2016 Isle of Man TT: RST Superbike TT

Dennis Chung
by Dennis Chung
Lead Photo by: Dave Neale

Michael Dunlop set new lap and race records in the RST Superbike TT, becoming the first rider to ever lap Isle of Man TT Mountain Course in under 17 minutes.

Dunlop broke the record on the opening lap, laying down a time of 16:58.439 on a BMW S1000RR, for an average speed of 133.369 mph. The previous record was set last year by John McGuinness in the Senior TT with a time of 17:03.567 and an average speed of 132.701 mph.

Five other racers averaged faster than 130 mph on the first lap with Ian Hutchinson the closest at 132.892 mph which was also faster than the previous record. Even more impressive is this was accomplished on the opening lap starting from a stand-still. How much faster could they get with a running start?

Dunlop answered that question on the second lap, lapping the 37.733-mile course in 16:58.254, setting another record with an average speed of 133.393 mph. The record-setting lap gave Dunlop a 7.5-second lead over Hutchinson with Dean Harrison and McGuinness another 31 seconds back.

Michael Dunlop and Ian Hutchinson take flight in the RST Superbike TT. Photo by IOMTT.com

Going into the pits didn’t slow Dunlop down as he emerged an additional four seconds ahead of Hutchison. The fourth lap saw Dunlop, Hutchinson and McGuinness riding close together before they headed to the pit one last time.

Dunlop was comfortably ahead for the final two laps, completing the six-lap race with a record time of 1:44:14.259, setting a new Superbike TT record by averaging a speed of 130.306 mph. Hutchinson finished second, putting a pair of BMW S1000RRs on top of the podium, joined by McGuinness’ Honda in third.

Also noteworthy was Bruce Anstey's eighth place finish in the Honda RC213V-S' debut in the Isle of Man TT. Photo by: Dave Neale

2016 Isle of Man TT: Superbike TT Top Five Results




Michael DunlopBMW/Hawk Racing1:44:14.259130.306 mph


Ian HutchinsonBMW/Tyco BMW1:44:33.323129.910 mph


John McGuinnessHonda Racing1:45:27.498128.798 mph


Peter HickmanKawasaki/GBmoto Racing Kawasaki1:45:44.951128.444 mph


Dean HarrisonKawasaki/Silicone Engineering1:46:09.896126.132 mph


Michael RutterBMW/Penz13.com1:48:04.608125.677 mph
Dennis Chung
Dennis Chung

Dennis has been a part of the Motorcycle.com team since 2008, and through his tenure, has developed a firm grasp of industry trends, and a solid sense of what's to come. A bloodhound when it comes to tracking information on new motorcycles, if there's a new model on the horizon, you'll probably hear about it from him first.

More by Dennis Chung

Join the conversation