Somebody Won at Sears

Brent Avis
by Brent Avis
Somebody won. Quite a few people lost, too.

Some people needed medical attention. One of them was the winner.

There's names and details somewhere in all of this...

Anthony Gobert took the lead with three lapsremaining and held off a furious charge by Nicky Hayden to win the AmericanMotorcyclist Association Superbike Challenge on Sunday at Sears Point Raceway.

It was the sixth victory of Gobert's career and the first Superbike victory forYamaha since 1998 at Daytona International Speedway. Moreover, it was Yamaha'sfirst Superbike win at Sears Point Raceway since 1994.

But the victory didn't come easy for Gobert, who managed to pass Hayden (Honda)on lap 24 of the 26-lap feature.

Gobert slid inside of Hayden entering Turn 7and survived several challenges to take the checkered flag. This was the secondround of the U.S. Chevy Trucks Superbike Championship.

"This is probably the best feeling I've had for victory in my whole life," saida dehydrated Gobert following the race. "Those last 10 laps I was dying but Iwanted to win so bad. Nicky gave it one hell of a fight but I was just lucky tohave enough for him."

Hayden made his final bid for the lead in Turn 11 of the last lap but he justdidn't have the power to get by the Yamaha rider.

"That last lap I knew it was going to be close," Hayden said. "I thought Imight be able to pass him on Turn 11 but I just couldn't get it done. Anthonydid a great job."

Aaron Yates finished in third place for Suzuki, while teammate Mat Mladin tookfourth. Mladin, the 1999 winner at Sears Point Raceway, was the pole-sitter forSunday's feature.

Gobert was able to pull off the rare double as he also took first place forYamaha in the Pro Honda Oils 600 SuperSport final. Other winners on the daywere in Roland Sands (Yamaha) in the MBNA 250 Grand Prix and Mike Ciccotto(Buell) in Buell Pro Thunder.

AMA Chevy Trucks U.S. Superbikes, SONOMA, Calif.Results Sunday of the AMA Chevy Trucks U.S. Superbike raceat Sears Point Raceway, with rider, hometown or country, make of motorcycleand laps completed:1. Anthony Gobert, Australia, Yamaha R7, 26.2. Nicky Hayden, Owensboro, Ky., Honda RC51, 26.3. Aaron Yates, Milledgeville, Ga., Suzuki GSXR750, 26.4. Mat Mladin, Australia, Suzuki GSXR750, 26.5. Miguel Duhamel, Canada, Honda RC51, 26.6. Eric Bostrom, Las Vegas, Kawasaki ZX7, 26.7. Doug Chandler, Salinas, Calif., Kawasaki ZX7, 26.8. Steve Rapp, Lafayette, Calif., Ducati 996, 26.9. Larry Pegram, Baltimore, Ohio, Ducati 996, 26.10. Kurtis Roberts, Hickman, Calif., Honda RC51, 26.11. Pascal Picotte, Canada, Harley-Davidson VR1000, 26.12. Tommy Hayden, Owensboro, Ky., Yamaha R7, 26.13. Jordan Szoke, Canada, Harley-Davidson VR1000, 26.14. Andreas Meklau, Austria, Ducati 996, 26.15. Michael Smith, Canton, Ga., Harley-Davidson VR1000, 26.16. Jamie Hacking, Boiling Springs, S.C., Suzuki GSXR750, 25.17. James Randolph, San Jose, Calif., Suzuki GSXR750, 25.18. Robert Mesa, Santa Clara, Calif., Suzuki GSXR750, 25.19. Anthony Lupo, San Rafael, Calif., Suzuki GSXR750, 25.20. Tony Meiring, Tracy, Calif., Suzuki GSXR750, 25.21. James Doerfler, Massillon, Ohio, Suzuki GSXR750, 25.22. Edward Milhausen, Alameda, Calif., Suzuki GSXR750, 25.23. James King, Stockton, Calif., Suzuki GSXR750, 25.24. Scott Jensen, Glendale, Ariz., Suzuki GSXR750, 24.25. Alan Schmidt, Canada, Suzuki GSXR750, 16.26. Doug Pitcock, Oakley, Calif., Suzuki GSXR750, 16.27. Dean Mizdal, Huntington Beach, Calif., Suzuki GSXR750, 12.28. Mark Foster, Menlo Park, Calif., Yamaha R7, 11.29. Shawn Reilly, Sacramento, Calif., Suzuki GSXR750, 10.Time of race: 41 minutes, 9.115 seconds.Winner's average speed: 95.530 miles per hour.Margin of victory: 0.104 seconds.Lap leaders: N. Hayden, 1-15, 21-23. Gobert, 16-20, 24-26.Point standings (after two of 13 rounds):1. Mat Mladin (66).2. Eric Bostrom (57).3. Nicky Hayden (54).4. Doug Chandler (51).5. Kurtis Roberts (50).
Get in your Inbox
Brent Avis
Brent Avis

More by Brent Avis

Join the conversation