Sugo Supersport Qualifying

Glenn le santo
by Glenn le santo
Two teams will dominate the front row for Sunday's Supersport race in Sugo after a crash infested final qualifying session this afternoon. Sharing the front row are teams Belgarda Yamaha and Ten Kate Honda. Pole sitter Paolo Casoli snatched his fastest time with 19 minutes of the session remaining. He was the only rider to dip below the 1:33 second mark today with a fastest lap of 1:32.913 on his R6 Yamaha. Alongside him for tomorrow's race will be...

Ten Kate rider Fabien Foret on his CBR600 with a time of 1:33.184. Third fastest, and surprise front row man was James Whitham, also on a Belgarda Yamaha. Not normally a good qualifier, Whitham headed the first half of the session and recorded a fastest lap of 1.33.194. Joining them on the front row is Foret's Ten Kate Honda team mate and current joint championship leader Pere Riba. He finished the session with a best time of 1?33.337.

The session was peppered with crashes, many of them spectacular high sides and was red flagged three times. The first red flag was waved after Iain MacPherson?s Kawasaki blew up early in the proceedings dumping oil on the circuit. Then Italian Antonio Carlacci high-sided his DFX Racing Ducati 748 causing the red flag to be waved again. The race was stopped for a third time when Japanese rider Osamu Deguchi also high sided, he was hit by his Yoshimura Suzuki GSX-R 600 and lay dazed on the track for a moment. Fabrizio Pirovano was another faller late in the session, also high siding his GSX-r and also being hit by his machine, this time the red flag stayed down. While Pirovano and Carlacci escaped with cuts and bruises Japanese wild card entrant Deguchi was detained in the medical centre while doctors decided if he needed to be moved to hospital for x-rays as this report was filed.

Supersport Final Qualifying times:1. Paolo Casoli, Yamaha. 1:32.9132. Fabien Foret, Honda 1:33.1843. James Whitham, Yamaha 1:33.1944. Pere Riba, Honda 1:33.3375. Pier Bontempi, Yamaha 1:33.5076. Fabrizio Pirovano, Suzuki 1:33.5147. Kevin Curtain, Honda 1:33.5238. Katsuaki Fujiwara, Suzuki 1:33.6239. Christian Kellner, Yamaha 1:33.65410. Jorg Teuchert, Yamaha 1:33.768
Get in your Inbox
Glenn le santo
Glenn le santo

More by Glenn le santo

Join the conversation