Results From Daytona 200

Calvin Kim
by Calvin Kim
DAYTONA BEACH, Fla., (March 11, 2001) - If there was any doubt in theminds of the competition that Mat Mladin was the man to beat in Sunday's60th annual Daytona 200 by Arai, those doubts were soon diminished.

Mladin, the two-time defending AMA Superbike champion, first set a newtrack record in his qualifying run to win the pole for the Superbikeclassic on Thursday, then the Australian rider delivered a dominatingperformance on his way to his second consecutive Daytona 200 By Araivictory on Sunday aboard the No. 1 Yoshimura Suzuki GSXR750.

"I've really dedicated myself to doing a good job here and first thingsfirst, this Suzuki is really unbelievable," said Mladin, who turned 29on Saturday. "It just comes down to having again an experienced team."Daytona is a bit of a crap shoot still even now and a lot of the guyshad some problems with tires. Our bike has been getting faster and morepowerful and been getting set up better. I attribute it to a great team.A lot of guys will say, 'Yeah, but you've got to ride the thing,' andyeah I do but if I didn't have a great bike underneath me I couldn'tride it the way I need to."

Rounding out the podium was Eric Bostrom aboard the No. 32 Kawasaki andKurtis Roberts riding the No. 80 Team Erion Honda. Kawasaki's DougChandler finished fourth and Tommy Hayden rounded out the top five.

Said Bostrom: "It feels great. I anticipated being on the podium Friday(in the 600 SuperSport) and didn't make it unfortunately. It was a longrace and at the end, I just wanted to get this thing over with."

In the MBNA 250 Grand Prix, Rich Oliver captured his 50th careervictory in Grand Prix competition. Oliver battled Roland Sands for mostof the 18-lap race before Sands spilled on Lap 12 in the InternationalHorseshoe.

"I hope I can win 51 by the end of the year," said Oliver, who rode aYamaha. "It feels good. I have to give compliments to both Roland andRandy. Both of them ran great, Roland especially."

Despite his mishap, Sands managed to hold on to second position whileRandy Renfrow survived a heated three-bike battle for a third-placefinish.

In the Buell Pro Thunder, Jeff Nash collected the victory aboard theNo. 1 Ducati 748.

Daytona 200 by Arai:1. Mat Mladin (Suzuki)2. Eric Bostrom (Kawasaki)3. Kurtis Roberts (Honda)4. Doug Chandler (Kawasaki)5. Tommy Hayden (Yamaha)6. Larry Pegram (Ducati)7. Mike Smith (Harley-Davidson)8. Jimmy Moore (Suzuki)9. Mauro Cereda (Suzuki)10. Nicky Hayden (Honda)
Get in your Inbox
Calvin Kim
Calvin Kim

More by Calvin Kim

Join the conversation