World Superbike Championship, Donington Park, Race Two

Glenn le santo
by Glenn le santo
Well it's all over bar the sidecars and you'll have to read on if you want to know who won race two at Donington. If you don't want to know the result because you are watching it on the TV, a word of warning - it was a seriously good race...

Chili robs Hodgson of double victory

Pierfrancesco Chili snatched the win in race two at Donington to rob local hero Neil Hodgson of a double World Superbike victory. Hodgson led for much of the race, having passed early leader Colin Edwards. It looked like Hodgson would repeat his performance in race one and run away with another victory. But Chili and Aprilia rider Troy Corser had other plans and, with some determined riding that saw Chili set the fastest lap of the race, the pair caught Hodgson in the closing stages of the race.

Hodgson managed to hold them at bay for several laps but Chili kept piling on the pressure. With Corser dropping back the scene was set for a last lap thriller after Chili snatched the lead on the penultimate lap. Hodgson tried everything to get back in front, but Chili was a match for him and held his nerve. Even braking very late into the final bend failed to faze Chili who blasted across the line just a fraction ahead of Hodgson to claim his first win of the season.

While Hodgson was obviously disappointed not to have made the double he can console himself with by far his best result of the season. At the top of the championship table the gap was closed by Corser’s third place, as championship leader Troy Bayliss came home a lowly ninth. Bayliss still leads the title race with 160 points but Corser has closed the gap and is now 17 points down on 143 points. Edwards remains third in the title on 141 points with Chili back in fourth on 119.

Second race result:1 Chili 39m 30.374s,2 Hodgson 39m 30.499s,3 Troy Corser, Australia (Aprilia) 39m 30.930s,4 Bostrom 39m 37.788s,5 John Reynolds, GB (Ducati) 39m 39.742s,6 Edwards 39m 42.092s,7 Okada 39m 42.246s,8 Akira Yanagawa, Japan (Kawasaki) 39m 43.427s,9 Troy Bayliss, Australia (Ducati) 39m 46.910s,10 Xaus 39m 48.611s.World Superbike championship points after six of 13 rounds:1 Bayliss 160,2 Corser 143,3 Edwards 141,4 Chili 119,5 Hodgson 103,6 Bostrom 97,7 Yanagawa 89,8 Lavilla 77,9 Laconi 63,10 Chambon 61.Manufacturers points: 1 Ducati 218, 2 Honda 187, 3 Aprilia 162, 4 Kawasaki142, 5 Suzuki 131, 6 Yamaha 20.Next round: Lausitzring, Germany - June 10
Get in your Inbox
Glenn le santo
Glenn le santo

More by Glenn le santo

Join the conversation