8. Fred Merkel – 2 Titles, 5 Wins


There are many two-time WSBK champions, so we’re ranking them according to number of races won during their respective championship title seasons, beginning with Fred Merkel with five race wins. Merkel was World Superbike’s first champion as well as its first two-time champion, winning titles in 1988 and 1989. Equally famous (arguably more so) is the bike aboard which Merkel won his two championships, the Honda RC30. Prior to making history in the new WSBK series, Merkel had won three AMA Superbike titles for Honda in 1984, ’85 and ’86. Merkel also won the Suzuka 8 Hours endurance race in 1984.