Provisional 2011 Moto2 Teams Announced

Smaller grid for 2011

By Motorcycle.Com Staff, Oct. 04, 2010
The International Motorcycling Federation announced a slimmed-down provisional grid for the 2011 Moto2 Championship.

The Moto2 class has produced some exciting racing in its debut 2010 season, featuring prototype motorcycle running on 600cc Honda engines. The series had one main criticism through the season however: there were too many entries.

While the premier MotoGP class struggled to consistently field 18 entries, the typical Moto2 race had twice as many racers. As a result of the large entry field, many races began with multiple-rider crashes on the first corner.

To address this problem, the FIM, promoter Dorna Sports and the International Road-Racing Teams Association decided to reduce the number of entries for 2011. The selection committee received applications from 36 teams representing 61 entries and decided to accept 15 teams and 29 riders. A number of other teams were placed on a reserve list for future consideration while a number of other applications were denied outright.

Tech 3 Racing, represented this season by rider Yuki Takahashi, is on the provisional list to return for 2011.

Selected teams have until Oct. 30 to name their riders and submit a deposit to the IRTA. Teams failing to pay the deposit or name an acceptable rider may lost their places to a team on the reserve list.

Provisional 2011 Moto2 Teams:

  • Forward Racing
  • Gresini Racing
  • Interwetten Moriwaki Moto2 *
  • Jack & Jones by A. Banderas
  • JIR Moto2
  • Mapfre Aspar Team
  • Marc VDS Racing
  • MZ Motor
  • Racing Team By Quereseno
  • Speed Up
  • Stop and Go Racing Team
  • Tech 3 Racing
  • Technomag CIP
  • Tenerife 40 Pons
  • Viessman Kiefer Racing

All teams are submitting two-rider teams except for Interwetten Moriwaki Moto2 which is entering a single rider.