Ricky is Nominated for Athlete of The Year...Again.

Motorcycle.com Staff
by Motorcycle.com Staff
From the AMA:

PICKERINGTON, Ohio (October 20, 2006) -- Ricky Carmichael, 2006 Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series and AMA Toyota Motocross Championship presented by FMF Champion, has earned his seventh AMA Pro Racing SPEED Athlete of the Year nomination.

Last year Carmichael, 26, of Tallahassee, Fla., became the first four-time recipient of the prestigious award.

“I am really excited about being nominated again for AMA Pro Racing Athlete of the Year,” said Carmichael, who has seven AMA 250 Motocross Championships, three AMA 125 Motocross Championships and five AMA Supercross Series titles. “I’ve always said that Supercross and Motocross are the sports that made me, that have allowed me to accomplish everything that I have.“

“Everybody knows that I’ll be running an abbreviated race schedule next year and that I’m getting into some car racing too. To be recognized for doing well in the sport that I love, especially in my last full year of motorcycle racing, is just really special.”

Carmichael announced earlier in the season that 2006 would be his final full-time season of racing AMA Supercross and Motocross. He will race a limited AMA schedule in 2007 and simultaneously embark on a car racing career.

Carmichael continued to rewrite the record books throughout the 2006 season. His AMA Toyota Motocross title was his 15th AMA national championship. Already the owner of three undefeated seasons in AMA Motocross (2002, 2004 and 2005), Carmichael added yet another remarkable achievement to his storied career when he lapped the entire field in the second moto at muddy Spring Creek Motocross Park in Millville, Minn., on Aug. 13.

Carmichael was also named captain of the American Motocross of Nations squad. Despite being injured and unable to race in the international event, Carmichael attended and gave support and advice to the winning U.S. Squad.

The 2006 AMA Pro Racing SPEED Athlete of the Year will be named at the 32nd annual AMA Pro Racing Awards Banquet on Sunday evening, Nov. 19 at Rio All-Suite Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas. Carmichael is the second nominee announced for 2006 and joins road racer Josh Hayes. The remaining nominees will be announced over the next several days.

About the AMA Pro Racing SPEED Athlete of the Year AwardThe AMA Pro Racing SPEED Athlete of the Year Award is the highest honor an AMA competitor can receive. Past recipients include such legendary racers as Bob Hannah, Scott Parker and Kenny Roberts, among others. The award goes to the rider judged to have had the most successful racing year. The rider’s career achievements can also be considered if the season complements a remarkable career. A selection panel made up of AMA and AMA Pro Racing staff, field staff and volunteer leadership is named by the AMA CEO and that panel evaluates nominations and determines the final winner.

Get Motorcycle.com in your Inbox
Motorcycle.com Staff
Motorcycle.com Staff

Motorcycle.com presents an unrivaled combination of bike reviews and news written by industry experts

More by Motorcycle.com Staff

Join the conversation