World Supersport, Race Report

Glenn le santo
by Glenn le santo
The World Supersport championship at Lausitzring has been run. The result is here for you to see..

Wet Supersport race led by Australians - again!

The Supersport World championship race in Lausitzring was stopped after seven laps when it started to rain. After the restart the same three Australians who won the deluged race in Philip Island, Australia, shot to the front of the pack. At the end of the race the podium order was exactly the same as in Australia - with Kevin Curtain winning from Andrew Pitt and Adam Fergusson.

The first part of the race looked initially like it might be a benefit for the Ten Kate Honda team when both their Superstock riders took off in front of the pack. Foret got a great start - but the organisers deemed it was a jump start, so the Frenchman was forced to take a stop and go penalty. Meanwhile his team mate Pere Riba crashed out of second place. The Ten Kate weekend had gone from high to low in just a few minutes.

James Whitham was another rider who tasted the Lausitzring Tarmac - crashing out of the first lap. Championship leader and Whitham?s Belgarda Yamaha team mate Paolo Casoli finished a miserable weekend for him in 15th place. Casoli still leads the championship but now Kevin Curtain has closed the gap dramatically, to only 3 points.

World Supersport race result:1 Kevin Curtain, Australia (Honda) 45m56.744s2 Adam Fergusson, Australia (Honda) 46m 04.969s3 Andrew Pitt, Australia (Kawasaki) 46m 11.320s4 Vittoriano Guareschi, Italy (Ducati) 46m 17.221s5 Christophe Cogan, France (Yamaha) 46m 23.347s6 Iain MacPherson, GB (Kawasaki) 46m 38.918s7 Jorg Teuchert, Germany (Yamaha) 46m 54.237s8 Chris Vermeulen, Australia (Honda) 46m 57.198s9 Christian Kellner, Germany (Yamaha) 46m 58.779s10 Werner Daemen, Belgium (Yamaha) 47m 14.077s.World championship points after six of 11 rounds:1 Paolo Casoli, Italy (Yamaha) 842 Curtain 813 Pitt 724 Teuchert 635 Karl Muggeridge, Australia (Suzuki) 576 Pere Riba, Spain (Honda) 537 Guareschi 438 Fergusson 409 Piergiorgio Bontempi, Italy (Yamaha) 3910 James Whitham, GB (Yamaha) 38.Manufacturers points:1 Yamaha 1152 Honda 1013 Kawasaki 724 Suzuki 645 Ducati 43.Next round: Misano, San Marino - June 24
Get in your Inbox
Glenn le santo
Glenn le santo

More by Glenn le santo

Join the conversation