Motocross Des Nations Team is Announced

Brent Avis
by Brent Avis
AMA Pro Racing has officially announced the final selection of the 2001 Chevy Trucks Motocross des Nations team. Riders will include Honda's Ryan Hughes, Kawasaki's Ricky Carmichael and Suzuki's Travis Pastrana -- last year's winning trio.

The team will once again be managed by Team Suzuki's Roger DeCoster along with AMA Pro Racing's Motocross Manager Duke Finch. This year's Motocross des Nations will be held September 29-30 in Namur, Belgium.

The three-member team is the same three that won the coveted Chamberlain Trophy last year in St. Jean d' Angel, France...

Keeping the team together was a logical choice says Finch. "These three guys are the ones that brought thetrophy back home last year. They are all excited to go back again, and they deserve the opportunity to defendtheir title."

Team USA has a long history of dominating the Motocross des Nations, including an amazing streak of wins thatbegan in 1981 with riders Chuck Sun, Johnny O'Mara, Danny LaPorte and Donnie Hansen. American dominance continuedfor 13 consecutive years until 1994 when the team finished second. Team USA won again in Jerez, Spain in 1996, butdid not dominate the event again until last year when the powerhouse team of Hughes, Carmichael and Pastrana putthe USA on top of the world.

Get in your Inbox
Brent Avis
Brent Avis

More by Brent Avis

Join the conversation