyfoots quietly about. Thumb it into S (Sport) and give the throttle a big twist, and the gearbox shifts at higher rpm, downshifts more aggressively, and has the bike taking on a whole new personality. Like the other two Honda DCT 670s, you can also use your right index finger to toggle from AT to MT (Manual Trans), and use the + and – paddles on the left grip to take full control of shift points.

Blasting off from a green light in Sport mode, the NM leaves all cars in the dust and feels like it would be the ultimate consistent bracket racer, making clean, precise shifts at around 6000 rpm every time: In this engine, 44 horses feels like more because of all the torque the Twin produces down low. We didn’t get the NM to the dyno, but it should be very close to the CTX700N tested in our Millennial Hep Cat Shootout last month. Its torque curve isn’t much of a curve, topping 40 ft-lb by 3300 rpm before peaking at 4900 rpm at 41 ft-lb. If you were Batman, it would be no problem to fire all sorts of weapons accurately with your left hand, so smooth are the DCT shifts. Alternatively, the space between the handlebar risers cries out for a nice thermal coffee cup/ iPod mount. I’m Batcommuter

2015 Honda NM4 Instruments

In Drive mode, you get blue lighting, in Sport you get pink, neutral is white and manual transmission mode is red. Honda says there are 25 colors to choose from. All of them give you plenty of information: bar-graph tach along the bottom, gear-position indicator and mode, pessimistic fuel gauge, air temp, trip computer, etc.

Stealthy Fast

The NM4 isn’t let down by its chassis: 43mm fork tubes (2mm bigger than NC or CTX) raked out at 33 degrees keep the steering super-stable at freeway speeds, but also light-steering in slow going. Eighty-five-mph freeway overpasses that have bikes like the Guzzi V7 Stone feeling a bit weavy/sketchy are completely snubbed-down on the NM4, which smothers bumps well and is not your father’s Batmobile.

2009 Honda DN-01 Review

A right-thumb jab is all you need to switch from D to S to dial up more mid-corner speed, and you’ll be carrying seriously sporty velocity before the feelers on the floorboards and the outer edges of your shoes touch down (no flip-flops if you’re going for the gusto!), not elbow-dragging cornering clearance, but not at all bad. An 18-inch front radial and a 200/50-17 rear combine custom looks with a modern ride and traction; 3.9 inches of well-damped travel at both ends get on with the job at hand without complaint and no bottoming with my 155-pound body.

2015 Honda NM4 Action Left

Twin engine counterbalancers, rubber-mounted footboards, well-dialled suspension: It’s all smooth, buzz-free sailing aboard the NM.

Brakes are likewise unimpressive on the spec sheet, but quite capable on the road: The 320mm front disc isn’t terribly powerful, but combined with the 240mm rear, the NM4 can be made to scrub speed really quickly; both ends get ABS but are not linked. The raked-out front, long wheelbase and lowness of the thing all aid quick decel when it’s called for.

Is That All There Is?

I suppose my big disappointment with the NM4 is that from the moment I laid eyes on it, I assumed it was going to have serious storage capacity. Alas, opening what appear to be good-sized saddlebags rewards you with sleeved-down pockets that’ll fit about one mini-watermelon; not even Victoria’s Secret makes padded brassieres as visually misleading as the NM4’s bags.

2015 Honda NM4 Storage Melon

Wait, maybe the front compartments are where your stuff goes? Wrong again! The right front, to its credit, will swallow one bottle of wine, cork down, but that’s about it.

2015 Honda NM4 Storage Wine Bottle

And the left one has a 12V outlet, which is good, because your cell phone is about the only thing that will fit in it. Tiny. Honda wants to spin it as a little storage capacity is better than none, and while that’s true, the whole thing leaves me with a bit of a Crying Game ending; I feel misled. Batman needs to carry some stuff; the NM4 offers no more capacity than the utility belt. Maybe I expect too much…

Speaking of small capacity, Honda’s specs say the fuel tank holds three gallons, but you’re down to one blinking bar on the LCD gauge at 110 miles. In mixed use, we observed 55 mpg, which should result in 165-mile range, but I was never brave enough to push past 130 or so with the gauge insisting we’re outta gas. Why not fill the hollow space around the saddlebags with a hundred gallons of fuel? (Sarcasm!)

