AMA Sportbike: 2010 Fontana Results Staff
by Staff
We’re committed to finding, researching, and recommending the best products. We earn commissions from purchases you make using links in our articles. Learn more here

AMA Sportbike: 2010 Fontana results

Cardenas and Herrin split Auto Club Speedway round
By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Mar. 29, 2010
Daytona victor Josh Herrin continued his winning ways while Martin Cardenas overcame windy conditions to split a pair of wins in at Auto Club Speedway, March 27-28.

The first Daytona Sportbike race was delayed due to high winds at the Fontana, Calif., circuit. When the race finally started, it was reigning champion Danny Eslick leading from the pole, followed by the Graves Yamaha pair of Tommy Aquino and Herrin. Latus Motors Ducati s Steve Rapp, Project 1 Yamahas Dane Westby and Cardenas were also among the lead group.

Eslick, who won the 2009 Daytona Sportbike on a Buell, showed his success was wasnt just due to the bike as he led the first six laps on his Geico RMR Suzuki. He was unable to break away however as Westby, Herrin and Cardenas stayed close.

ama sportbike 2010 fontana results, Josh Herrin is off to a strong start to the 2010 season winning the Daytona 200 and getting another victory at Auto Club Speedway
Josh Herrin is off to a strong start to the 2010 season winning the Daytona 200 and getting another victory at Auto Club Speedway.

Cardenas also had something to prove, seeking redemption after crashing out of the first lap of the Daytona 200. The M4 Monster Energy Suzuki racer moved into the lead on lap 12, and on the final lap, it was Cardenas and Eslick running side-by-side with Westby closing in. Cardenas would be the first across the finish while Eslick just finishing ahead of Westby for second.

The second race featured another close battle up front. Eslick and Herrin were in front most of the race, with Herrin often pushing ahead at the line only to lose the lead to Eslick on the first corner. Behind them, Cardenas remained in third until he fell on the front banking on lap 13. Cardenas was able to rejoin the race in tenth while Rapp took over in third place.

Eslick and Herrin continued their duel to the final lap as once again Herrin moved in front at the line to take the win by 0.028 seconds. Rapp would finish two second later in third.

Would you like us to deliver Articles in your mail box once a week? Simply submit your e-mail address below !Get in your Inbox Staff Staff

More by Staff

Join the conversation