North American TTXGP Teams Announced Staff
by Staff
We’re committed to finding, researching, and recommending the best products. We earn commissions from purchases you make using links in our articles. Learn more here

North American TTXGP teams announced

Electric racing series has 12 entrants
By Motorcycle.Com Staff, May. 04, 2010
TTXGP organizers have released an entry list of teams competing in its first North American zero carbon racing series.

The entry list includes 12 teams featuring a mix of purpose-built electric motorcycles and conventional motorcycles converted to use an electric motor. Should all 12 teams compete in the series debut at Infineon Raceway, the starting grid would be more than double the opening race of the FIMs competing ePower series.

The teams entering the 2010 TTXGP North American Championship are:

  • Lightning Motorcycles / A&A Racing Lightning Motorcycles entered a modified Ducati in the 2009 TTXGP on the Isle of Man. In October 2009, Lightning Motorcycles recorded a top speed of 166 mph at the Bonneville Salt Flats on an electric motorcycle with a Ducati 1098 fairing with batteries from A123 Systems and a battery rumored to be from the General Motors EV1 electric car.
  • Blue Grass Green Team Working out of a sheep farm in Virginia, attorney Brian Richardson equipped a 1966 Norton Atlas frame with a 118-volt AC induction motor and lithium ion batteries. Thad Wolff will ride the machine that gets its name from another classic Norton: Electra. The BG-GT Electra claims a top speed of 120 mph.
  • Electric Race Bikes The ERB team is entering is entering its EGP motorcycle with two Agni 95R motors and LiFePo4 batteries. American Federation of Motorcycles Formula III class-winner Mike Hannas will race the EGP
  • Empirical Electric Inventor Bob Schneeveis has been building electric vehicles for 20 years. Racer Wendy Epstein will ride Schneeveis latest creation in the TTXGP series.
  • ZeroAgni Electric motorcycle manufacturer Zero Motorcycles is teaming up with Isle of Man TTXGP winner Agni Motors to form the ZeroAgni team. The team will enter a new motorcycle based on the Zero S.
  • K Squared Racing Zero Motorcycles electrical engineer Kenyon Kluge is entering his own team using a modified Zero S motorcycle. Powered by a permanent magnet brushed DC motor and a 5.4 kW h battery, the K Squared motorcycle claims a top speed of 110 mph.
  • Electric Motorsport The Oakland-based Electric Motorsport won the 2009 Isle of Man TTXGPs open class. Racer James Pooler will ride the teams converted Yamaha R1 equipped with an AC induction motor with a claimed speed of 120 mph.
  • Square Wave Racing Team engineer Sean Ewing worked on several electric vehicle projects during his time at Ohio State Universitys Center for Automotive Research. Ewing and his business partner Jordan Rhyne of Rhyne Electric Powersports have teamed with machinist and racer John Wild to form Square Wave Racing. The team is entering a converted Honda CBR600F3 with a proprietary electric motor. The bike claims a top speed of 120 mph.
  • Pro Racing Founded by professional AMA racer Chip Yates, is entering a modified Suzuki GSX-R750 with a liquid-cooled permanent magnet DC motor with a claimed output of 190 hp. The team plans to modify its racebike for each round of the series to specifically meet the challenges of each track. Ohlins USA road racing manager Mike Fitzgerald will be the teams suspension design specialist.
  • Pril Motors Pril Motors first electric motorcycle was a converted Kawasaki Ninja using six lead batteries dubbed the XR-1. For the TTXGP, Pril Motors will switch to a 4.3 kW h lithium ion battery to power a new AC motor. The new motor is capable of regenerative braking to recharge the battery while braking.
  • Volt Motors Mechanic Loren Crotty an designer Eland Eggers teamed up to produce electric motorcycles in 2008. Crotty and Eggers both work for electric vehicle company Thunderstruck Motors who will sponsor the team. The team will enter rider Spencer Smith.
  • Werkstatt Racing San Francisco-based Werkstatt Racing will enter a Mavizen TTX02. Team owner Jennifer Bromme, an AFM racer and AMA racing technician will ride the TTX02 which uses a KTM RC8 chassi and an Agni 95R motor.

Noticeably absent are Mission Motors (who announced it would race exclusively in the TTXGP), MotoCzysz and Brammo.

The 2010 TTXGP North American Championship begins May 14-16 at Infineon Raceway in Sonoma, Calif.

Related Reading
Electric Motorcycles Primer
FIM e-Power: 2010 Le Mans results
FIM e-Power Le Mans entry list released

Would you like us to deliver Articles in your mail box once a week? Simply submit your e-mail address below !Get in your Inbox Staff Staff

More by Staff

Join the conversation