2015 Honda NM4 Profile Right

The three-gallon tank doesn’t give you enough range for real space exploration.

Compared to its less expensive siblings (the NC700X DCT ABS and CTX700 DCT ABS both retail for $8799), $10,999 to play dark prince seems like a lot.  For that kind of cake, cruise control would be good, along with a few other items. The NM might have as much storage as the NC in total, but broken up into four little compartments, it’s not nearly as useful. The NM4 doesn’t even have a helmet lock.

As for me, it mainly serves the same purpose as the CTX700 – to remind me how much I really like Honda’s NC700X, a bike that does everything better and cheaper, and will even hold onto your helmet for you in its big locking compartment while you pop in for a new bowling ball or goat head or box of cheap wine, which it will then conveniently transport.

At the end of the day, though, the NM is like a lot of things in search of a niche: If you’re a short-legged Goth (do we have those anymore?) with a Christian Bale fixation and the price of admission, you’ll love the NM4. Just remember, capes and motorcycles don’t really mix.

UPDATE, 9/16/14

Our test NM4 is equipped with Optional Equipment: High Windscreen, $199.95; Rear Backrest with Rear Carrier, $449.95; Heated Grips with Attachment Kit, $139.95.


+ Highs

  • Super easy to ride even if you don’t know how
  • Really comfortable for a cruiser, including the backrest
  • Surprisingly sporty and capable when flogged
– Sighs

  • Outward appearance suggests more carrying capacity
  • Draws most attention from people who may be hearing internal voices
  • Limited range, pessimistic fuel gauge

2015 Honda NM4 Specifications

Engine Type Liquid-cooled parallel-Twin
Engine Capacity 670cc
Bore x Stroke 73.0mm x 80.0mm
Compression 10.7:1
Valve Train SOHC; four valves per cylinder
Induction PGM-FI with 36mm throttle body
Ignition Fully transistorized
Transmission Automatic DCT six-speed
Final Drive Chain
Front Suspension 43mm fork; 3.9 inches travel
Rear Suspension Pro-Link single shock; 3.9 inches travel
Front Brakes 320mm disc with two-piston caliper and ABS
Rear Brakes 240mm disc with single-piston caliper and ABS
Front Tire 120/70-18
Rear Tire 200/50-17
Seat Height 25.6”
Curb Weight (claimed) 562 lbs
Wheelbase 64.7”
Rake / Trail 33° / 4.3 inches
Fuel Capacity 3.0 gal
MO observed fuel economy 55 mpg
Colors Matte Black Metallic
MSRP Custom $10,999

Free Insurance Quote

Enter your ZIP code below to get a free insurance quote.

Honda Dealer Price Quote

Get price quotes for Honda from local motorcycle dealers.

Honda Communities

  • michael franklin

    I’m sure you’d get the same results driving down the street in one of those little clown cars, also for something that huge they should have found room for more than 3 gallons of gas

  • HeDidn’tWeDid

    This is going to look great with 26-inch crome front wheel. These are going to be bought and then blinged-out.

  • panthalassa

    all part of the master plan to make the 500s look even more rational and fun by comparison.

  • JMDonald

    Comparative analysis destroys the appeal of this bike. It’s inherent weirdness would be an easier sell at about 7k. The illusion of storage pisses me off for some reason. I don’t know what.

  • fastfreddie

    Is the storage space really so small it doesn’t fit a full face helmet?Epic fail.

    And why not shaft drive? :facepalm:

    • Martin Buck

      Obviously they had to make room for the rocket launcher accessories that we all crave (but will use responsibly, of course).

      • fastfreddie

        Who doesn’t like alittle tension reliever now and then.Made my day that comment did:D

  • Old MOron

    I’ve seen one of these in the parking lot at work. It looks better in three dimensions than it does in pictures, but I still wouldn’t buy one. Just the same, I found it kind of interesting for its weirdness. Thanks for the good review, JB.

  • Andrew Capone

    This bike frightens and confuses me. But I’m OK with Honda trying out some wacky stuff. As long as they don’t forget us. Nice review, John.

