Laguna WSBK Race Two

Calvin Kim
by Calvin Kim
You know the drill... make with the clicky if you want to know the results.

Special thanks to the man, Glenn Le Santo for flying out and covering the race for us!

Ben Bostrom won both races at Laguna Seca in the USA to make it threestraight wins in the World Superbike championship. In perfect displayof race craft Bostrom lead from start to finish and kept a hard charging Troy Corser at bay during the closing stages. Troy Corser attacked Bostrom after getting past Colin Edwards and Neil Hodgson but Bostrom kept his eye on his pit board and kept up the gap constant at around 3 seconds.

"Ben was reading his board like a smart guy and he put in some quicklaps when I tried to catch him," explained Corser. "I pushed hard, but not hard enough to crash."

Neil Hodgson fought off a determined challenge from Colin Edwards tohold on to third place, meaning the podium for the second race had the same three riders as race one on it. "My race didn't go according to plan, which was to hang onto Ben," said the reigning British Superbike champion. "Then I got caught up in a big dice with Troy Corser and Colin Edwards and we lost touch with Bostrom. It was a great dice, really enjoyable but I think I burnt the tyre up a little in it."

Troy Bayliss finished in fourth, with Eric Bostrom fifth and Edwardssixth. The result means that Troy Corser is still third in the title but has closed the points gap to 61 as the Superbikes prepare to go to the next round at Brands Hatch in England on July 29th.

Race two results, Laguna Seca1. Ben Bostrom, Ducati, USA, 40:31.3202. Troy Corser, Aprilia, AUS, 40:33.6803. Neil Hodgson, Ducati, GBR, 40:46.6304. Troy Bayliss, Ducati, AUS, 40:49.4485. Eric Bostrom, Kawasaki, USA, 40:49.9046. Colin Edwards, Honda, USA, 40:50.1267. James Toseland, Ducati, GBR, 40:50.3998. Akira Yanagawa, Kawasaki, JPN, 40:50.7179. Regis Laconi, Aprilia, FRA, 41:02.06710. Ruben Xaus, Ducati, ESP, 41:05.419Championship standings1. Troy Bayliss, 2762. Colin Edwards, 2233. Troy Corser, 2154. Ben Bostrom, 1975. Neil Hodgson, 1776. Pierfrancesco Chili, 1537. Gregorio Lavilla, 1208. Akira Yanagawa, 1189. Tady Okada, 11310. Ruben Xaus, 92

Next round: Brands Hatch, England, July 29th

Get in your Inbox
Calvin Kim
Calvin Kim

More by Calvin Kim

Join the conversation