AMA-SX: 2010 Seattle Results Staff
by Staff

AMA-SX: 2010 Seattle results

Dungey crowned 2010 Supercross champion
By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Apr. 26, 2010
Ryan Dungey has officially secured the 2010 AMA Supercross Championship with a conservative fourth-place effort at Seattles Qwest Field.

The Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider needed at least a sixth place finish to mathematically clinch the title with two more rounds remaining, but with his only challenger, Kawasaki s Ryan Villopoto, out with a broken leg, it was merely a formality.

Its been an amazing season to sit here after 15 rounds and be the Champion, says Dungey. It was a lot of hard work and effort put in by everybody on the Rockstar Makita Suzuki team. As a little kid, I would dream as I watched races and say, One day, I want to be that guy. This really is a dream come true, and all the hard work has paid off. The whole team gives 110 per cent every week, and when were all on the same page, this is what can happen. I have to thank the Man Above for making all this happen.

Ryan Dungey is the 2010 AMA and FIM World Supercross Champion.

Geico Powersports Honda s Kevin Windham took the holeshot and was never really challenged as he led all 20 laps for the win, his first since 2008, also at the Seattle round.

That was the gnarliest race Ive ever ridden, says Windham. The streak is over and it happened here in Seattle. It feels so good. I closed it out here in 2008 strong and Im glad to do it again. Ill tell you, as I get older, things like this are much harder to come by. Tonight was just about survival. I was glad I could keep it up on two wheels.

Dungey sat in second for the opening three laps before ceding to Muscle Milk JGR Yamaha s Justin Brayton and his Suzuki teammate Thomas Hahn. Rain showers on the Pacific northwest created a rough track, so Dungey rode at a safe pace to become just the second rider to win the championship in his first full season.

Ryan is now a Rookie Champion, which is pretty amazing, says Roger DeCoster, Rockstar Makita Suzuki team manager. Only Jeremy McGrath has done that before, but Dungey is a World Champion because this is an AMA and FIM Championship. I dont believe that was the case with McGraths first Championship, so this is an amazing feat.

The 2010 AMA Supercross season continues May 1 in Salt Lake City, Utah, before wrapping up May 8 in Las Vegas Nev.

2010 AMA Supercross: Seattle Results
450 Supercross Results 450 Series Point Standings
1. Kevin Windham
2. Thomas Hahn
3. Justin Brayton
4. Ryan Dungey
5. Davi Millsaps
6. Nick Wey
7. Michael Byrne
8. Chad Reed
9. Andrew Short
10. Kyle Chisholm
1. Ryan Dungey
2. Ryan Villopoto
3. Kevin Windham
4. Davi Millsaps
5. Josh Hill
6. Justin Brayton
7. Ivan Tedesco
8. Nick Wey
9. Thomas Hahn
10. Kyle Chisholm
Would you like us to deliver Articles in your mail box once a week? Simply submit your e-mail address below !Get in your Inbox Staff Staff presents an unrivaled combination of bike reviews and news written by industry experts

More by Staff

Join the conversation