  • Mark Vizcarra

    That’s why we have square watermelons for that


    You folks definitely need to put this up against the BMW C650 GT. And a Pacific Coast if you get your hands on one!

    • Treeman

      That is a nice Pacific Coast. I’ve always wanted one of those.

      • BTRDAYZ

        I really enjoyed it. It was comfortable on the highway.

    • Kristopher D Staller

      I rode a PC800 for 23 years and recently picked up the nm4. The nm4 is no Pacific Coast. You feel like you are sitting two feet lower on the nm4 and thus you are now looking up at the traffic around you, hoping that they can see you. Like the PC, it is whisper quiet when running, so you need to make sure the traffic around you is aware of your presence. Wind noise is more pronounced on the nm4, even with the stock tall windshield installed. Too noisy to listen to blue tooth audio or music. The tall windshield on the PC allowed you to wear an open face helmet and not fear large insect and chucked rock impacts. The Kenwood radio on my PC could easily be heard at an interstate highway speed of 75mph. Storage is a joke. I used to be able to stuff ten plastic grocery bags in my PC, much to the amazement of onlookers in the parking lot. The storage on the nm4 is worthless for groceries and might be slightly improved when I get my Dakota luggage rack and 46 liter trunk mounted on the back. Air flow around the nm4 is an improvement over the PC. It is currently in the 100-110s here in Arizona. There is no engine heat baking your legs on the nm4, like it does on the PC – it actually is cooling air flow. Like the PC, the nm4 also gives a false alarm on fuel status. I didn’t realize that my PC had a range of 130 miles until well over a decade of ownership. It always hit the “E” bar around 90 miles with well over a full gallon remaining. The nm4 goes into its reserve mode with 1.3 gallons of fuel remaining in its 3 gallon tank. This wouldn’t be problem if it would not override the secondary display information (odometer, trip odometer, fuel used, consumption stats, etc) and replace it with a blinking 0.0 miles reading. I’d rather it stay on the “gallons used” reading so that I can decide when to panic about running out of gas, say at the “2.7 gallons used” reading. Fuel economy is phenomenal, currently getting about 75mpg. The PC got around 44mpg, It does attract attention, just like the PC did when I first bought it. Some cars will come speeding up alongside, stop and gawk for about 20 seconds, and then pull away. That is another aspect of the nm4 – it does not resemble a police bike, like the white PC did (ST1100P). Traffic used to run at or below the speed limit around me on the PC, but now they are blowing around and pulling away at 15-20mph over the limit.

      • BTRDAYZ

        Awesome comparison, Kristopher! Thank you! Is the NM4 a bike you could ride for the next 23 years?

        • Kristopher D Staller

          Probably not. There are deficiencies in the NM4 that will have me looking for something better eventually (taller seat, better wind protection over the top of the fairing, better storage). The PC was an exceptional all-weather bike that you could ride between 20F-120F, kept you dry in a rain storm; had ample power and handling performance; and enough locking storage to make it ideal for commutes. If Honda came out with a bigger version (NM5?) that addressed the shortcomings, or even a modern PC with the DCT powertrain, I’d be signing the paperwork as soon as it hit the showroom floor.

          • BTRDAYZ

            Kristopher, this is all valuable feedback, as none of the dealers near me will even risk ordering an NM4 for the sales floor. They are afraid they’ll get stuck with it to sell at a loss later.

            Before buying the NM4, did you consider any other bikes or maxi-scooters? I like BMW’s C650 GT Scooter.

          • Kristopher D Staller

            I was pretty content with my current bike (ST1100P police bike), but was looking for a Honda with the DCT clutch. One of my earlier bikes was the CM450A hondamatic. The bikes I was looking at were the CTX700 DCT full fairing series. It turned out that my legs were too long to fit under them. I did sit on an NC700X yesterday at the dealership while getting the break in service performed on the nm4. It has the DCT powertrain, but has a seat height closer to the ST1100P. It also has naked back rails that would accommodate full size saddle bags. Wish I’d known about that model before pulling the trigger on the nm4. If you’re out west and want to pick up a slightly used nm4, I might consider selling it.

