TTXGP signs electric bike manufacturers

Three teams sign up after TTXGP-FIM split

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Dec. 03, 2009
TTXGP has received commitments from Mission Motors, Zero Motorcycles and CRP Racing to compete in its new electric racing series.

San Franciscos Mission Motors and Italys CRP Racing have agreed to race exclusively with TTXGPs eGrand Prix, forgoing the International Motorcycling Federation rival e-Power series. Zero will race in the eGrand Prix but it is not yet clear if they will compete in the FIMs series.

Mission will compete on a race-spec version of their street-legal Mission One. The race machine will share the same powertrain and chassis but with an improved fairing. The Mission One debuted at the TTXGP time trial at the Isle of Man in June.

We knew that we were participating in something important when we unveiled our Mission One on the Isle of Man last June, but what we have seen in the ensuing months is nothing other than the beginning of the transformation of motorsports, says Edward West, founder and president of Mission Motors. This series inspires people to look beyond what people have previously thought possible, combining zero-emissions, and high performance.

TTXGP has signed three manufacturers, including the maker of the Mission One, to its eGrand Prix since the FIM announced its own competing series.

Zero will enter a machine that shares design cues from the Zero S. It will use Zeros Z-Force powertrain technology. A Zero MX recently won a race against 450cc combustion motorcycles in France.

Electric motorcycles are powerful, exciting and available now. There is no race that highlights electric motorcycle technology more than the TTXGP and we are excited to support their efforts with our own racing team, says Gene Banman, chief executive officer of Zero Motorcycles. We have identified a series of strategic partners for this program and will be making announcements shortly about their involvement.

CRP Racing will compete on the eCRP1.0, scheduled to be unveiled Jan. 13, 2010 at a Motorsports Industry Association conference in Birmingham, England. Livia Cevolini, CPR sales director, says she supports the vision of TTXGP founder Azhar Hussain.

I support and share the idea of TTXGP Founder, Azhar Hussain, who deserves to be given the credit for creating a new era of motorsport, says Cevolini. Moreover, I think that these bikes are also a skilful demonstration of how motorsport can adjust to the environment without giving up its identity.

All three teams are expected to compete in the 2010 Isle of Man race. Mission and Zero will compete in the North American eGrand Prix series beginning May 14-16 at Infineon Raceway in Sonoma, Calif. CPR will compete in the TTXGPs British series.

TTXGPs signing of the three electric motorcycle manufactures comes after the FIM broke away to form its own series. With Mission, Zero and CRP on its roster, the TTXGP has an edge over the FIM whose series has yet to announce any competitors.

Related Reading
FIM announces electric racing series (Now)
FIM announces electric racing series (Then)
Electric Bike GP Coming to U.S.
Electric Superbike Unveiled at SEMA [video]
TTXGP disappointed with FIM
2009 TTXGP results