HJC RPHA 11 PRO Helmet

Editor Score: 90.0%
Aesthetics 9.0/10
Protection 8.5/10
Value 9.5/10
Comfort/Fit 9.0/10
Quality/Design 9.0/10
Weight 9.5/10
Options/Selection 9.0/10
Innovation 9.0/10
Weather Suitability 9.0/10
Desirable/Cool Factor 8.5/10
Overall Score90/100

Updated May, 2021

HJC’s new top-line full-face helmet is here, and it is a pip, Alice. Long known as a reliable maker of high-quality helmets that are still affordable, the RPHA 11 PRO moves HJC one more step closer to the premium lids. And while its price tag has bumped up accordingly, $449.99 for this helmet still seems like a bargain.

The RPHA 11 PRO has been superseded by the RPHA 11 Carbon as HJC’s top-line racing helmet. It has all the same features in an even lighter, stronger carbon-fiber shell than the Integrated Matrix Plus of the older RPHA 11 PRO tested here. Along with that upgrade, the suggested retail price has gone substantially upward, to $530 – $600. Ouch… The good news is that the Pro is still being produced, in a crazy cast of graphics including an Otto Minions replica, licensed from Universal.

Other developments include new compact and aero-designed SMART HJC 20B and 10B Bluetooth communication systems co-developed with SENA, and tailored specially for HJC helmets. 

HJC’s first RPHA helmets got here in 2012, featuring its Premium Integrated Matrix Plus (PIM+) construction for a really light shell, smooth aerodynamics and comfort. The RPHA 11 Pro supersedes it, still using that carbon fiber/aramid/fiberglass/organic non-woven fabric shell, and now adding an enlarged eye port in a more aerodynamic shell (HJC has its own wind tunnel).

Another thing that’s really nice when you’re going that fast or for a long time is light weight, and this one’s got that going on for it too: 3 pounds, 3 ounces says my local postal scale, compared to 3 lbs, 8.5 oz for a new Arai Corsair X I brought along for comparison. I think that’s 11% lighter.

042417-hjc-hpha-11-pro-helmet-mc3

And before COTA, I packed this one along to ride in on the new Ducati Monster 797. I packed contact lenses too because I knew it was going to rain, and you know what a problem rain, mist, and looking through two layers of plastic can be. As luck would have it, the shield sealed so well I had zero leakage inside, and the breath diffuser kept me from fogging up, too. A little snap deal at the middle bottom of the shield seals it positively closed, and it’s easy to pop open when you want fresh air. Oh yeah, the RPHA 11 Pro comes with a clear shield and a dark one (and an anti-fog insert I failed to insert before the damp Ducati ride). A chimp could change the shields.

To be perfectly honest I didn’t realize HJC had sent me its latest and greatest until I was riding a CBR1000RR down the long back straight at COTA the other day, and noticed as I was hunkered down “behind the Perspex bubble,” as the old Brit announcers used to constantly announce, I could totally see where I was going thanks to the new higher eye port. Which is nice when you’re going that fast and not sure exactly which is the right direction. The helmet is super-snug and stable in 150-mph breezes too.

To be perfectly honest I didn’t realize HJC had sent me its latest and greatest race helmet until I was riding a CBR1000RR down the long back straight at COTA the other day, and noticed as I was hunkered down “behind the Perspex bubble,” as the old Brit announcers used to constantly announce, I could totally see where I was going thanks to the new higher eye port. Which is nice when you’re going that fast and not sure exactly which is the right direction. The helmet is super-snug and stable in 150-mph breezes too.

Venting? Yes of course, starring HJC’s new and improved Advanced Channeling Ventilation system, and now with a new forehead vent. There’s another pair of vents on the chinbar you can open and close. Overall I give this one a solid B for airflow. Not bad but not the best.

 These rotary intake vent controls on top, complete with wee rubber tires, are one example of RPHA attention to detail. Easy to feel and adjust with gloves on.


These rotary intake vent controls on top, complete with wee rubber tires, are one example of RPHA attention to detail. Easy to feel and adjust with gloves on.

When it comes to fit, though, which is the most important thing in a helmet for me, this one is right up there with the best – somewhere between the classic Shoei RF1200 and I have to say, slightly above the intermediate oval Arai Corsair X (Arai’s best attempt at fitting my Scottish/Irish/German mongrel head), whose retail price is about twice that of the HJC.

Cheek pads come in 5mm increments to allow a custom fit, and pop out easily in case of emergency. (They don’t pop back in so easy.) Of course it’s all anti-fungal wicking and all that, and there are recesses for speakers.

Cheek pads come in 5mm increments to allow a custom fit, and pop out easily in case of emergency. (They don’t pop back in so easy.) Of course it’s all anti-fungal wicking and all that, and there are recesses for speakers.

I’ve had no problems not finishing MotoGP races because of any helmet malfunctions so far, and no complaints from HJC’s sponsored rider Jonas Folger on his Tech 3 Yamaha either. The roughest thing about this helmet is its nomenclature; RPHA 11 Pro SKYRYM is quite a mouthful.

Easier maybe to go with one of the other RPHA 11 Pro graphics packages, of which there are a slew, including this Boba Fett that Toni Elias is wearing in MotoAmerica Superbike this year.

Easier maybe to go with one of the other RPHA 11 Pro graphics packages, of which there are a slew, including this Boba Fett that Toni Elias is wearing in MotoAmerica Superbike this year.

All the RPHA Pro 11s are DOT- and ECE-approved, come in sizes XS to 2XL, and have a five-year warranty. Prices range from $409.99 for solid colors up to $599.99 for your Boba Fetts and other Marvelous creations.
042417-hjc-hpha-11-pro-helmet-rear

RPHA 11 Carbon Bleer

Bleer and Nakri are the two basic graphics available in the RPHA 11 Carbon. We don’t know who comes up with the nomenclature?

Bottom Line/Superlight and aero

HJC RPHA 11 Pro

In addition to the current line-up of 11 Pros, there are still plenty of RPHA 11 Pro helmets available at discount, including this Cal Crutchlow replica.

Bottom Line/Fantastic lid for the (discounted) money

FAQ

Are HJC helmets any good?

HJC makes good helmets and great ones. We wouldn’t ride around a race track at over 150 mph in anything less than a great one. Any helmet with a genuine DOT sticker on it is far better than no helmet at all; ones that also pass the Euro ECE standard, like the 11 Pro and Carbon, are even better

What does HJC helmets stand for?

 HJC stands for Hong Jin-Crown Corporation, a South Korean  manufacturer of helmets for motorcycles and racing founded in 1971.

Which HJC helmet is the best?

For racing, the RPHA 11 Carbon is top-of-the-line. But the company makes a full range of helmets for all kinds of riding. For everyday and touring use, we’re big fans of modulars – and HJC’s latest is the i90.

Additional resources

MO Tested: HJC RPHA 90 Helmet Review

HJC CL-Y Youth Helmet Review

HJC RPHA MAX Modular Helmet Review, Take 2!

HJC CS-R3 Helmet Review


We are committed to finding, researching, and recommending the best products. We earn commissions from purchases you make using the retail links in our product reviews. Learn more about how this works.

Become a Motorcycle.com insider. Get the latest motorcycle news first by subscribing to our newsletter here.