          • Andy Scherer

            I got the c650 GT scooter. It’s pretty nice, but has an annoying vibration at startup. The storage is strange, but very useful. The BMW trunk-box has a design flaw on the latch which requires two hands every time. But power, control, and especially brakes are wonderful. Windshield is too low, I’m 6’1″ and bought an aftermarket shield. I like the sound of the Hondas better… The beemer sounds like a precision-built German-engineered lawnmower. I traded in my 12-year-old Silverwing. The heated seats and grips were a nice upgrade. And from reading the reviews, I’d love the NM4 for everything except the storage and maybe the height.

  • Marcelo Cury

    Fresh from Homer Simpson’s Design Studio…

  • TraderJoesSecrets

    It’s interesting to see Honda take chances, but I feel they’re pricing this one out of a potential market. At eight grand, I’d think, “That’s kinda cool.” Even at that, I’d go buy a nice, low-mileage Pacific Coast on CL for half that money, spend a grand on new tires, chain, brake pads and anything else it might need. At that point, I’d have a better bike. If I wanted the Batman look, I guess I’d paint it flat black.


    You should have placed the mini watermelon next to a full sized helmet so that we could visually compare. Do the bags allow a full face helmet to fit inside or not?

    Also, Honda offers the NM4 in white in other markets. Can a US buyer order one in white? Why did we get stuck with the 670cc engine while other markets are offered a 750cc engine?

  • Goose

    It is truly amazing how often Honda manages to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory. Seems like a great idea, I even kinda like the weird styling, then they put saddlebags so small they are useless, pick the wrong color (again!), charge way too much and refuse to give US customers the 750 we deserve.

    I visualize Honda’s marketing department finishing work at exactly 5:00, dragging themselves to their gray Honda Civics (four cylinder W/auto trans, of course) and getting home to a couple of martinis before dinner. In other words about as far from a motorcyclist as you can get. I’m not surprised when I read Honda is losing market share.

  • Kevin Polito

    Finally! Somebody built a two-wheeled version of the Pontiac Aztek. Walter White, your motorcycle is ready.

    • makalaglag

      I have plans to acquire a yellow or green Aztec in good condition. I don’t have any plan to get NM4. HaHa

  • Rob

    This is the bike a serial killer would build in his garage and use to troll for his next victim. The front storage cubbies are purpose built to hold an arm and a leg and said contents can be used as payment for this over priced nightmare.

  • http://www.themotorcycleobsession.com/ Chris Cope

    This thing absolutely confounds. Take $4,000 off the price, then: maybe.
    Or keep it at $11,000 and put the DCT engine from the VFR1200 in it –– again: maybe.
    But as is: No.

    • Kevin

      Chris, I think you’re being awfully generous with maybe on this one, in fact I think Honda will see this go the same way the DN01 went! Unless, of course, the Stealth Fighter design is actually effective in defeating police radars:

      • Kristopher D Staller

        Correct. Mine was registering 32mph on the Chandler AZ radar display speed limit signs – while I was going 45mph.

        • http://www.motorcycle.com/ Sean Alexander

          Yeah, about that…. the speedo error is ridiculous on these things.

  • Auphliam

    Seriously, who brings a watermelon and a bottle of wine to a bike test?

    • john burns

      well a loaf of bread wouldn’t fit, so I had to improvise…

      I hope I didn’t come off as not liking the bike, because I actually really do. I got called up to Big Bear a couple days ago from Costa Mesa, freeway slog and mountains… I had my choice of Street 750, BMW RnineT or NM4 and it was NM4 without much thought. Cruises great at 85 mph and not bad at all in the mountains either. So I pushed the fuel gauge on the way back, it was blinking for a long time when I stopped, showing 145 miles on tripmeter – and only took 2.1 gallons. That’s 69 mpg, much better than other tanks. Great machine. Butt was a bit sore from the cruiseresque ergoes, but many cruisers would’ve been much worse. Two thumbs up, really. Just pack light.

      • Razedbywolvs

        Failure to improvise. Your man card is revoked for 7 days. No one puts whine in a water Mellon. Next time try vodka.

        • http://www.motorcycle.com/ Sean Alexander

          No man mixes fruit into his liquor, or vice-versa.

  • Craig Hoffman

    The NC700X, with bags and trunk, a belt (instead of chain) drive and DCT is the ultimate scooter replacement/motorcycle hybrid transportation module. This NM4 thing looks like a concept vehicle studio’s creation after taking drugs.

