2013 FIM ERoad Racing World Cup Cancelled

Dennis Chung
by Dennis Chung

The International Motorcycling Federation (FIM) and TTXGP have cancelled the eRoad Racing World Cup final.

The final, which would pit the top teams from the electric racing championship’s North American and European series, was originally scheduled to take place Nov. 17 as a support race for the World Superbike Championship round at India’s Buddh International Circuit. That WSBK round was cancelled in August, however, causing eRoad Racing organizers to scramble for a new venue for the finale.

Those efforts proved to have been in vain, forcing the organizers to call off the final. Organizers had previously also canceled the third and final round in the North American series, originally scheduled for Aug. 31-Sept. 1 at Miller Motorsports Park in Utah.

“The decision to cancel our world final was not one we have taken lightly,” says Azhar Hussain, TTXGP chief executive officer. “Unfortunately we have exhausted all our options to reschedule this event and have been left with no option but to cancel this year’s final and concentrate on making 2014 our best season yet.”

The World Cup format was only planned for the 2013 season with the merger between the FIM’s ePower championship and TTXGP’s eGrandPrix. Next year will feature a conventional world championship format with seven combined races planned, across three continents.

For 2013, the FIM eRoad Racing World Cup has crowned two regional champions for Europe and North America. Eric Bostrom takes the North American crown for Brammo while Ho Chi Fung wins the European title riding a motorcycle by Zongshen.

2013 FIM eRoad Racing World Cup North American Series final standings

1Eric BOSTROMBrammo45
2Kenyon KLUGEZero36
3Jeremiah JOHNSONZero29
4Shane TURPINBrammo25
5Arthur KOWITZBrammo21
6Shelina MOREDABrammo11
7Ted RICHZero10
8Elaine CARPENTERZero9

2013 FIM eRoad Racing World Cup European Series final standings

1Chi Fung HOZongshen75
2Rong Zai SUZongshen61
3Samuel WESTAgni 1257
4Oscar PENA MARINZongshen40
6Harald GASSEAgni 0928
8Rhalf LO TURCOMavizen TTX16
9Chris FOSTERZero S 201313
10Peter LINDENZero S 201313
11Philippe MONNERETMavizen TTX11
12Cormac CONROYZero S 201311
13Thomas SCHURICHTZongshen10
Dennis Chung
Dennis Chung

Dennis has been a part of the Motorcycle.com team since 2008, and through his tenure, has developed a firm grasp of industry trends, and a solid sense of what's to come. A bloodhound when it comes to tracking information on new motorcycles, if there's a new model on the horizon, you'll probably hear about it from him first.

More by Dennis Chung

Join the conversation