Yates Wins Daytona Supersport Race

Brent Avis
by Brent Avis
In classic Daytona fassion, it was a last-lap move that slid Team Yoshimyra Suzuki's Aaron Yates into the top spot as the rest of the field made their way across the stripe. Honda's Nicky Hayden came across behind Yates, just ahead of Miguel Duhamel's Honda. Initially, Suzuki's jamie Hacking was credited with third place, though further review of television footage gave the nod to Miguel -- Minime.)

Of note in the race was the DNF of Kawasaki's Eric Bostrom due to mechanical problems as well as a firey crash that took out Yamaha's Anthony Gobert and Kawasaki's Tommy Hayden on the seventh lap. Aaron Gobert was also involved...

Aaron Yates, the 28-year-old Blimpie Yoshimura Suzuki rider from Milledgeville, Ga.,made a late-race break from the pack to win over Honda's Nicky Hayden, ofOwensboro, Ky., and his Honda teammate, Canadian Miguel Duhamel.

The race was a hard-fought affair with as many as 20 bikes running inthe leading pack early on. Six riders swapped the lead 11 times in the18-lap event. Top contenders Anthony Gobert and Tommy Hayden crashed outof the race on Lap 7 in a four-rider accident.

Yates emerged from deep in the pack and with two laps to go and made anexcellent drafting move to take over the lead for the first time. On thefinal lap, Kurtis Roberts, who led much of the race, slid and brushed thewall coming out of the exit to the chicane while running second. Thatallowed Yates to break the draft and pull out to almost a half-secondvictory.

"I sat back and waited for the right moment," said Yates, a nine-yearveteranof the AMA Pro Racing tour. "The opportunity opened up with two laps togo and I just rode as hard as I could to get away. There on the last lapI felt my bike slowing down coming around to the finish and I thought forsure someone was drafting by me. I was happy when I crossed that line andno one else was there."

The victory for Yates marked his eighth-career win in AMA 600Supersport. He is fourth on the all-time winners list for the series. Italso marked Suzuki's second victory in the race.

"It feels good to win something at Daytona," Yates said.

1. Aaron Yates, Suzuki2. Nicky Hayden, Honda3. Miguel Duhamel, Honda4. Jamie Hacking, Suzuki6. Damon Buckmaster, Yamaha7. Mike Hale, Honda8. Jason Pridmore, Suzuki9. Josh Hayes, Suzuki10. Ben Spies, Suzuki11. Tom Kipp, Suzuki12. Miering, Kawasaki13. Roger Lee Hayden, Honda14. Steve Rapp, Suzuki15. Jimmy Moore, Suzuki16. Alex Gobert, Honda17. Jake Zemke, Honda18. Scott Hermersmann, Suzuki19. Shaun Harris, Suzuki20. John Ashmead, Suzuki
Get Motorcycle.com in your Inbox
Brent Avis
Brent Avis

More by Brent Avis

Join the conversation