AGV X3000

Editor Score: 84.50%
Aesthetics 9.0/10
Protection 9.0/10
Value 5.0/10
Comfort/Fit 9.0/10
Quality/Design 9.0/10
Weight 9.0/10
Options/Selection 9.0/10
Innovation 7.5/10
Weather Suitability 9.0/10
Desirable/Cool Factor 9.0/10
Overall Score84.5/100

The AGV X3000, if you hadn’t noticed, is AGV’s heritage-inspired line of full-face helmets. What sets the X3000 apart from others cashing in on the retro resurgence is the fact that this helmet is designed to replicate AGV’s first full-face helmet that donned the head of none other than the legendary motorcycle racer, Giacomo Agostini in 1969. The fact that Ago himself helped design the original helmet that the X3000 is based off gives this nostalgic lid a bit more street cred than your run of the mill vintage brain bucket.

Shop for the AGV X3000 here

The shape of the AGV X3000 is decidedly retro. AGV even opted to stick with the shortened chinbar from the original which was requested by Ago to get his head lower on the gas tank while in a tuck. Although the shape is old school, the materials are anything but. The X3000’s shell is made from AFC (Advanced Composite Fiber) fiberglass and comes in three sizes (XS-MS, ML-L, and XL-XXL) to fit the corresponding helmet sizes.

The interior liner is made mostly of microsuede which is comfortable against the face while the bottom is lined with leather to prevent moisture from wicking up into the helmet. The X3000 used a standard double D-ring closure. 

AGV X3000 Review

To open up the single vent on the front of the helmet, users will need to pop out the rubber insert. Thankfully, AGV provided a small sleeve on the underneath side of the right cheekpad to store the insert when it’s not in. use.

A single inlet vent is found at the forehead and opened by removing the rubber insert in the shield. This inlet vents air over the top of the head. Typically, I’m not a fan of removable plugs for helmet vents. They make sense in the case of the Pista GP-R for weight savings and the fact that you aren’t likely to want to open and close your vents during a race, but otherwise, the risk of losing the plug can be annoying. Thankfully, AGV added a small pocket on the underneath side of the right cheekpad in which the X3000’s vent plug can be stored. Clever.

The shield is removable and three tints are available (dark smoke, yellow, and silver iridium). Unfortunately, removing the shield requires an allen wrench. Not a huge deal, but it isn’t a toolless system like we see on most helmets these days. The shield does have detents and a securing mechanism on the left side to keep it shut.

AGV X3000 Review

Those circlip-style fasteners on the side of the helmet aren’t actually functional, but rather a styling cue that doesn’t have anything to do with the shield removal. Under the black rubber plug in the middle sits an allen bolt that needs to be removed to switch out the shield.

Of the three retro-styled helmets I have on the shelf (the others being the Bell Moto 3 and the Biltwell Gringo), the X3000 is the best fitting. Its intermediate oval head shape fits snug and secure without causing any hotspots to develop. The padding isn’t nearly as plush as something like an Arai, but rather feels firm and supportive. The X3000 is the first AGV helmet I’ve actually had to size up with. I wear a MS (Medium/Small) in every other AGV, from the Pista and Corsa race and sport helmets, to the Sport Modular and K6. I sized up to a ML (Medium/Large) for the X3000 and it fits spot on. 

AGV X3000 Review

The large open viewport provides an excellent field of view.

Around town I have no complaints about the X3000. It has a large view port, the helmet is physically small, so it’s one of the few that fit under the seat on my Vespa, and at 3 lbs 2.4 oz, it’s pretty lightweight. The only issue I’ve found becomes more pronounced once speeds pick up or temperatures drop. That fun little detail about the contoured chin bar, the one that Agostini wanted shortened so he could tuck down closer to the tank while racing, causes a lot of wind to make its way up into the helmet. This of course worsens with speed and if it’s cold, you’ll need a really good Buff or balaclava to keep warm. I haven’t ridden through dusty conditions while using the helmet, but I also assume it could let a lot of debris in. 

That little niggle about the chinbar isn’t the only downside to the X3000 though. At $449.95 (for the graphic pictured), the X3000 is expensive. Prices range from $400 for black or white to $600 for replica lids bearing the likenesses of Barry Sheene and Angel Nieto. If you want the limited edition AGO1, we’re talking $700. Ouch. 

AGV X3000 Review

The AGV X3000 is DOT and ECE certified.

I do think the X3000 is the nicest feeling, nicest looking retro helmet on the market with an acute attention to detail. I think the real history behind the helmet is also interesting and the fact that it involves (arguably) the GOAT, Giacomo Agostini, takes its cool factor to a whole other level, but dang, it’s spendy. Worth it? You’ll have to decide for yourself. 

Shop for the AGV X3000 here


We are committed to finding, researching, and recommending the best products. We earn commissions from purchases you make using the retail links in our product reviews. Learn more about how this works.