1. Carl Fogarty


WSBK’s only four-time champion (1994, 1995, 1998, 1999) Carl Fogarty, and Ducati’s 916 are both legendary. Known for his aggressive, take-no-prisoners riding style, and inability to be genteel, “Foggy” was a man you either liked or did not like. His racing prowess, though, was undeniable. Like Bayliss, Fogarty may have had another championship title under his belt had it not been for his inconsistency. Fogarty won 11 races in 1993, compared to the eventual title winner, Scott Russell’s five race wins. During his WSBK career, Fogarty won a total of 59 races. Fogarty is considered the king of World Superbike racing, and probably will be until someone can win five or more championship titles. Foggy’s career-ending crash was in 2000, when Bayliss was called up from Bologna to leave the Vance & Hines AMA team and hop on a plane from Daytona to replace Foggy.