    Maxi Scooters cost 10 grand. The DCT trans really is cool technology, far superior to what any maxi scooter uses now. The NCX does have appeal as it costs less than a super scooter, it is an actual motorcycle and yet it has a lot of the same jump on it and go appeal.

    I am not a big Harley fan, but their belt drive is extremely smart technology. Next to no maintenance, light weight and the belt commonly lasts the life of the motorcycle. A belt with the DCT equipped 670 Honda power train would be excellent indeed. I can’t think of a longer lasting, efficient and cheap to keep combo.

    • Treeman

      I totally agree. In my opinion, chains are woefully outdated. Just not sure I could live with a chain drive! To me, it makes zero sense!

      • Bruce Steever

        It makes no sense until you need something that offers alterable gearing, the ability to handle dirt, and doesn’t cost an arm and weigh a leg.

  • Christopher Nugent

    So help me I like this thing and I mean thing….but just as long as I didn’t have to pay for it. It’s like a song you like when you hear it on the radio but no way are you buying the album.

  • CJ

    Not sure I get all the vitriol about this machine. Potent 700cc class. Usually gets much better mileage than the author reported here, but then he did admit to flogging it. With more conservative operation, 70mpg should be achieved. That gives a 210 mile range.

    Yes, as many have noted, the new NC700 bikes all have terrible fuel gauges that start complaining long before empty. Even his favorite NC700X has this ‘feature’. With nearly a gallon left in the tank, it starts to flash at you.

    Storage is small, but so is the machine. Can still add a topcase – heck, he’s got the mount right there. Most bikes this size don’t come with any storage. OK, the loss of a helmet compartment is a con, but having storage for standard items like rain gear is pretty cool. Someone will come up with a cool rack that mounts behind the seat back which will allow the packing of typical touring gear and a topcase. When given that, all the smaller compartments will be much more useful for the ‘quick grab’ items.

    The machine shown has the optional tall windshield, heated grips and passenger backrest. Strange because US dealers can’t order those bits yet.

    Helmet lock is included in the tool kit.

    No mention of the fact that every light on this is an LED? I’d still like to get a reviewer that tells us how the LED headlight works compared to traditional headlights. You’d think it would be pretty neat as the catalog price to replace it is $1200.

    No mention of the unique flat black paint.

    No mention that the machine is nice and quiet.

    No mention that the fairing does a much better job in terms of weather protection than just about anything that isn’t a scooter in this price range.

    Thank you for pointing out the floorboards have feelers and are much more comfortable than the pegs on the CTX700. Did you know that the floorboards and rear brake pedal also fold up if needed?

    No mention of the tons of handlebar space available to mount GPS, radio, etc.

    Sometimes I wonder what the reviewers really do. Many times they seem to spend more time seeking odd references than actually studying the machine they are supposed to be reviewing.

    • Kelly Davis

      I enjoy the led package on mine and the high beams are wicked bright.

  • Kevin

    JB, did you test this Stealth design against any police radars?

    • john burns

      If I did, it was a success.

  • Reid

    It needs Honda’s 800cc V4 and a red coat of paint with lots of stickers. Both for obvious reasons.

    • Bruce Steever


  • Piglet2010

    All I wanted was an improved Deauville, and instead we get this! :(

    Oh well, maybe the drive-train will end up in a new Silver Wing.

  • Piglet2010

    “The seat’s low enough to make you feel like Batman riding a recumbent bicycle…”

    25.6 inches is quite tall – my ‘bent has a seat height of half that.


    JB, given the choice of Honda’s NM4 or BMW’s C650 GT, which one would you choose? Which was most enjoyable to ride?

    • john burns

      If you need storage, the BMW wins I guess. It won last year’s big scooter shootout here: http://www.motorcycle.com/shoot-outs/2013-uber-scooter-shootout-video

      If storage isn’t a big deal, then it’s a tough call and up to you. Both are fun, functional, unique vehicles.

    • Kevin Duke

      I put in a few miles on the NM4 after JB wrote his review, and I was very impressed with it, especially with its DCT rather than the Beemers CVT. It feels vastly more direct than a CVT, and, in Sport mode, it downshifts when slowing to provide useful engine braking. And, FWIW, it also delivered several unsolicited enthusiastic comments from passersby.

