Editor Score: 89.75%
Aesthetics 9.0/10
Protection 8.5/10
Value 9.0/10
Comfort/Fit 9.25/10
Quality/Design 9.0/10
Weight 9.0/10
Options/Selection 9.0/10
Innovation 8.75/10
Weather Suitability 9.0/10
Desirable/Cool Factor 9.25/10
Overall Score89.75/100

At first sight, I wasn’t overly stoked about the look of the REV’IT! Prometheus jacket. It was just a little too simple. My wife, however, was plenty stoked. The folks at REV’IT! had offered it as an alternative to a jacket which is being discontinued and I agreed to give it a try. Once I received it, I was much happier with it and my wife who works in the fashion industry gave me the old, “I told you so”. That happens more often than I’d like to admit – with style, anyway.

MO Tested: Rev’it! Stewart Air Leather Jacket Review

The Prometheus leather jacket from REV’IT! is subtle, if you wanted to put it in a box, you could say it’s somewhat retro or cafe racer-ish, but I prefer to think of it as a stylish jacket that will look at home with any motorcycle you choose to wear it on. When I got the call that I would be heading to Italy to ride Moto Guzzi’s V85 TT as well as a couple of new Vespas, I knew exactly the jacket I would be bringing with me.

During one of the cooler nights in Milan, I wore the REV’IT! Prometheus jacket out on the town, perks of having a jacket without metal sliders or branding all over it.

The REV’IT! Prometheus jacket’s leather is supple and as soft as a jacket that’s been passed down through generations with decades of wear, and that’s right out of the box. The beat buffalo leather (don’t worry, it was beat during the tanning process, not while alive… I think) gives the jacket an almost matte finish and is again, incredibly comfortable. The white stripes on the sleeves and white leather logo on the back are just the right amount of accents to keep the Prometheus from being just another black leather jacket.

REV’IT! Prometheus Jacket Review

Quilted, for your pleasure… er, warmth.

Inside, the jacket features a removable quilted vest liner for cooler days with a dedicated mesh liner behind it. The removable liner has a zippered pocket in addition to three other inside pockets on the jacket itself. Also included is a zipper to connect to REV’IT!’s Safeway 2 belt as well as two jeans loops to secure to your belt or belt loops in order to keep the jacket from riding up.

The REV’IT! Prometheus jacket uses the company’s Seesmart CE-level 1 protectors in the shoulder and elbow, which are thin and malleable enough to not be felt when wearing the jacket, but are said to disperse energy well enough to garner a CE 1 rating. The jacket does not come with a back protector though it has a pocket which is shaped to take the Seesoft CE-level 2 back protector.

REV’IT! Prometheus Jacket Review

See! On-road, on scooters, off-road, whatever!

When I received this jacket I was a little worried about the lack of perforation. Almost every leather jacket in my collection is perforated, not only because I live in sunny Southern California, but also because I generally run hot. Thankfully, when I have gotten a bit warm, opening the front zipper a bit and unzipping the gusseted sleeves allows for enough airflow to get in and cool you off. The fit of the Prometheus is much like the REV’IT! Stewart Air jacket I had used before, which isn’t too snug and hangs around the body loose enough for air to flow through. In fact, the fit is almost directly spot on except the arms on the Prometheus are much tighter around the biceps. It does feel like it has broken in already a bit in the time I have spent riding with it and already feels looser in the sleeves.

REV’IT! Prometheus Jacket Review

The Prometheus jacket comes in this subdued black and white colorway, or a red and gray that is equally as rad with a tad more Michael Jackson flair. At $479.99, whichever Prometheus calls to you, it won’t break the bank.

The attention to detail on the REV’IT! Prometheus is also appreciated. From the subtle branding and stylistic details to the functional ones, like the extra leather that covers the first six inches of the zipper, the Prometheus is the kind of jacket that will transcend genres and styles of rides and riders. If you’re looking for a leather jacket to use on just about anything, give the REV’IT! Prometheus a gander.

Shop for the REV’IT! Prometheus Jacket $479.99


We are committed to finding, researching, and recommending the best products. We earn commissions from purchases you make using the retail links in our product reviews. Learn more about how this works.