Launched in 1988, World Superbike racing is 39 years MotoGP’s junior. Some notable champions have been produced in the series’ 27-year existence, but noticeably different between WSBK and MotoGP is the lack of one-man dominance. WSBK has multi-time champions (that’s what this Top 10 is all about), but nothing quite like MotoGP. For example, the 12 championship seasons, from 1994 through 2005 saw Mick Doohan and Valentino Rossi consume 10 of them (five apiece). That’s a decade of domination by two riders! Having a greater variety of champions makes for an arguably superior series, so kudos to WSBK.

Like our Top 10 MotoGP/500cc World Champions list, let’s first take a look at Rider World Championship Winners by Country and Constructor World Championship Winners.

Country Rider World Championships
Great Britain 8
Australia 5
France/Italy 2
Spain 1

Rider World Championship Winners by Country

Sixteen different champions represent six countries in the history of WSBK rider championships. The United States is currently in first place with nine championship titles won by six different riders. Great Britain is close behind with eight titles, but won by only four different riders. Australia is kind of the same with five championship titles won by only two riders.

Manufacturer Constructor World Championships
Ducati 17
Aprilia/Honda 4
Suzuki/Yamaha 1

Constructor World Championship Winners

When it comes to Constructor Championship titles, Ducati absolutely dominates, having won 17 of 27. Aprilia and Honda are tied with four apiece, while Suzuki and Yamaha are level with one apiece. It should be noted that Honda hasn’t won a Manufacturers title since John Kocinski won the Riders Championship in 1997.