      • BTRDAYZ

        Thanks Kevin. I think I want to order this bike. I also hope this spurs BMW to add a DCT to their C650 GT. I had a DCT in my Audi TT-S, and loved it. I also agree with another forum member that suggested the NM4 would have been nice with belt drive instead of a chain. Also would like to see more color options. And the 750cc engine.

        • Kelly Davis

          I also chose the nm4 over the bmw 600C and 650GT with no regrets.

          • BTRDAYZ

            Thanks Kelly!

  • Mr. A.Nasreldeen Ahmed

    I hope Investment in my country Egypt .. that you can make a branch in Giza & Cairo-Egypt
    Mr. Ahmed Nasreldeen Ahmed
    mobile: 0020201001334691

  • gar

    For whatever reason Honda insists on putting 19th century final drive(chain) on many of its new releases and tries to sell them to a target audience that has no interest in constant mechanical maintenance. Come on this is the 21st Century. Use belts or shaft drive.

  • gar

    Why does Honda insist on using a final drive system from the 19th century(chain) and try to sell to a target audience that has no interest in constant mechanical maintenance?
    Come on. this is the 21st century, use a belt or shaft.

    • Martin Buck

      Maybe Honda owns the company that makes the chains? Or that company’s owner has embarrassing photos of senior Honda management?

  • bbtowns

    The question is what are they doing with that extra saddle bag space? I’m guessing if you broke out the interior plastic on the bags you’d discover another few liters of storage.

    • Kevin Duke

      It’s the shapely cuts of styling that kills the interior space of the bags. I’ll guess the NM might’ve been designed in Italy, where style takes the front seat ahead of substance.

  • JasonWorthing

    I waited all these years for someone to finally produce Kaneda’s bike (from ‘Akira’)..and now… meh..

    Crazily enough I like quirky things enough to stay secretly interested.

  • https://www.youtube.com/user/MOTOJEDEYE/videos MotoJedeye

    Hey, why not?

  • Kelly Davis

    “The NM4 doesn’t even have a helmet lock.” Odd… Mine does and Honda even supplied a metal wire lock strap in the tool kit under the seat. In the reviewers defense though it is painted black but a quick review of the owners manual would clearly have avoided the oversight.

  • Drew

    NO OFFENSE to anyone OUT there,that actually LIKES the looks of this machine,but honestly??? That is the UGLIEST LOOKIN 2-wheeler I have EVER Come across!!! YUCK!!!

    • Treeman

      I felt the same when it first came out, but it’s starting to grow on me. The chain five is a deal killer though!

      • Drew

        I totally agree with ya Treeman!!! I mean………….Okay……….I suppose I COULD learn to deal with the “looks” of this thing,but NOT HAVING a perfectly functional,simple and easy “Shaft-drive” put on it??? No thanks!!!

  • E-Nonymouse A

    Loved the review, good read. I would haved hoped they could squeeze more fuel tank into the nm4 than the ctx700 dct i just bought. Still, i rode over 100 miles and it barely used 2 gallons, im still breaking it in.

  • JD101

    why…..why a three gallon tank?? IF this had more power, a bigger tank, and better storage it would have been a really cool bike.

  • JustSumGuy

    I will stick with my Burgman 650 thanx….
    I like the look and dash led features but the lack of storage space is a deal killer at half the price.

  • Harry

    I do enjoy the review, especially about the storage capacity .. I’ll put my vege salad in the rear and my main meat in front and I’m ready to go.

    our website

  • ron s

    honda is really coming out with some ugly crusiers…..

  • makalaglag

    Why the NM4 is disappointing: 1. No color choice, 2. Chain Drive, 3. Price, 4. Overdone Styling. If only my Suzuki C50 had an Auto Clutch/Transmission, I would not be looking at the Honda.

  • Wilfredo Hernandez

    Wow, this is a really cool design for a bike. Like you said it looks like something Batman would ride. I also like that it is easy to ride because I don’t have much experience with riding motorcycles. http://www.hondadirectline.com

  • John Timothy Hulsey

    What does this (trying to think of a name) bikscoot weigh?