TTXGP: 2010 Road America results

Lightning strikes in Elkhart Lake

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Jun. 08, 2010
Michael Barnes took round two of the 2010 TTXGP North American series at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wis.

Racing for Lightning Motorcycles, Barnes won the five-lap race, averaging 80.402 mph on the 4.05 mile circuit. The Lightning bike, based on a Ducati 1098, may have suffered from a lack of corner clearance in the first race at Infineon Raceway but Road America’s long stretches of straight played more to its strengths than the Sonoma, Calif., circuit’s curvy layout.

Second place went to Zoe Rem of Team Agni Motors, making her the first woman to reach the podium in TTXGP racing. Rem set the fastest lap with a time of 2:55.874.

Thad Wolff, who qualified in pole position, finished third on the BG-GT Electra with an electric AC motor in a 1966 Norton Atlas frame.

Werkstatt Racing’s Jennifer Bromme finished fourth despite having to reboot her Mavizen TTX02 during the race. Bromme had to do the same at Infineon.’s James Pooler finished fifth while Mike Hannas of Electric Race Bikes was sixth, both hindered by overheating issues. Earlier in the weekend, Pooler high-sided during a wet second qualifying session, as seen in the following video:

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

Square Wave Racing’s Scotty Ryan finished in last place, with his fastest lap nearly a minute slower than Barnes’ best lap.

The race also featured the series’ first bit of controversy. The Electra team filed a complaint with the race director about Barnes and Hannas’ qualifying. Neither Lightning Motorcycles nor ERB completed a lap in qualifying, which was held in wet conditions.

The TTXGP North American Championship is using the 2010 AMA Road Racing rulebook, which allows for the top ten teams in the points standings to receive one provisional start per season. Both Lightning and ERB were allowed to start, with Barnes placed at the back of the starting grid.

The series will continue north of the border with round three in Mosport International Raceway in Bowmanville, Ont., July 8-11. Barnes leads all riders with 45 points ahead of Rem at 30 points. Hannas and Bromme are tied for third with 26 points.

Related Reading
First U.S. TTXGP at Infineon Raceway
North American TTXGP teams announced